We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is ok.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Is ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Average place. Buffett could be better. Service is great though. The cocktails at the bar are terrible. Make sure to ask for the premium liquor. Thank god it was a free night. LOL. Would not pay full price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us, we are glad that you were satisfied with our service. We will pay close attention to the drinks that are sold at the bar so if any thing needs to be corrected we will do so. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    172
    77
    34
    48
See reviews for
169
132
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time in Costa Rica. The hotel was exactly how they described on their website. Beautiful forest vibe with lots of animals. The private beaches were beautiful and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful and the food was good considering it was buffet. It's definitely spread out (rooms/pool/beach) so if you don't have a car you have to take the shuttle which came pretty regularly. The rooms were nice. We were in selvemar superior room. A little tight with our suit cases (3 females there for a week).
Taxi were easy to get to and from the resort though when you order from the hotel those taxis are slightly more than the jaco city taxis. It took about 20 minutes to get back and forth.
My only bad experience was we booked a tour guide to see the volcanoes/waterfalls. The description said we would have a bilingual tour guide, he spoke no English at all, basically just drove us to the locations, also said we was stop in a small town that sold amazing souvenirs. We tried to explain that to our driver but I don't think he understood, when we got back to the hotel they called the company and they said its up to the desecration of the driver and all their guys are bilingual. They offered no discount or apology. For the cost of the 'tour' your better off renting a car and going on your own instead of chancing getting decent guide.
I would consider coming back and staying here again but I would definitely rent a car instead of doing taxis.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the rooms, the surroundings and the beauty and tranquility of our beaches. As you mention our property is quite extensive and even though we offer the shuttle service is always better if the guest has their own transportation. We regret the inconvenience that you had during your tour to the volcano for the lack of communication with the guide. We will inform the travel agency about your experience so they are more carefull about the guides they send on these tours. I hope you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

While I don't agree with any of the low reviews, I can see where they are coming from. This resort does have some points to keep in mind, so know what you're getting:

*It's in the wilderness, and wildlife is going to be everywhere. Bring bug spray.
*It's a longish drive from the resort entrance to the rooms - getting out takes a while.
*You'll want a car to get places if you can't bother waiting for the shuttle.

That said, we absolutely LOVED it here. There is wildlife everywhere, and it's incredible. We saw wild Macaws flying around constantly, beautiful toucans, and of course the coatis and monkeys. Breakfast was a daily highlight, with a massive buffet of delicious foods served in the open-air restaurant. But the entertainment was great, as dozens of wild monkeys and coatis arrived to try to scavenge your food. We drank coffee for over an hour and enjoyed the incredible opportunity to see nature up close.

Our original plans to drive into Jaco each day changed once we saw just how long the trip back to the resort gates took, but we were perfectly happy staying on property, and enjoying the great beaches and walking trails. No complaints about food or service, we were very happy.

The morning bird hike with Alex is an absolute must do - he's a gem of an employee and a true ambassador for the resort. We will recommend Punta Leona to any friends who plan a trip to CR, and Alex was a big reason why.

The complaints about needing a car, and noisy wildlife everywhere are true of the resort, but I don't see the car thing as a dealbreaker, and the wildlife is a plus in our eyes. The room was great and the beds were comfortable, and there was incredible sights for us to enjoy all throughout our 3 day trip. It's not the Four Seasons - if that's what you NEED to enjoy travel in a foreign country, you'll be disappointed. If you're ready for an adventure with great service and amenities, this is the place!

Room Tip: We were in the Selvamar rooms, which were easy walking distance from the Restaurant, butterfly garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comments as they perfectly describe what a customer can expect when visiting our Hotel. Indeed we are not a luxury hotel but we are comfortable and clean property, with lush natural beauty where you can enjoy a typical breakfast, a guided hike, beautiful views, white sand beach and a variety of wildlife that as you said it can be seen everywhere in the property. We will forward your comments to Alex, he will be pleased to know that his work is appreciated. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The beaches are beautiful but they are public. We recieved a call "from the embassy" when we arrived to our room asking for my friends last four digits of her social and her dob. They said there were a lot of kidnappings happening recently and wanted to inform the americans. We believe it was the hotel staff calling since they used the name she only used at this hotel (her maiden name instead of her married last name thats legally the correct one). We had stopped at the bar to buy some cokes before heading to our room and recieved a call 15 min. after. They added stress and cared very little. They emailed and blamed us. Saying it was one of our friends trying to scare us. We mentioned that they wouldn't joke like that and they wouldn't call our hotel room. Either way there are too many beautiful hotels around to have to stay at this one and deal with this worry and stress. They offered no discount and were not of any help. We ended up calling police and leaving. Single ladies, schools, anyone that wants a relaxing vacation please be careful and look at other resorts! Food was basic. Rooms were ok but air conditioner doesn't work.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest
Indeed the beaches in Costa Rica are all public but equally beautiful. Our hotel offers the advantage of providing a safe environment and we have a department responsible for the safety and security of our guests. We make sure that our customers can relax and enjoy our beaches without worries.
Regarding the phone call you received, we are a serious property and we never had this type of incident. Our staff is to serve the customer and never lend itself to this type of games. We will investigate this issue more deeply. We regret that your stay was not to your liking and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Punta Leona is a large resort that is great for families. The rooms are basic but comfortable. The facilities are good with 2 pools; one for the smaller children and another for adults and larger children. Restaurants are ok but the breakfast provided is vast and plentiful. You can fill up for almost the rest of the day. Another selling point is the beach at Playa Blanca, it is wonderful and hard to imagine that this beach is located where it is since all the other beaches in the Jaco area are owners near as good. Worth going just for the beach and breakfast. Our third time and good VFM.

Room Tip: Some of the Selvemar Superior rooms have a small wooden balcony, ask if you can have one of them whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comments and for choosing us again. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the beauty of Playa Blanca which as you mentioned is one of the nicest beaches in the area. Indeed Punta Leona is an extensive property oriented to families and nature lovers. We hope that you continue visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I really had a great time there... Good food, nice gardens, time spent at the bar was simply great, the two beaches are nice and the veiwpoint up hill is breath taking
wild life it is all around you Iguanas, limpets, coatis and many kinds birds

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guess, thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoy your stay in our hotel and the natural beauty that surrounds us. We hope you have the opportunity to visit again. We are here to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is situated a couple of miles down a private drive, on a beautiful white-sand Pacific beach. The large site comprises of private holiday homes and a wide variety of lodges/rooms. The standard seems to vary from the small and basic through the type of room we occupied (which was spacious and comfortable) to whole suites, so make sure you know what standard you want when booking. We only stayed two nights, on an all-inclusive basis, the buffet style food in the restaurants was very good, the pools were what you'd expect in a large complex (have a look on Google earth) and the beaches were marvelous, with free transport on an half-hourly timetable around the complex and to the bigger of the two beaches, which is around the headland. We were on a birding trip (with Birdfinders), the birdlife is extensive, monkeys inhabit the trees in the estate and the on-site (free) butterfly conservatory is full of local species. A great place, but as stated elsewhere, it is miles from anywhere and a car would be essential if you wished to see anything other than Punta Leona. My only caution is that there are some expansion building works on parts of the estate, so check with them that your room is not affected by this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks for letting us know your experience during your visit to our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to observe the great variety of Birds and wildlife around us. Indeed we are a fairly large property where you will find two beautiful beaches one of white sand, we have internal transportation so our guests have no difficulty moving from one place to another. We also offer different types of accommodation to suit different needs and tastes of our visitors. It was a pleasure serving you and we hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#6 Business Hotel in Jaco
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.