We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, but . . .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, but . . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Punta Leona complex is ENORMOUS, like a big nature reserve. It's three miles of narrow twisting road from the main gate to the hotel. The resort consists not only of the hotel but condominiums and housing developments as well. The big plus is that it borders on Playa Blanca, one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica: calm blue waters, white sand, lots of natural vegetation to provide shade. However, to accomodate all the people staying there, there are only about twenty lounge chairs on the beach so come very early or bring your own beach chairs if you don't want to sit in the sand. The problem is that the beach is about a ten-minute drive down a windy cliffside road from the lovely Selvamar complex where we stayed. Fortunately we had a car because the shuttle only runs every 30 minutes but I would prefer staying at a resort closer to the beach. There is also another beach with loud music and activities and two free-form pools. The pools are narrow and shallow and filled with little kids so there's not much room to do more than stand. However, the tropical garden Selvamar complex has a beautiful little secluded woodland pool which is much quieter and more intimate. The breakfast buffet was excellent, but the dinner buffet ranged from fair to poor (only costing $20, I guess you get what you pay for). We got the room and breakfast plan and I was so glad we didn't get the all-inclusive which would have cost $160 more per day for two. Lunch at the snack bar was about $20 for two, dinner $40 for both, plus two glasses of wine at $5 each only added up to $70 a day, a far cry from $160. (ie, Only get the all-inclusive if you think you will consume more than $50 a day in drinks per person.) The setting and beach (with scarlet macaws and lots of coatis)were so beautiful, but I can only give it an average rating because of the distance from the beach and the food at the dinner buffet. Not a luxury resort, very family-oriented, more of a do-it-yourself place than somewhere you go for great service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It was a pleasure to serve you and we are delight that you enjoyed the Selvamar room and the Buffet Breakfast that is included with it. Indeed Hotel & Club Punta Leona is quite an extensive property, surrounded by nature with two beautiful beaches, one with gold sand and the other with white sand, in addition to different species from animals and birds exclusive of this area. We are a hotel oriented to the families, but mainly we are an ideal hotel for nature lovers. In our facilities couples also can enjoy activities such as canopy, the guided hiking tours, the spa and our a la carte restaurant: the Grill which is more for people that want to enjoy a romantic atmosphere. Many of our guests like to take long walks within the property but we also offer the shuttle service that take our guests from one place to another one. We are not a luxury hotel but we offer good service, comfortable rooms and spectacular locations and views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    163
    74
    32
    47
See reviews for
161
129
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

First and foremost, if you are staying at Punta Leona, do yourself a big favor and
EAT at "The Grill". The other restaurants here cannot hold a candle to the food and service you will get here. It took us until our third night to discover it and it turned out to be the jewel of the restaurants here. Yes, the reason you will want to come here are the 2 incredible beaches. Playa Blanca beach is jaw droppingly beautiful. The white sand beach and turqoise blue water are 5 star. There are 2 beautiful pools here, but it's the beach experience that sets it apart from any standard resort. Housekeeping does a great job of keeping the rooms clean...but you are coming here to get away from it all and relaxing, and laying on your towel on these beaches is what you will remember. That, and the great food and service experience at The Grill. Our waiter Andrey was professional and attentive as were all of the staff. The chef even checked on us to ensure we were happy. We were. Twice. Thanks again guys!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the lower priced rooms and had a great experience. I don't think you can go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review about your experience at our hotel. It pleases us to know that you had a good time and that you enjoyed the food and service at our a la carte Restaurant “the Grill”. As you mention Playa Blanca is a beautiful beach where our guests can relax and contemplate the beauty that surrounds our property. I hope we can serve you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This property seems to be huge. No idea of the acreage involved but it's a long way from the gate to the reception desk. Loud music aound some of the pools coming from the bar but it doesn't quite make it to the beach or the rooms...thankfully. The food at breakfast is very good and lots of variety; our dinner was lacking as the steak was well seasoned but VERY chewy -- tough. The salad buffet was very well tended and the desserts were nice. Breakfasts were entertaining as the monkeys enjoy trying to steal your food but are usually unsuccessful. I was surprised the staff did not say anyting to kids who were trying to attract/tease the monkeys. Lots and lots of people on this property -- if you are looking for a quiet time don't look for it here. Neighbors are VERY close and you can hear conversations without trying.

Room Tip: Try for a room off of the driveways and near the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review; it pleases us to know that you enjoyed our food, specially our delicious breakfast. Indeed Hotel & Club Punta Leona is a quite extensive property surrounded by nature, footpaths and two beautiful beaches. We generally have music in the area of the bar and activities around the swimming pools for the entertainment of our guests, specially in our high season that is when we have more affluence of tourists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We enjoyed staying at the Punta Leona. The grounds are lovely, the white sand beach is perfect. My best advice is to use the onsite tours that are offered with your stay--we saw more animals during tours with the naturalist at the hotel than we saw at Manuel Antonio. We tended to stay at the hotel more than we would have liked to as the long drive out to the highway on a very twisting road was daunting at night. Staff at the hotel were very lovely to us and when I thought I lost my car keys in the room, the maid was VERY helpful in trying to help me retrieve them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel & Club Punta Leona and that you liked our facilities, the activities we offer, the attention of our staff and mainly our white sand beach. It was a pleasure to serve you and we hoped that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

On Christmas night while we were watching YouTube videos in a Galaxy phone, someone knock on the door loudly, after opening a guy who said was part of Punta Leona staff ask us to turn the volume down because according to the Costa Rican rules no music is allow after 10pm. When I made the reservation and check in nobody mentioned anything about it, anyways I obeyed. But, they kept knocking on the door for one hour and I tried to communicate to the front desk with no answer. When they finally answered, a very arrogant guy named Ricardo Quezada, told me "get a life, just open the door", he didn't even care what I had to say, I was worry about my security because it was very loud outside and I could hear several male noises who were hitting on the door. I asked for the manager and he just said he was not available. The hitting continue for several more minutes and I called again to the front desk to ask for help, in that moment a voice outside said "police" that's when I decided I was safe to open the door. My surprise was there were 4 males with no badges, 2 of them dressed as police guys, and the other 2 with black shirts. They said they only wanted to talk but they just shouted at and threaten us. After insisting in calling to the manager, Ricardo arrived with the same arrogant attitude, not offering any help he even told us to leave the facilities at 1am knowing there was no way we could find somewhere else to sleep in such a special night. The Punta Leona staff never told us what happened, why the police and  the other guys broke into out room requesting us to leave, they just supported the corrupted and racist Costa Rican police, and offer the police our personal data. It was a very frightening experience, we were 2 girls in the middle of nowhere with 6 guys threatened us.  We didn't know what to expect or do, maybe they just wanted money. I would not recommend to stay there,the staff is brusque, unhelpful and overall they don't know how to take care of their guests. (I even recorded it, just in case).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hotel & Punta Club Punta Leona is recognized for being a safe property that makes big efforts to ensure that their guests can enjoy their facilities in a family oriented and relax atmosphere. To accomplish this, we followed the norms established by the laws of the country as well as the internal regulations of the hotel, that indicate that after 10 p.m. nobody can perform activities that generate excessive noise that disturb the peace and rest of the other guests lodged within the property. Never before a situation had occurred in which a guest ignored the request of our security department to fulfill these norms. We regret your dissatisfaction but it should be understood that any customer must comply with the provisions of the hotel where he is staying for his own safety and that of the other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Huge property, beautiful setting, shuttle buses to get from point A to the various others. Smaller beach and pool on the property, beautiful white sand beach (Playa Blanca) reachable by shuttle (and you'll know why you didn't walk when you take the shuttle) that runs every half hour. Butterfly garden and scarlet macaws on the property, as well as highly skilled thieving troops of monkeys and coati mundis who will get your copious, delicious breakfast faster than you can turn around and think about going for more coffee. Food was outstanding for all meals, as long as you kept a wary eye on your plate. At Playa Blanca, it's the monkeys and raccoons who covet your stuff, so leave no snack untended. Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We appreciate your comments and we are very glad that your enjoyed your stay with us. Our Hotel is full with natural beauty and many of the people that visit us have the opportunity to observe different types of animals and vegetation. We hope that you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

As this was my first visit to Costa Rica, I wanted to get the full feel of the culture and environment. By choosing Punta Leona, with the breath-taking views, well trained staff, and numerous activities that lend to the culture of the country. I was involved in the SMART program in which I got to go out on the water and even pull up fish myself, of course with the help of the knowledgeable guides. Later that evening without any organization on my part was the same fish caught that day on the dinner plate. The food was so extraordinary! It makes it feel so much fresh and special when you can feel so close to what you are eating. I suggest trying the sauces especially the banana sauce for any seafood at Carabellas. I have never tasted anything like it.

The butterfly garden and getting the opportunity to plant an almond tree and become a part of the property made me feel very close to the nature that is so prevalent throughout the country.

I can't get the view of the gorgeous beaches in Punta Leona, and I really don't want to. I can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, General Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We are very glad to know that you visited our property several times and that you enjoyed every time all the amenities at the hotel and the many attractions in the area. We hope to be able to keep serving you and thank you for preferring us .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Jaco
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.