We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family owned resort located within its own ecological preserve with breathtaking beaches, centrally located to parks, excursio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A family owned resort located within its own ecological preserve with breathtaking beaches, centrally located to parks, excursio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have been coming here for 12 years and the best way I have found to sum it up is that it has the costa rican vibe. It's friendly. It's beautiful. It has gorgeous top rated beaches. Its close to many sites including Manuel Antonio, Carrara, hermosa, jaco just to name a few. Just exploring the property is great fun w three beaches, nature trails, several pools and restaurants, a zip line, virgin forests, and much more. Try a granizado at bar garate. Snorkel playa blanca. Discover the waterfall at limoncito. All within the property.

Ask about the SMART program. Is a cultural experience unlike any other. From Tico Spanish and cooking classes to environmental and social activities including beach clean ups, tree planting, aiding underprivileged school children to local crafts and folk dancing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your preference and your excellent comments about our property. Our Smart program as you indicate it, is oriented to provide a experience for the tourist who will like to know more about the culture and lifestyle of the local people. I hope you continue visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    154
    77
    32
    46
See reviews for
150
125
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Me, my sister, and my good friend took advantage of a great deal that was offered through groupon for this place. We stayed in a very basic room with 2 queen beds, mini fridge, and a TV. The room was a avg size for us but would've been cozier for 2 ppl. The shower gets really hot, so be careful.

Everything is within walking distance except the front gate, it's kins of far. The food was DELICIOUS, especially the breakfast. My parents are from the Caribbean so I'm pretty used to most of the food they served but they also have the traditional food. The small monkeys that come out during breakfast are a sight to see, they will steal your food if u leave it unattended.

What really impressed me about this place was the staff. THEY WERE SO NICCCCEEE. We weren't as prepared as we thought and asked the front desk a million questions and they never seemed irritated and always went above and beyond. KAREN & DAVID ROCK!! there were others at the front desk that were of great help but I can't remember their names. The two guys who run the canopy tour(zip line) were also nice and FUNNY as heck which was great cause it calmed my nerves.

Playa Blanca(beach) was also nice and not crowded. There is a little store on site for your basic needs. I didn't go to the pool or spa so I can't rate that. Overall it is a great place to stay. It isn't super fancy but it got an A in my book

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernarda L, Front Office Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for your excellent review. We are pleased that you liked our property and that you enjoyed the natural beauty of the place and the friendliness of the staff. We are delighted that our guests appreciate all the efforts we make to be better every day and that they leave satisfied with our services. We hope you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I enjoyed very much the two nights I spent here as part of a group trip. Our group stayed in a section of rooms named Venezuela after one of the lands Columbus discovered. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, quite modern, with good bathrooms attached. There was a basket of fruit to welcome me and chocolates on my pillow at night. The grounds are huge, with access to a beach (and their own bus service to get there). They appear to be in the process of building even more rooms, apparently condos. There are pretty paths and roads leading through a tropical forest environment to the restaurant, reception, the chapel (closed except for Saturday evening service), and a nice little butterfly garden. On an early morning walk I saw morpho butterflies (in the wild as well as the enclosed garden), scarlet macaws, and a troupe of spider monkeys in a tree near my room. The ancient, huge ceibo tree, preserved near the chapel, is a marvel. But the restaurant is, to my mind, the reason to be here, and a lot of Costa Rican children there apparently felt the same way. There is a good variety of food offered at the buffet, most of it so-so in my opinion, but the place is surrounded, in the slopes outside the open-air fenced seating areas and the rafters and netting overhead, with raccoon-like coatis and capuchin monkeys who are there to steal your meal. If you don't mind the entertainment aspects overtaking the culinary aspects, this is a show not to be missed. Watching these sly and greedy animals was one of the most memorable parts of my trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to describe your positive experience in Hotel and Club Punta Leona. We are pleased that you liked your room and were able to enjoy all the services and amenities offered by our hotel. Our goal is that our guests leave satisfied and appreciate the lush nature that surrounds us and to relax in our beautiful white sand beach Playa Blanca. We hope you visit us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I like Hotel & Club Punta Leona at lot. My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights: our room was good with big bathroom and plate of fresh fruits. The Playa Blanca beach is amazing, water is very pure. We saw a big turtle in the water :-) There were lots of monkeys, racoons an pizottes on the beach, trying to still something. The food was great during the breakfast and at the restaurant near the Playa Blanca beach. Lots of Costa Ricans stayed in this hotel. They told us that the beach was one of the most beautiful in Costa Rica. We definitely would stay there next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the beach and the nature that surrounds us. It is great to hear that you also found our room nice and comfortable and enjoyed our typical breakfast. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBART
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The property is quite large with a couple of mile drive back to the reception. Our room was quite small, but functional enough. We also noted the candle and did experience two power outages for a few hours each. The restaurant was near and the food was so-so. Included breakfast buffet had a good variety, but nothing that was really great. The dinner buffet was over priced ($20) for what they had. We tried to go to the pool restaurant one night but it was closed at 7pm even though hours stated open until 9. not sure why. The best part of the restaurant was the animal entertainment. If people sat in the seats near the jungle, you can watch the monkeys and coatimundi"s start creeping in waiting for their chance to steal anything off their unattended plates or the entire container with sugar packets. Pretty funny. Staff would set off firecrackers to send them all running back into the woods for a few minutes before they began the creeping back. The pool was great. We saw the biggest iguana ever up in the trees near the pool. The beaches, especially the white sand beach were beautiful. Beware of monkeys again, they opened our bag and took the energy bars and bit into the box of wine before someone shooed them away. One night heading into Jaco we almost ran over a sloth as it tried to cross the road . That was exciting. So bottom line, okay place, so-so rooms, awful drive into the resort, blah food, beautiful beaches and pool, okay activities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback of the hotel. We appreciate you talking the time to review your stay, this helps us in trying to improve every day .We are please to know that you enjoyed our beautiful beach Playa Blanca and also the pool, the animals and all the natural experience that our hotel offers. We hope to be able to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This very clean and beautifully landscaped hotel had a lot to offer. The setting was peaceful and well maintained. The rooms were a little small but were tucked in to the landscape which gave the illusion of privacy. All staff were very helpful and eager to please. The tour guide for the bird watching and butterfly gardens was very knowledgeable and interesting. The guys providing the zip line experience were fun and encouraging. The pools and beaches were beautiful and well equipped for tourists and their families

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the pools, our beautiful beaches and the friendliness of our staff. We hope you return again to the Hotel and Club Punta Leona, it will be a pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairway, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Three nites here -- was expecting more. Accomodations were pretty average. Grounds are truly lovely. I found that this place appeals more to TICOS -- Costa Rican nationals -- rather than US TOURISTS. For the price though the vacation value was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our grounds. Hotel & Club Punta Leona is not a luxury hotel but we offer comfortable rooms with all the amenities to have a great vacation especially for those who love nature and white sand beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.