We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable location - lots of monkeys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Ridgetown
Level Contributor
672 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Comfortable location - lots of monkeys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was a great location with comfortable, spacious rooms. However, the highlight of our stay was definitely the wildlife. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, so cannot comment on other meals. However, the breakfast was excellent (as they seemed to be everywhere we went in Costa Rica). As we ate our breakfasts (we stayed 2 nights), we were joined by white-faced monkeys and coatis (or kota mundi). They kept their distance (usually 3-6 feet) but if anyone was foolish enough to leave their tables, the animals descended. I'm sure that it wasn't all that much fun for the staff but we tourists loved it.
Some of our group used the beaches near the hotel and very much enjoyed them. The rest of us journeyed to Manuel Antonio National Park, which was a great trip. Swimming was geat in both locations but I think the scenery was better in the park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to put your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the nature and the beautiful beaches of the Central Pacific Coast. Indeed our hotel has the advantage of offering our guests no just comfortable rooms but also a variety of nature and a beautiful white sand beach. It is for these reasons that our primary goal is the preservation and protection of the environment so our future generations can also enjoy this natural beauty. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    221
    93
    42
    54
See reviews for
200
171
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Punta Leona is always a great experience. The food is very yummy and they have a pretty good selection. The monkeys and wild life always add a good touch during breakfast. The white sand beach is great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoy your stay and food in addition to all the natural beauty that surrounds us. As you mention is very entertaining to enjoy a delicious breakfast in a place open to nature as is our caravels restaurant where you can watch monkeys constantly wandering from one tree to another. We hope to serve you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beautiful ocean front resort with 3 beaches about 20 min from Jaco. The beach playa blanca is beautiful and one of the many reasons to visit this amazing location. The staff was nice and food at the buffet was very good. great for families and couples.
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We appreciate your comments and we are happy to know that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed the food and the service of our staff. Indeed, Playa Blanca is one of the most beautiful beaches in the Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica and most of our guest love to relax and contemplate the amazing nature that surrounds it. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is located in a private jungle close to one of the best beaches on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica: Playa Blanca. Food was great, rooms (Selvamar) were simple but nice, clean and quiet. This is a 3 star hotel, but the best one in the Jaco and Puntarenas area, regardless of stars! Excellent staff. The transportation system (minibus) on this huge site could get some improvements. But for those who are not affraid to walk one kilometer to the beach, you will see parrots in liberty while you are walking !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent comments. We are pleased that you had a good time and that you enjoyed the natural beauty that surrounds us. Comments like yours encourage us to be better every day because our goal is satisfied customers so they can have a great vacation. We hope to be able to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Beautiful ocean front resort just north of Jaco. Clean and quiet with lots of things to do while you are there. The service at all of the outlets was great, save one. The buffet dinner was a disaster. The girl at the grill was pitiful, the manager was useless and the service staff was intimidated. I paid my dues there one night and never returned. The breakfast was outstanding! Had some problems with hot water, but just dealt with cold showers - not the worst thing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to put your comments, we are pleased that you liked our resort and that you could enjoy the beauty of our Playa Blanca. We regret that your experience at dinner was not the best and we are passing this information to the person responsible so the necessary corrections are made, as our dinner should be as outstanding as our breakfast. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days. To get around they have a free shuttle service just have to wait a few minutes not bad. The beach playa blanca is beautiful. If you don't get the all inclusive it gets expensive very quickly, the restaurant opens at 7 I think but charges a Buffett styles and for two its about $35 dinner is about $40 for two.
One complaint though and I'm sure it was an accident, I had breakfast teher one morning and had the omelette which was good until I noticed a fly in my omelette cooked fully :), after that I didn't want to eat anymore. Over all nice place to spend vacation I would recommend this place and again it can be pricey.
Also take plenty of cash I needed a bit more and there is a ATM just outside the main entrance like 2 minutes away but they wouldn't take me there which was shocking!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments about our hotel. We are pleased that your stayed with us and that you enjoyed our beautiful Playa Blanca. We apologize for the incident that you had during breakfast, we will take steps to ensure that this situation does not recur. We look forward to the opportunity to serve again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, DE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our stay at Punta Leona was an unexpected stop while visiting Costa Rica The grounds are lovely, our condo was perfection and we had the large infinity pool in our complex to ourselves for 3 days! The Playa Blanco was right down the stairs of the hill and the beach, the beers and the view were worth every penny. However, it is a large complex, you need a car to get around sometimes and the food and the food offerings left MUCH to be desired. All in all a lovely place ot stay for the price and the access to activities and the beaches.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We appreciate your comments and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our property, as you mention is quite extensive and offers different types of accommodation to our guests, including the apartments Leonamar which is the one that you choose to stay with your family. These apartments are very comfortable and offer the convenience of being located close to the beautiful Playa Blanca and have their own swimming pool overlooking the sea. We will consider your comments in regards to the food that is a topic that we are already working on and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
0.3 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#5 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 901 reviews
6.0 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.4 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
4.4 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.