We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pools and beaches great, rooms and food not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 42 hotels in Jaco
HOBART
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pools and beaches great, rooms and food not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The property is quite large with a couple of mile drive back to the reception. Our room was quite small, but functional enough. We also noted the candle and did experience two power outages for a few hours each. The restaurant was near and the food was so-so. Included breakfast buffet had a good variety, but nothing that was really great. The dinner buffet was over priced ($20) for what they had. We tried to go to the pool restaurant one night but it was closed at 7pm even though hours stated open until 9. not sure why. The best part of the restaurant was the animal entertainment. If people sat in the seats near the jungle, you can watch the monkeys and coatimundi"s start creeping in waiting for their chance to steal anything off their unattended plates or the entire container with sugar packets. Pretty funny. Staff would set off firecrackers to send them all running back into the woods for a few minutes before they began the creeping back. The pool was great. We saw the biggest iguana ever up in the trees near the pool. The beaches, especially the white sand beach were beautiful. Beware of monkeys again, they opened our bag and took the energy bars and bit into the box of wine before someone shooed them away. One night heading into Jaco we almost ran over a sloth as it tried to cross the road . That was exciting. So bottom line, okay place, so-so rooms, awful drive into the resort, blah food, beautiful beaches and pool, okay activities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback of the hotel. We appreciate you talking the time to review your stay, this helps us in trying to improve every day .We are please to know that you enjoyed our beautiful beach Playa Blanca and also the pool, the animals and all the natural experience that our hotel offers. We hope to be able to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    157
    78
    32
    46
See reviews for
153
126
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This very clean and beautifully landscaped hotel had a lot to offer. The setting was peaceful and well maintained. The rooms were a little small but were tucked in to the landscape which gave the illusion of privacy. All staff were very helpful and eager to please. The tour guide for the bird watching and butterfly gardens was very knowledgeable and interesting. The guys providing the zip line experience were fun and encouraging. The pools and beaches were beautiful and well equipped for tourists and their families

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the pools, our beautiful beaches and the friendliness of our staff. We hope you return again to the Hotel and Club Punta Leona, it will be a pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairway, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Three nites here -- was expecting more. Accomodations were pretty average. Grounds are truly lovely. I found that this place appeals more to TICOS -- Costa Rican nationals -- rather than US TOURISTS. For the price though the vacation value was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our grounds. Hotel & Club Punta Leona is not a luxury hotel but we offer comfortable rooms with all the amenities to have a great vacation especially for those who love nature and white sand beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a vast property but very easy to get around. Our room was in an area hidden amongst the trees - lovely but small - and very comfortable. We were close to the restaurant for breakfast which was included, and easily could walk to the beaches and pools. The staff here was very helpful - and our stay included a Monkey Canopy tour ---- we did this - and the guides were very helpful - but if you have any fear of heights do not go!!! I was terrified!!! Be aware there are protected animals in the area called Coati - they don't bother you - but they are sure around. This hotel is about a 3 mile drive in from the highway - and the grounds were very nice and lush - included is a butterfly pavillion - a grocery store - several restaurants - 3 different pools and 2 beaches. We loved our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the very back - it is the most private area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review!! We are very Glad that you found our property lovely and comfortable and that our staff was helpful and was able to assist with your needs. Your Business is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a sprawling resort set in acres and acres of forests and beaches. Zip lining through the canopy and laying around on the beautiful white sand beach, Playa Blanca, were some of our highlights. There are several free tours/excursions you can take during your stay, including bird walks, hikes and butterfly garden tours. The resident macaws are beautiful, plentiful, and loud. The monkeys are used to being fed by humans, and will come down to the beach or your breakfast table for snacks (don't feed them!!). The meals were good, and the room was clean and modern. We would stay here again in a second.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, General Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your great comments about our property, we are indeed a hotel surrounded by nature where our guests can enjoy nature, the beach and the many activities that we offer. We are pleased that you enjoy your with us and we hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

In summer we traveled through Central America from Panama City to Cancun. Punta Leona was one of th places we stayed for few nights mostly due to the nature around. The quality of the service, rooms, cousine is not the perfect but if you like a nature you can immediately forget about such small trifles. To see an exotic animals it is enough to go outside of your room or to take small trip to located near Manuel Antonio National Park. Early in the morning hotel offers bird walks and you can see and make photos of several local birds lice tucans, parrots and many others. Additionally not so far away you can find beautiful beach with the coach running very often from the hotel area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are delight to know that you chose our property to spend the most nights during your summer journey and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always appreciate the feedback from our nature lovers guests who can see the beauty of watching exotic animals, hear the birds singing, observe a couple of Tuscans Flying, eating in a restaurant surrounded by monkeys, and relax in a white sand beach where they still can observe macaws, color butterflies and other species of animals. We hope you honor us with your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

When I entered our room upon checkin, I saw a candle with matches. I only pondered this candle for a second before the power went out to the entire resort. It stayed off for hours and would return intermittently thorought out the day. I learned what the candle was really for quickly. The room itself was clean. The decor was worn out and the room was weathered. This is a big hotel and could be considered a mini community. The view from our room was unimpressive. It faced a parking lot. The staff was average and overwhelmed by the number of Ticos (Costa Rica locals) and other guests. The hotel was very packed when we stayed there for three nights. The food was only average everywhere we ate.
The wildlife was great! Toucans, macaws, monkeys and butterflies everywhere. This was the best part, in my opinion. As there was no fitness center, we ran the long "driveway" to the main road. This was about 2.5 miles each way. The zipline staff were great. Next time, I will consider other hotels in this area for better room quality and overall resort quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We regret that we have had a lost of power during your stay, however is not something that happens often but can happen at any hotel in the area. We are not a luxury hotel but we offer comfortable, clean and well maintain rooms surrounded by lush nature which is precisely what makes us attractive to our customers who visit us. We have an extensive property allowing to fully exercising outdoors without having to visit a gym. Our guest can take long walks, take free hiking tours, do canopy over the tops of the trees or swim in a beautiful white sand beach but we also offer our guest a shuttle service to move from one place to another within our complex. Hotel & Club Punta Leona is a family friendly hotel, dedicated to the conservation, for guest looking for relaxation and enjoyment of nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.