We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Predator pedofile careful!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Predator pedofile careful!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Me and my family with some friends stayed here for 10 days... The place is clean and nice but there was a severe security essue conserning a weirdo at playa mantas wich is the beach next to the pool, front desk and restaurants. One may think is the safest but NO! There was this wierd guy walking around by the kids' pool and the near gardens we noticed him, so we kept an eye on him (we were with 3 kids) then he was hidding by some bushes and took off his shorts, he was in a thong speedo and started touching himself over the speedo... We quikly distracted the kids and went to tell some one from the staff, we told a gardener cause was the nearest, but the guy noticed we were telling and left, the gardener told security but wasn't fast enough so this creep was already gone. It was very scary, we are not coming back here EVER! It is not a safe place!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, General Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We are sorry to hear about the experience you describe, something like that never happen before around our property and it should have being reported immediately to our front desk.. We are a very safe and serious property and we have always protected the security of our guess especially of children and teenagers. Playa Mantas is a public beach and we can not be held responsible for the behavior of the people that visit this beach. But if a situation like this will have being reported to us, we would have taken the necessary action to denounce it to the corresponding authorities. And we do not have any report of such situation. We will start an investigation about this incident and make sure all departments will be inform so a situation like this will never happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    171
    75
    33
    48
See reviews for
166
132
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This resort has so much to offer we only left once and the nature/wildlife excursion we went to didn't offer all the wildlife we had already seen at the resort. Coatis, white faced monkeys, iguanas, tucans, parrots, macaws everywhere. Our kids thought they were at the zoo! Never a dull moment! The coatis and monkeys were always at breakfast at Carabelas and the raccoons sometimes made an appearance at dinner:) The jungle is amazing here, so lush and green. We did the canopy tour and it was a great "first time experience"!

All the staff at the resort was exceptional. Very friendly and welcoming. Had a daily convention meeting at the Columbus room and the staff did a perfect job of catering to us.
Alex the tour guide is a must - ask for him! He knows his stuff! Did the bird tour at 6:15 AM and saw tucans and parrots, woodpeckers and hummingbirds, all birds that we hadn't seen by ourselves in the past 5 days! Alex just knows what to look for and listen for! We also had the butterfly tour with him and he shows you so much more about butterflies and moths, very interesting. He also caught an iguana for our kids to pet and teach us more about.

The Playa Blanca beach is very nice, yes a little hike or by van/bus, but worth it.
Hiking from the main beach to the Playa Blanca is actually fun too and we did it easily with our 6 and 4 year old kids. Meandering over the lava rock and looking at the coral on the way was interesting and searching out little tide pools with fish and sea urchins. Down at the Playa Blanca there was a group of trees where the macaws hung out daily, dropping seed pods down on our heads :) Then, taking flight with about 21 in all - what a site!

The main children's pool was the only one we used and our kids loved it.

We stayed at the Punta Leona for 9 nights in the Torremar 2 bedroom apartments. They are basic, but that's all you need since you are basically there just to sleep. They were equipped with apartment sized fridge, microwave, toaster oven, coffee pot, rice cooker and electric fryer. Both bedrooms and the livingroom area had AC units and we were always cool. The location was quite, in a treed area with walking paths to everywhere we wanted to go.
We had breakfast in our room and some lunches and had dinners at the Carabelas restaurant, which was always nicely set up with great food and service! Egg rolls, made to order fajitas, beef enchilatas and guacamole were some of our favorites!

This resort if very family friendly and we felt 100% safe!

We would definitely go back to the Punta Leona!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent comments and for taking the time to describe your experience in the hotel, including the photos that you included. Indeed Hotel & Club Punta Leona is a hotel dedicated to the preservation and is a family-friendly hotel. Our guide Alex is a person with great knowledge of the area and the different species of animals and plants that are found here and loves to share his knowledge with the guests. We will send him your comments; they definitely motivate our staff to be better every day. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited Punta Leona with a groupon . Our experience was very positive...the staff most gracious and accommodating....the hotel itself is very relaxing albeit a tad bit worn....it seems it could use a bit of updating and renovation BUT this should not stop anyone (other than the most persnickety) from a visit,,,,the property itself is absolutely gorgeous...since the resort has been there since the early '80's the vegetation is quite mature and lush....also they are very aware of keeping the ecology of the area....hence planting of almond trees, the preferred food of the scarlet macaws....which we saw many of and heard too....the breakfast buffet is outstanding as are the critters that visit you while eating....don't leave your plate unattended though , you will lose your food to white faced monkeys or a coati or raccoon....animals everywhere BUT the highlight was the night tour with local guide ALEX.....he is a walking encyclopedia on Costa Rican nature....after about 1/2 hour walk into the jungle, ALEX stopped dead in his tracks and his flashlight stopped on one of the most deadly snakes in the world...the FER DE LANCE....this was a big one about 1-1/2 meter in length....the snake was coiled but a spectacle to photograph...but being the true professional he was ALEX reversed our steps and we left the snake to his own environment and we 7 tourists returned to our environment too....but what a sight to see!!!!!

Staying at this resort is worth it to have the services of ALEX if you want to know and see nature in its most spectacular naturalness...if he doesn't know something, he confesses that lack of knowledge .....he is a no nonsense dedicated student and scholar of nature....ask for him specifically ALEX....he is the best!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cuba in the Selvamar area....very quite and adequate for our purpose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for writing such positive comments about our Hotel. We're glad that you enjoyed the abundant nature that surrounds our property and the services of our tour guide Alex that as you mention is a person with great knowledge of the area and the different species of animals and plants found in the place. Hotel & Club Punta Leona is an eco-friendly hotel dedicated to the conservation and we love knowing that our guests appreciate our efforts. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Well what can I say about Punta Leona!

When we arrived the drive to the property was gated and guarded and it had a interesting driveway which appeared to initially be leading to something that was going to be spectacular, but not really.

The room had no lighted pathway so thankfully we did not arrive in the dark and have to creep around the deep foliage that surrounded the room.

The room was was an upgraded Selvamar room that we read about on reviews that was supposed to be the best. The shower clogged after the first use, but they came promptly to fix it. However, the room was full of biting gnats as they had left the screened bathroom window open, but they brought bug spray to spray the room which helped.

The beach was lovely, but the service was lacking and the food was bland and consisted of rice and peas, yucca, plantain and milk with poor tasting coffee at every meal...the fruit was hit or miss....there was no variety or zing...so cuisine and apparently now coffee are not what you go to Costa Rica to enjoy.

The Fish Taco place in Jaco, about one hour drive away, is worth a visit if you want a bit of variety and flavor on your palate

The weekend stay is loaded with locals and their rambunctious children. The Tico's, as the locals are called, were not friendly or even seem to consider that we were adding to the tourist economy.

Our highlight on this resort was seeing the White-nosed Coati, anteater-type creatures, and the tiny White-throated Capuchin monkeys that came right into the eating area to steal scraps and look cute.

However, do not feed the animals. Look and take pictures while enjoying being so close to the natural species which the Costa Rican hotels have encroached upon.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay at Punta Leona, do not stay in anything less than the Selvamar room because if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to put your feedback. We regret that your experience was not as expected. Hotel & Club Punta Leona is not a luxury hotel but it is a beautiful property that offers all the amenities for our guests to enjoy a nice vacation, especially nature lovers. We offer different types of accommodation to try to please the different needs of our customers, from the Selvamar Standard and Superior rooms to the apartments and suites. Generally we receive customers of all nationalities and not just locals. Costa Ricans certainly appreciate the tourists that visit us from other countries and we regret that this has not been your impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Pura Vida! That is the best way to describe our experience in Costa Rica and our stay at Punta Leona. The location is beautiful and there is so much to do on site. It is definitely a family friendly location. This location gives you the true feeling that you are living in a rainforest. There is wildlife everywhere. Every morning we saw Scarlet Macaws, monkeys, and coatimundi's, as well as so many different varieties of butterflies and birds. We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment chalet. It was the cheapest room available - just one bedroom with two double beds and a small kitchen with a full size refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, and toaster oven, but no stove. I believe the two bedrooms may have stoves. It was a very basic room. Not luxurious, but it fit our needs and the price was right. You don't spend much time in the room anyways because there is so much to see and enjoy here, but if you want something nicer there is a wide variety of rooms available from small apartments to luxurious condos on the property. The pools are great for all ages and the Playa Blanca beach is very nice. If you don't have a car, they have buses that will pick you up and take you almost anywhere you want to go, on the property and off the property, within a reasonable distance. The town of Jaco is nearby for all of your shopping needs. Having a car is helpful though because there is so much to see in Costa Rica. You would be limited if you don't have one. The staff here was amazing. Everyone was so courteous and helpful. Manuel, the chef, went out of his way every day to make sure the food was pleasing to everyone and we heard that if you had certain dietary restrictions he would make something special for you. The maids came every morning with new towels and left the room spotless. The front desk staff were always there to help in scheduling events and answering questions. Any problems we had were fixed immediately, like one day our safe wasn't working and someone came right away to fix it. If you get a chance, be sure to take the guided butterfly and bird watching walks in the morning. Alex, the guide, is extremely knowledgeable and you will see so much. They have a butterfly garden on site that our kids just loved. We really had a wonderful experience here at Punta Leona and we want to thank the staff for making our stay in Costa Rica so memorable and enjoyable and if we come back we will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for so many positive comments. We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our property as you mention, is a family-friendly hotel with a great variety of species of flora and fauna for nature lovers. It is also an ideal place for those who simply want to relax in our beautiful Playa Blanca. Our staff also tries to provide the best service and certainly we will send them your comments as they always motivate us to be better. It was a pleasure to serve you and we hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

It is certainly Pura Vida at Punta Leona. It's my 8th day at the hotel. The morning starts off with the calls of scarlet macaws and parrots. White-faced capuchin monkeys and coatis visit at breakfast. The breakfast buffet includes fresh fruit, local and international dishes. At dinner there is also a wide variety to choose from; and a raccoon might show up from time to time.
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Most speak fluent English in addition to Spanish. The hotel is well managed. The rooms are thoroughly cleaned every day, the lush verdant grounds are well kept, the restaurant staff serve with gladness, the front desk staff are helpful, the shuttle drivers are punctual,... The hotel is eco-friendly.
There are numerous tours and walks to take, activities to participate in, trails to explore,... Or simply relax on one of the two beautiful beaches.
My stay at Punta Leona is millennial. Not one complaint. Great service Hotel Punta Leona!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We appreciate your comments about your stay at the hotel. We are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction and that you were able to enjoy your vacation with us, taking advantage of all the services we offer. Our goal is to please our guests and that they experience a friendly environment surrounded by the natural beauty that Costa Rica has to offer. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This place is very different, and perhaps I would recommend it for a romantic vacation for two from Monday -Thursday only. Otherwise it is not good for tourists. First of all I hope you rented a vehicle and drove to Punta Leona, because you will not he hanging out there. You will probably drive to Jaco to actually have a good time. Then make sure you get an upgrade to at least the Selvamar rooms. This will approximate the most average of hotel rooms in the western hemisphere. Next buy some bug spray, because you will need it for the unseen critters that bite your skin every second in this lush, tropical area. Finally, hope you brought some ear plugs, because if you visit Punta Leona from Friday to Sunday, you will need them for the amount of laughing, talking, and, general cacophony you will be exposed to from the hundreds of Tico family, friends, and children who will be taking over the place (at cut rate Tico discounts). By taking over I mean walking up and down the area, eating in the restaurants, swimming in the many pools, lying in the few chairs on the beach, and hanging in and out of their rooms having a social. All activity and noise ceases for everyone around 9pm. The weekend at Punta Leona is NOT fun for an outsider looking to make the best of their vacation time. NOTE: We just got back from spending 10 days in low-season in Costa Rica, and we can officially say - Tico's and their kids having the run of resorts is not unique to Punta Leona. It's everywhere!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Selvamar rooms (a semi-detached bungalow type dwelling). And then go way beyond that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We regret that you did not enjoy our resort as most of our guests who visit us do. Indeed Punta Leona is a family-friendly hotel, and we have a lot of families that are looking to have a nice time and enjoy nature in a peaceful and secure atmosphere. But even we have many customers who are couples or travel alone or with friends that leave very pleased with their stay. We do not have much in common with the city of Jaco as people who choose to go there goes mostly to enjoy the nightlife and other adult activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Jaco
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.