We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but once is probably enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Fairway, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice but once is probably enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Three nites here -- was expecting more. Accomodations were pretty average. Grounds are truly lovely. I found that this place appeals more to TICOS -- Costa Rican nationals -- rather than US TOURISTS. For the price though the vacation value was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our grounds. Hotel & Club Punta Leona is not a luxury hotel but we offer comfortable rooms with all the amenities to have a great vacation especially for those who love nature and white sand beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    156
    78
    32
    46
See reviews for
152
126
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a vast property but very easy to get around. Our room was in an area hidden amongst the trees - lovely but small - and very comfortable. We were close to the restaurant for breakfast which was included, and easily could walk to the beaches and pools. The staff here was very helpful - and our stay included a Monkey Canopy tour ---- we did this - and the guides were very helpful - but if you have any fear of heights do not go!!! I was terrified!!! Be aware there are protected animals in the area called Coati - they don't bother you - but they are sure around. This hotel is about a 3 mile drive in from the highway - and the grounds were very nice and lush - included is a butterfly pavillion - a grocery store - several restaurants - 3 different pools and 2 beaches. We loved our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the very back - it is the most private area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review!! We are very Glad that you found our property lovely and comfortable and that our staff was helpful and was able to assist with your needs. Your Business is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a sprawling resort set in acres and acres of forests and beaches. Zip lining through the canopy and laying around on the beautiful white sand beach, Playa Blanca, were some of our highlights. There are several free tours/excursions you can take during your stay, including bird walks, hikes and butterfly garden tours. The resident macaws are beautiful, plentiful, and loud. The monkeys are used to being fed by humans, and will come down to the beach or your breakfast table for snacks (don't feed them!!). The meals were good, and the room was clean and modern. We would stay here again in a second.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, General Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your great comments about our property, we are indeed a hotel surrounded by nature where our guests can enjoy nature, the beach and the many activities that we offer. We are pleased that you enjoy your with us and we hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

In summer we traveled through Central America from Panama City to Cancun. Punta Leona was one of th places we stayed for few nights mostly due to the nature around. The quality of the service, rooms, cousine is not the perfect but if you like a nature you can immediately forget about such small trifles. To see an exotic animals it is enough to go outside of your room or to take small trip to located near Manuel Antonio National Park. Early in the morning hotel offers bird walks and you can see and make photos of several local birds lice tucans, parrots and many others. Additionally not so far away you can find beautiful beach with the coach running very often from the hotel area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are delight to know that you chose our property to spend the most nights during your summer journey and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always appreciate the feedback from our nature lovers guests who can see the beauty of watching exotic animals, hear the birds singing, observe a couple of Tuscans Flying, eating in a restaurant surrounded by monkeys, and relax in a white sand beach where they still can observe macaws, color butterflies and other species of animals. We hope you honor us with your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

When I entered our room upon checkin, I saw a candle with matches. I only pondered this candle for a second before the power went out to the entire resort. It stayed off for hours and would return intermittently thorought out the day. I learned what the candle was really for quickly. The room itself was clean. The decor was worn out and the room was weathered. This is a big hotel and could be considered a mini community. The view from our room was unimpressive. It faced a parking lot. The staff was average and overwhelmed by the number of Ticos (Costa Rica locals) and other guests. The hotel was very packed when we stayed there for three nights. The food was only average everywhere we ate.
The wildlife was great! Toucans, macaws, monkeys and butterflies everywhere. This was the best part, in my opinion. As there was no fitness center, we ran the long "driveway" to the main road. This was about 2.5 miles each way. The zipline staff were great. Next time, I will consider other hotels in this area for better room quality and overall resort quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We regret that we have had a lost of power during your stay, however is not something that happens often but can happen at any hotel in the area. We are not a luxury hotel but we offer comfortable, clean and well maintain rooms surrounded by lush nature which is precisely what makes us attractive to our customers who visit us. We have an extensive property allowing to fully exercising outdoors without having to visit a gym. Our guest can take long walks, take free hiking tours, do canopy over the tops of the trees or swim in a beautiful white sand beach but we also offer our guest a shuttle service to move from one place to another within our complex. Hotel & Club Punta Leona is a family friendly hotel, dedicated to the conservation, for guest looking for relaxation and enjoyment of nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Me and my family with some friends stayed here for 10 days... The place is clean and nice but there was a severe security essue conserning a weirdo at playa mantas wich is the beach next to the pool, front desk and restaurants. One may think is the safest but NO! There was this wierd guy walking around by the kids' pool and the near gardens we noticed him, so we kept an eye on him (we were with 3 kids) then he was hidding by some bushes and took off his shorts, he was in a thong speedo and started touching himself over the speedo... We quikly distracted the kids and went to tell some one from the staff, we told a gardener cause was the nearest, but the guy noticed we were telling and left, the gardener told security but wasn't fast enough so this creep was already gone. It was very scary, we are not coming back here EVER! It is not a safe place!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, General Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We are sorry to hear about the experience you describe, something like that never happen before around our property and it should have being reported immediately to our front desk.. We are a very safe and serious property and we have always protected the security of our guess especially of children and teenagers. Playa Mantas is a public beach and we can not be held responsible for the behavior of the people that visit this beach. But if a situation like this will have being reported to us, we would have taken the necessary action to denounce it to the corresponding authorities. And we do not have any report of such situation. We will start an investigation about this incident and make sure all departments will be inform so a situation like this will never happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This resort has so much to offer we only left once and the nature/wildlife excursion we went to didn't offer all the wildlife we had already seen at the resort. Coatis, white faced monkeys, iguanas, tucans, parrots, macaws everywhere. Our kids thought they were at the zoo! Never a dull moment! The coatis and monkeys were always at breakfast at Carabelas and the raccoons sometimes made an appearance at dinner:) The jungle is amazing here, so lush and green. We did the canopy tour and it was a great "first time experience"!

All the staff at the resort was exceptional. Very friendly and welcoming. Had a daily convention meeting at the Columbus room and the staff did a perfect job of catering to us.
Alex the tour guide is a must - ask for him! He knows his stuff! Did the bird tour at 6:15 AM and saw tucans and parrots, woodpeckers and hummingbirds, all birds that we hadn't seen by ourselves in the past 5 days! Alex just knows what to look for and listen for! We also had the butterfly tour with him and he shows you so much more about butterflies and moths, very interesting. He also caught an iguana for our kids to pet and teach us more about.

The Playa Blanca beach is very nice, yes a little hike or by van/bus, but worth it.
Hiking from the main beach to the Playa Blanca is actually fun too and we did it easily with our 6 and 4 year old kids. Meandering over the lava rock and looking at the coral on the way was interesting and searching out little tide pools with fish and sea urchins. Down at the Playa Blanca there was a group of trees where the macaws hung out daily, dropping seed pods down on our heads :) Then, taking flight with about 21 in all - what a site!

The main children's pool was the only one we used and our kids loved it.

We stayed at the Punta Leona for 9 nights in the Torremar 2 bedroom apartments. They are basic, but that's all you need since you are basically there just to sleep. They were equipped with apartment sized fridge, microwave, toaster oven, coffee pot, rice cooker and electric fryer. Both bedrooms and the livingroom area had AC units and we were always cool. The location was quite, in a treed area with walking paths to everywhere we wanted to go.
We had breakfast in our room and some lunches and had dinners at the Carabelas restaurant, which was always nicely set up with great food and service! Egg rolls, made to order fajitas, beef enchilatas and guacamole were some of our favorites!

This resort if very family friendly and we felt 100% safe!

We would definitely go back to the Punta Leona!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent comments and for taking the time to describe your experience in the hotel, including the photos that you included. Indeed Hotel & Club Punta Leona is a hotel dedicated to the preservation and is a family-friendly hotel. Our guide Alex is a person with great knowledge of the area and the different species of animals and plants that are found here and loves to share his knowledge with the guests. We will send him your comments; they definitely motivate our staff to be better every day. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.