We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Punta Leona - get a car...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Toronto, ON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Punta Leona - get a car...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited this resort in costa rica in december 2012. costa rica, is hot and humid. be prepared for this. the hotel we chose, was a great place for the money we spent. there are 2 beaches, and both are expansive and gorgeous. this is not a place you stay if walking is a problem for you, for you will walk plenty of distance from your standard room, to the front desk, to the beach, to the pool area, to the restaurants to eat. my only recommendation to anyone staying here is to rent a car for your stay, otherwise, you will walk extensively, as there isnt much to do in your room. the other beach is a shuttle bus ride away, walking to it, is only for the extremely adventurous ones. the rooms are excellent value. you have everything you need, but if size is a must for you, you may be disappointed. the rooms were clean, and cleaned thoroughly each day. there was safe in the room. the hotel offered laundry service. the coffee machine worked consistently, and there was also an in room mini fridge which came in very handy. i cannot find one complaint about the room, or service provided by this hotel. but keep in mind, to get to the main road, it will take 10 minutes by car, so be prepared, or take the shuttle. Again, getting around this resort, and the getting to the town of Jaco, or anyone else, requires a car, so, do yourself a favour, spend the money and rent a car during your trip here.
You will also notice at this resort, the locals overrun this place on the weekends, as it serves as a beach get away, and a condo travel share for some. The weekends are incredibly busy, the beach is packed, but once the weekend is over, this resort is a ghost town. My girlfriend and I were a little disappointed by this, as it quickly became very boring because there wasn't anything to do. I cannot stress enought about getting a car, and getting off the resort. I also found that the resort trips would rarely book a day trip for one person. You must book 3 or more before you can get in on one of the day trips off the resort. Unfortunately, I did not travel with the right person to this country. My travel partner doesnt like to do anything, so I was on my own, and unfortunately, I ran into this small problem trying to book a trip to one of the great day trips being offered.
If the hotel is your main concern, if you are not a fussy person when it comes to status, this is a great place. It is quiet at night...you will get the best sleep of your life. The rooms are kept immaculate clean. Not once did we have to chase the ladies cleaning the room for anything extra as they ensured the cleanliness standards were very high, and everything was provided, including, hangers, safe, towels, soap, shampoo, conditioner, coffee, and ice in freezer portion of the mini fridge.

Room Tip: Some rooms have outdoor balcony space, others don't. It's up to you what you want, but of co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your detail review. We are very glad that you liked your room and how clean it was kept everyday. Our staff works hard to ensure that the rooms are clean so our guests feel comfortable during their stay. As you describe Hotel & Club Punta Leona is an extensive property surrounded by natural beauty. It is ideal for people that enjoy walking and observing wildlife. We offer a shuttle service that will take you anywhere within the property, but if you wish to visit any of the attractions outside the property, we will also recommend to rent a car so you can have more mobility during your stay. Inside the resort we offer hiking tours, the butterfly garden, 2 beautiful beaches, 2 pools and the canopy tour but if you plan to stay several days you might want to book a one day tour ahead of time to ensure availability. We hope you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    158
    74
    32
    46
See reviews for
156
128
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Suprising to see some negative reviews. This place is a unique huge resort surrounded by jungle, features the best (and private!) beach close to San Jose and offers more wildlife than a suburban zoo, from monkeys and iguanas to parrots and tucans roaming the grounds freely. We even saw an ant eater. Accomodation is very comfortable and not expensive, given the facilities and location. The only minus are other tourists, but the place is big enough to avoid them if you want. Highly recommended, even though it means more and more tourists coming...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your excellent review, we are happy to know that you enjoyed the resort and the nature that surround us. Punta Leona is an extensive property where you can find plenty of wildlife and all the amenities that you need to have a great vacation. We are convenient located and we offer different types of accommodations to satisfy the different needs of our clients, so we hope that you can visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Saw more wildlife here than anywhere else on our trip!!! White-faced monkeys and coatis all around the restaurant at breakfast (Fun to watch but people really shouldn't feed them the way they do...) A tree anteater was making its way across the canopy from tree to tree above our breakfast buffet. (Super Cute!!!) Lovely nesting pair of endangered scarlet macaws in the giant tree across from the butterfly house. (which was full of hundreds of the most beautiful blue morpho butterflies!) The beach is pretty and they warn you not to try to cross the rocks at high tide but they didn't warn me about the jellyfish!!! I got stung not three minutes after going in the water. (I guess thats why there was no one else swimming in spite of the hot day...fortunately they are only annoying, not leathal, and the sting went away in under an hour) Do pools instead!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest, we appreciate your comments about your recent stay at our Hotel. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the wildlife and nature that our hotel has to offer. I regret to know that you got stung by jellyfish in the ocean but this is not a common situation and should not stop you from enjoying our beach the next time you visit us. Playa Blanca is a beautiful white sand beach and it is a very safe beach to swim. We hope you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Punta Leona complex is ENORMOUS, like a big nature reserve. It's three miles of narrow twisting road from the main gate to the hotel. The resort consists not only of the hotel but condominiums and housing developments as well. The big plus is that it borders on Playa Blanca, one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica: calm blue waters, white sand, lots of natural vegetation to provide shade. However, to accomodate all the people staying there, there are only about twenty lounge chairs on the beach so come very early or bring your own beach chairs if you don't want to sit in the sand. The problem is that the beach is about a ten-minute drive down a windy cliffside road from the lovely Selvamar complex where we stayed. Fortunately we had a car because the shuttle only runs every 30 minutes but I would prefer staying at a resort closer to the beach. There is also another beach with loud music and activities and two free-form pools. The pools are narrow and shallow and filled with little kids so there's not much room to do more than stand. However, the tropical garden Selvamar complex has a beautiful little secluded woodland pool which is much quieter and more intimate. The breakfast buffet was excellent, but the dinner buffet ranged from fair to poor (only costing $20, I guess you get what you pay for). We got the room and breakfast plan and I was so glad we didn't get the all-inclusive which would have cost $160 more per day for two. Lunch at the snack bar was about $20 for two, dinner $40 for both, plus two glasses of wine at $5 each only added up to $70 a day, a far cry from $160. (ie, Only get the all-inclusive if you think you will consume more than $50 a day in drinks per person.) The setting and beach (with scarlet macaws and lots of coatis)were so beautiful, but I can only give it an average rating because of the distance from the beach and the food at the dinner buffet. Not a luxury resort, very family-oriented, more of a do-it-yourself place than somewhere you go for great service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It was a pleasure to serve you and we are delight that you enjoyed the Selvamar room and the Buffet Breakfast that is included with it. Indeed Hotel & Club Punta Leona is quite an extensive property, surrounded by nature with two beautiful beaches, one with gold sand and the other with white sand, in addition to different species from animals and birds exclusive of this area. We are a hotel oriented to the families, but mainly we are an ideal hotel for nature lovers. In our facilities couples also can enjoy activities such as canopy, the guided hiking tours, the spa and our a la carte restaurant: the Grill which is more for people that want to enjoy a romantic atmosphere. Many of our guests like to take long walks within the property but we also offer the shuttle service that take our guests from one place to another one. We are not a luxury hotel but we offer good service, comfortable rooms and spectacular locations and views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

First and foremost, if you are staying at Punta Leona, do yourself a big favor and
EAT at "The Grill". The other restaurants here cannot hold a candle to the food and service you will get here. It took us until our third night to discover it and it turned out to be the jewel of the restaurants here. Yes, the reason you will want to come here are the 2 incredible beaches. Playa Blanca beach is jaw droppingly beautiful. The white sand beach and turqoise blue water are 5 star. There are 2 beautiful pools here, but it's the beach experience that sets it apart from any standard resort. Housekeeping does a great job of keeping the rooms clean...but you are coming here to get away from it all and relaxing, and laying on your towel on these beaches is what you will remember. That, and the great food and service experience at The Grill. Our waiter Andrey was professional and attentive as were all of the staff. The chef even checked on us to ensure we were happy. We were. Twice. Thanks again guys!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the lower priced rooms and had a great experience. I don't think you can go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review about your experience at our hotel. It pleases us to know that you had a good time and that you enjoyed the food and service at our a la carte Restaurant “the Grill”. As you mention Playa Blanca is a beautiful beach where our guests can relax and contemplate the beauty that surrounds our property. I hope we can serve you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This property seems to be huge. No idea of the acreage involved but it's a long way from the gate to the reception desk. Loud music aound some of the pools coming from the bar but it doesn't quite make it to the beach or the rooms...thankfully. The food at breakfast is very good and lots of variety; our dinner was lacking as the steak was well seasoned but VERY chewy -- tough. The salad buffet was very well tended and the desserts were nice. Breakfasts were entertaining as the monkeys enjoy trying to steal your food but are usually unsuccessful. I was surprised the staff did not say anyting to kids who were trying to attract/tease the monkeys. Lots and lots of people on this property -- if you are looking for a quiet time don't look for it here. Neighbors are VERY close and you can hear conversations without trying.

Room Tip: Try for a room off of the driveways and near the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review; it pleases us to know that you enjoyed our food, specially our delicious breakfast. Indeed Hotel & Club Punta Leona is a quite extensive property surrounded by nature, footpaths and two beautiful beaches. We generally have music in the area of the bar and activities around the swimming pools for the entertainment of our guests, specially in our high season that is when we have more affluence of tourists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We enjoyed staying at the Punta Leona. The grounds are lovely, the white sand beach is perfect. My best advice is to use the onsite tours that are offered with your stay--we saw more animals during tours with the naturalist at the hotel than we saw at Manuel Antonio. We tended to stay at the hotel more than we would have liked to as the long drive out to the highway on a very twisting road was daunting at night. Staff at the hotel were very lovely to us and when I thought I lost my car keys in the room, the maid was VERY helpful in trying to help me retrieve them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel & Club Punta Leona and that you liked our facilities, the activities we offer, the attention of our staff and mainly our white sand beach. It was a pleasure to serve you and we hoped that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Jaco
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.