We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach is the greatest asset” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
“Beach is the greatest asset”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I first stayed here five years ago and remembered I wasn't impressed with the lodging. Although I was reluctant to return this visit, I did since we didn't want to waste time driving to the northern coast. The beach is incredible although I wish there were more guest lounge chairs. Again we stayed in the condos and again I was not impressed. It seems like the little touches are neglected (shower head needed replaced, bathroom door wouldn't close, no blankets even for the wall bed, only a set of sheets). It felt more like a Motel 6 with a Hilton price tag. The staff are friendly, but they could take advantage of technology and upgrade their processes and systems. Food was ok. We stayed only a few days mid-week and left on Friday when all the locals were arriving which filled the place quickly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for visiting us again, we are glad that you like our beautiful Beach Playa Blanca and our friendly staff. We are constantly working on site to perform all necessary improvements in both infrastructure and services and your suggestions help us to identify which areas we still need to improve. We just received the new lounge chairs that we purchase so our clients don’t ever have to complain about no being enough so they can just relax and enjoy the beauty of the surroundings. Remember also that we have se different types of accommodation so if one is not of your liking we can recommend which type will suit you according to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    155
    73
    32
    46
See reviews for
154
127
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaco, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I took some out of country friends to Restaurant Leona Mar for dinner. One of my friends ordered a club sandwich that had 4 pieces of dry toast (no mayonaise) no lettuce, one tiny piece of bacon. It looked like they had run out of food and this was the remaining table scraps made into a sandwich. The other plates that we ordered were very dry and overcooked. I will never eat at this dump again, this was very embarrasing for me since I invited my friends out for dinner. Not only was the food horrible but they tried to charge $9.00 for the sandwich.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We apologize for the inconveniences that you are mentioning, we assure you that this is not our standard, we would like to extend you a complementary visit to our hotel for dinner in your next trip to CR , and allow us to serve you according to the standards set by the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Much as I liked all the wildlife we saw here, especially the scarlet macaws and the motmot, as well as the monkeys and coatimundis who made their rounds at mealtimes, this place was just too big and condo-ized for it to feel like a true eco-lodge. Swimming at Playa Blanco in the warm and buoyant Pacific water was my favorite experience, but the shuttle arrived so late to pick us up at the hotel that we only had a short time to enjoy the beach before the end of the shuttle service at 5 pm. The food also wasn't as good as what we experienced elsewhere in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the numerous species of animals that we have and the beauty of our Playa Blanca. Indeed our complex is quite large but that's part of our appeal as you can find within one place trails for bird watching, two beaches for relaxing, three pools for swimming, located in different areas of the complex, stunning views of both the forest and the Pacific Ocean and a canopy tour in case our guest want to have some adventure, all without leaving the place. The Shuttle service can sometimes be slow, that depends on the demand and the extension itself. It usually runs every 15 minutes but may be delayed, so it is advisable to request the transport at least half an hour before you need it. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to try to better our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a fantastic beach resort on many acres. The grounds are beautifully landscaped
and include a butterfly garden. It is a great location to visit Carrara and Manuel
Antonio Parks. The front desk was helpful in arranging guided tours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to put your comments abut our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff provided the service that you and all our guests deserve. Indeed the location of our property is very convenient not only for its proximity to the Juan Santamaria International Airport but also is close to major attractions such as the Reserve of Carara, Manuel Antonio National Park and the Tarcoles River. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

While this resort was recommended by friends, it exceeded expectation. While the property was large, it allows for hiking on many trails. The shuttle service was great. Meals always had a new feature and the fruit was exceptionally great. Service of waiters was spotty. They need some training.
The bar was located near the ocean and pools which were crowded with Ticos. The resort should locate a bar near the main restaurant so that one might have a civilized libation before dinner.
There were at least 7 mammals on the property and probably 150 species of birds.
Alex, the resident guide was fantastic and used a good spotting scope to assist seeing birds at a distance.
We shall return next year.

Room Tip: Choose the Selvamar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent comments. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the bird watching tour with Alex. We will consider your recommendations as to the location of the bar, since our goal is always to please our guests. It will be a pleasure to serve you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

hated the room: small, depressing, outdated, windows are old, can hear conversations in other rooms, windows face the walks/paths..no privacy..have to keep curtains closed for privacy..and get no light, no balcony in the room...I have never seen such tiny rooms in a resort. thevroom feels like a barrack. not enough lounge chairs on the beach...ridiculous...the hotel cant buy enough plastic chairs? breakfast is late 7 pm..cant get coffee anywhere before ( a lot of tours start at 7:30 am...no time to eat). helpdesk was not helpful: asked about mailing out our purchases..no clue, asked about recommendations for stores selling pottery..no clue. The helpdesk is short-staffed. they need to get their act together on organozation if care and buy these plastic lounge chairs..so you do not feel like a scavenger after paying money for your rest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks for visiting Hotel & Club Punta Leona and for taking the time to write your review. We regret that our hotel has not filled you expectations and although we are not a luxury hotel we believe that we have all the amenities and services for our customers to enjoy a pleasant stay. Our rooms Selvamar Standard or Superior are not small, but for customers who want to stay in spacious rooms we have other options as our apartments and condominiums. Breakfast hours are from 7:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. but if customers are taking a one day tour they may request a boxed breakfast. Our staff is ready to provide all the information that customers request and we will investigate why in your case it was not given properly. We will consider your feedback to improve any aspect that needs to be address .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a wonderful relaxing time at the resort. Yes, it is a very large place, but that was one of the reasons we chose to go there. Mainly for the wildlife that could be enjoyed throughout the resort. The lush tropical feel, and the beautiful beaches. We found the beaches to be calm and relaxing. However, when we first arrived it was during the weekend and we were unable to find a lounge chair until Monday. Usually we like to spread our time out between the beach and pools, however both pools by the beach were full of children. Never been to a resort where the adult pool allowed children, so we just avoided the pools. There is a pool up in the Selvamar section, but is is very small, and in the shade. We did not find the long walk from the rooms to the beach to be too bad. We actually enjoyed the exercise. However, it was not a walk I was wanting to take at night to get down to the only bar. Way out of the way for that. We only do all inclusive vacations and we found this resort seemed to avoid your table at meals if you were wearing a band. We always tipped, but I believe the staff must be asked to avoid the bands. We only like to have one drink before dinner, a coffee in the morning, but it was very difficult to get one. We always had to go get someone's attention to get service. Others had the same problem. This has never happened to us on an all inclusive vacation before. We never avoid resorts with children because we have never had a problem. Here the children's pool was located right in front of the only bar, so it was very loud, not a bar we liked to relax in.
The buffet was the smallest I have ever seen. The selection was very, very limited. We have stayed in over a dozen resorts, and I was very surprised to see the tiny buffet here. But since we are not big eaters, we did not go hungry.
Our meal at the Grill was very good, but make sure you book it for over at the Playa Blanca otherwise you will find yourself in the same restaurant for your grill dinner.
This is a non smoking resort, so if you smoke, you must book elsewhere. Costa Rica has changed their smoking bylaws, so there are limited places to smoke. Unfortunately for the smokers at this resort, they were not told that there were no designated smoking areas, and they were constantly told to butt out. Apparently you can only smoke on the street. One couple informed us that they were asked to butt out even on the beach, after being told they could smoke there. People we met at the airport said their resorts did have designated smoking areas, so go to a resort that allows smoking in designated areas with ashtrays. It was sad to see the cigarette buts on the street because the Punta Leona will not put out ashtrays.
Pros-weather, beach, tropical forest, wildlife, (monkey's at breakfast were my favorite), bird watching tour with Alex.
Cons-pools too busy, location of bar, service, buffet, balconies were not private, some were right on walkway, some faced right into other rooms within 3 foot distance. there were only a couple of balconies that had some privacy located in the cuba section.

Room Tip: if staying in the selvamar section I would suggest to get a room with a balcony, and only one that f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed the natural resources that surround Hotel Punta Leona! We are very proud to be one of the few places whose beaches have a Blue Flag certification, which guarantees that our guests will enjoy one of the cleanest,safest and most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. We agree with you that there are some areas that we need to improve and we also know that we need to continue training our human resources, the good news is that we have already initiated the process of continuous improvement. We hope you can visit us again in the near future so you can enjoy not only the beautiful natural resources that we offer but also the service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.