We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Alajuela
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I really had a great time there... Good food, nice gardens, time spent at the bar was simply great, the two beaches are nice and the veiwpoint up hill is breath taking
wild life it is all around you Iguanas, limpets, coatis and many kinds birds

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guess, thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoy your stay in our hotel and the natural beauty that surrounds us. We hope you have the opportunity to visit again. We are here to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    158
    74
    32
    46
See reviews for
157
128
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is situated a couple of miles down a private drive, on a beautiful white-sand Pacific beach. The large site comprises of private holiday homes and a wide variety of lodges/rooms. The standard seems to vary from the small and basic through the type of room we occupied (which was spacious and comfortable) to whole suites, so make sure you know what standard you want when booking. We only stayed two nights, on an all-inclusive basis, the buffet style food in the restaurants was very good, the pools were what you'd expect in a large complex (have a look on Google earth) and the beaches were marvelous, with free transport on an half-hourly timetable around the complex and to the bigger of the two beaches, which is around the headland. We were on a birding trip (with Birdfinders), the birdlife is extensive, monkeys inhabit the trees in the estate and the on-site (free) butterfly conservatory is full of local species. A great place, but as stated elsewhere, it is miles from anywhere and a car would be essential if you wished to see anything other than Punta Leona. My only caution is that there are some expansion building works on parts of the estate, so check with them that your room is not affected by this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks for letting us know your experience during your visit to our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to observe the great variety of Birds and wildlife around us. Indeed we are a fairly large property where you will find two beautiful beaches one of white sand, we have internal transportation so our guests have no difficulty moving from one place to another. We also offer different types of accommodation to suit different needs and tastes of our visitors. It was a pleasure serving you and we hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

4km from the entrance to concierge,a lot of wildlife around,take the free tours inside the resort,meals on the expensive side but you can try Jaco at 20 min away.You will need a car rental don't go without one even inside the resort is better if you have your own car otherwise you have to walk a lot.Beach is so and so it will be a blast for kids to see monkeys stealing sugar or bananas but if you are only adults better find another place more appropriate for adults.I preferred more Arenal Lodge that this mammoth resort.Stick with the mountains the sea in Costa RIca is not big deal!

Room Tip: Is high humidity all over I cannot tip you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for writing your comments about our property. Indeed at Hotel & Club Punta Leona you can see a lot of wildlife because we are surrounded by forest so it is ideal for nature lovers. Our property is quite extensive so it is advisable to bring your own car especially if the idea is to visit the Jaco area, but we also offer shuttle services within the hotel for guests that need to move form one área to anpother inside our property. We offer activities for adults and children and a beautiful beach with white sand where guests can relax. We hope you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgetown
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was a great location with comfortable, spacious rooms. However, the highlight of our stay was definitely the wildlife. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, so cannot comment on other meals. However, the breakfast was excellent (as they seemed to be everywhere we went in Costa Rica). As we ate our breakfasts (we stayed 2 nights), we were joined by white-faced monkeys and coatis (or kota mundi). They kept their distance (usually 3-6 feet) but if anyone was foolish enough to leave their tables, the animals descended. I'm sure that it wasn't all that much fun for the staff but we tourists loved it.
Some of our group used the beaches near the hotel and very much enjoyed them. The rest of us journeyed to Manuel Antonio National Park, which was a great trip. Swimming was geat in both locations but I think the scenery was better in the park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to put your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the nature and the beautiful beaches of the Central Pacific Coast. Indeed our hotel has the advantage of offering our guests no just comfortable rooms but also a variety of nature and a beautiful white sand beach. It is for these reasons that our primary goal is the preservation and protection of the environment so our future generations can also enjoy this natural beauty. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Punta Leona is always a great experience. The food is very yummy and they have a pretty good selection. The monkeys and wild life always add a good touch during breakfast. The white sand beach is great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoy your stay and food in addition to all the natural beauty that surrounds us. As you mention is very entertaining to enjoy a delicious breakfast in a place open to nature as is our caravels restaurant where you can watch monkeys constantly wandering from one tree to another. We hope to serve you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful ocean front resort with 3 beaches about 20 min from Jaco. The beach playa blanca is beautiful and one of the many reasons to visit this amazing location. The staff was nice and food at the buffet was very good. great for families and couples.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We appreciate your comments and we are happy to know that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed the food and the service of our staff. Indeed, Playa Blanca is one of the most beautiful beaches in the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica and most of our guest love to relax and contemplate the amazing nature that surrounds it. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is located in a private jungle close to one of the best beaches on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica: Playa Blanca. Food was great, rooms (Selvamar) were simple but nice, clean and quiet. This is a 3 star hotel, but the best one in the Jaco and Puntarenas area, regardless of stars! Excellent staff. The transportation system (minibus) on this huge site could get some improvements. But for those who are not affraid to walk one kilometer to the beach, you will see parrots in liberty while you are walking !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent comments. We are pleased that you had a good time and that you enjoyed the natural beauty that surrounds us. Comments like yours encourage us to be better every day because our goal is satisfied customers so they can have a great vacation. We hope to be able to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Jaco
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.