We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in PUNTA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 39 hotels in Jaco
Wilson, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun in PUNTA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited Punta Leona with a groupon . Our experience was very positive...the staff most gracious and accommodating....the hotel itself is very relaxing albeit a tad bit worn....it seems it could use a bit of updating and renovation BUT this should not stop anyone (other than the most persnickety) from a visit,,,,the property itself is absolutely gorgeous...since the resort has been there since the early '80's the vegetation is quite mature and lush....also they are very aware of keeping the ecology of the area....hence planting of almond trees, the preferred food of the scarlet macaws....which we saw many of and heard too....the breakfast buffet is outstanding as are the critters that visit you while eating....don't leave your plate unattended though , you will lose your food to white faced monkeys or a coati or raccoon....animals everywhere BUT the highlight was the night tour with local guide ALEX.....he is a walking encyclopedia on Costa Rican nature....after about 1/2 hour walk into the jungle, ALEX stopped dead in his tracks and his flashlight stopped on one of the most deadly snakes in the world...the FER DE LANCE....this was a big one about 1-1/2 meter in length....the snake was coiled but a spectacle to photograph...but being the true professional he was ALEX reversed our steps and we left the snake to his own environment and we 7 tourists returned to our environment too....but what a sight to see!!!!!

Staying at this resort is worth it to have the services of ALEX if you want to know and see nature in its most spectacular naturalness...if he doesn't know something, he confesses that lack of knowledge .....he is a no nonsense dedicated student and scholar of nature....ask for him specifically ALEX....he is the best!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cuba in the Selvamar area....very quite and adequate for our purpose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for writing such positive comments about our Hotel. We're glad that you enjoyed the abundant nature that surrounds our property and the services of our tour guide Alex that as you mention is a person with great knowledge of the area and the different species of animals and plants found in the place. Hotel & Club Punta Leona is an eco-friendly hotel dedicated to the conservation and we love knowing that our guests appreciate our efforts. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    148
    71
    31
    46
See reviews for
141
121
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Well what can I say about Punta Leona!

When we arrived the drive to the property was gated and guarded and it had a interesting driveway which appeared to initially be leading to something that was going to be spectacular, but not really.

The room had no lighted pathway so thankfully we did not arrive in the dark and have to creep around the deep foliage that surrounded the room.

The room was was an upgraded Selvamar room that we read about on reviews that was supposed to be the best. The shower clogged after the first use, but they came promptly to fix it. However, the room was full of biting gnats as they had left the screened bathroom window open, but they brought bug spray to spray the room which helped.

The beach was lovely, but the service was lacking and the food was bland and consisted of rice and peas, yucca, plantain and milk with poor tasting coffee at every meal...the fruit was hit or miss....there was no variety or zing...so cuisine and apparently now coffee are not what you go to Costa Rica to enjoy.

The Fish Taco place in Jaco, about one hour drive away, is worth a visit if you want a bit of variety and flavor on your palate

The weekend stay is loaded with locals and their rambunctious children. The Tico's, as the locals are called, were not friendly or even seem to consider that we were adding to the tourist economy.

Our highlight on this resort was seeing the White-nosed Coati, anteater-type creatures, and the tiny White-throated Capuchin monkeys that came right into the eating area to steal scraps and look cute.

However, do not feed the animals. Look and take pictures while enjoying being so close to the natural species which the Costa Rican hotels have encroached upon.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay at Punta Leona, do not stay in anything less than the Selvamar room because if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to put your feedback. We regret that your experience was not as expected. Hotel & Club Punta Leona is not a luxury hotel but it is a beautiful property that offers all the amenities for our guests to enjoy a nice vacation, especially nature lovers. We offer different types of accommodation to try to please the different needs of our customers, from the Selvamar Standard and Superior rooms to the apartments and suites. Generally we receive customers of all nationalities and not just locals. Costa Ricans certainly appreciate the tourists that visit us from other countries and we regret that this has not been your impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Pura Vida! That is the best way to describe our experience in Costa Rica and our stay at Punta Leona. The location is beautiful and there is so much to do on site. It is definitely a family friendly location. This location gives you the true feeling that you are living in a rainforest. There is wildlife everywhere. Every morning we saw Scarlet Macaws, monkeys, and coatimundi's, as well as so many different varieties of butterflies and birds. We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment chalet. It was the cheapest room available - just one bedroom with two double beds and a small kitchen with a full size refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, and toaster oven, but no stove. I believe the two bedrooms may have stoves. It was a very basic room. Not luxurious, but it fit our needs and the price was right. You don't spend much time in the room anyways because there is so much to see and enjoy here, but if you want something nicer there is a wide variety of rooms available from small apartments to luxurious condos on the property. The pools are great for all ages and the Playa Blanca beach is very nice. If you don't have a car, they have buses that will pick you up and take you almost anywhere you want to go, on the property and off the property, within a reasonable distance. The town of Jaco is nearby for all of your shopping needs. Having a car is helpful though because there is so much to see in Costa Rica. You would be limited if you don't have one. The staff here was amazing. Everyone was so courteous and helpful. Manuel, the chef, went out of his way every day to make sure the food was pleasing to everyone and we heard that if you had certain dietary restrictions he would make something special for you. The maids came every morning with new towels and left the room spotless. The front desk staff were always there to help in scheduling events and answering questions. Any problems we had were fixed immediately, like one day our safe wasn't working and someone came right away to fix it. If you get a chance, be sure to take the guided butterfly and bird watching walks in the morning. Alex, the guide, is extremely knowledgeable and you will see so much. They have a butterfly garden on site that our kids just loved. We really had a wonderful experience here at Punta Leona and we want to thank the staff for making our stay in Costa Rica so memorable and enjoyable and if we come back we will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for so many positive comments. We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our property as you mention, is a family-friendly hotel with a great variety of species of flora and fauna for nature lovers. It is also an ideal place for those who simply want to relax in our beautiful Playa Blanca. Our staff also tries to provide the best service and certainly we will send them your comments as they always motivate us to be better. It was a pleasure to serve you and we hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

It is certainly Pura Vida at Punta Leona. It's my 8th day at the hotel. The morning starts off with the calls of scarlet macaws and parrots. White-faced capuchin monkeys and coatis visit at breakfast. The breakfast buffet includes fresh fruit, local and international dishes. At dinner there is also a wide variety to choose from; and a raccoon might show up from time to time.
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Most speak fluent English in addition to Spanish. The hotel is well managed. The rooms are thoroughly cleaned every day, the lush verdant grounds are well kept, the restaurant staff serve with gladness, the front desk staff are helpful, the shuttle drivers are punctual,... The hotel is eco-friendly.
There are numerous tours and walks to take, activities to participate in, trails to explore,... Or simply relax on one of the two beautiful beaches.
My stay at Punta Leona is millennial. Not one complaint. Great service Hotel Punta Leona!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We appreciate your comments about your stay at the hotel. We are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction and that you were able to enjoy your vacation with us, taking advantage of all the services we offer. Our goal is to please our guests and that they experience a friendly environment surrounded by the natural beauty that Costa Rica has to offer. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This place is very different, and perhaps I would recommend it for a romantic vacation for two from Monday -Thursday only. Otherwise it is not good for tourists. First of all I hope you rented a vehicle and drove to Punta Leona, because you will not he hanging out there. You will probably drive to Jaco to actually have a good time. Then make sure you get an upgrade to at least the Selvamar rooms. This will approximate the most average of hotel rooms in the western hemisphere. Next buy some bug spray, because you will need it for the unseen critters that bite your skin every second in this lush, tropical area. Finally, hope you brought some ear plugs, because if you visit Punta Leona from Friday to Sunday, you will need them for the amount of laughing, talking, and, general cacophony you will be exposed to from the hundreds of Tico family, friends, and children who will be taking over the place (at cut rate Tico discounts). By taking over I mean walking up and down the area, eating in the restaurants, swimming in the many pools, lying in the few chairs on the beach, and hanging in and out of their rooms having a social. All activity and noise ceases for everyone around 9pm. The weekend at Punta Leona is NOT fun for an outsider looking to make the best of their vacation time. NOTE: We just got back from spending 10 days in low-season in Costa Rica, and we can officially say - Tico's and their kids having the run of resorts is not unique to Punta Leona. It's everywhere!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Selvamar rooms (a semi-detached bungalow type dwelling). And then go way beyond that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We regret that you did not enjoy our resort as most of our guests who visit us do. Indeed Punta Leona is a family-friendly hotel, and we have a lot of families that are looking to have a nice time and enjoy nature in a peaceful and secure atmosphere. But even we have many customers who are couples or travel alone or with friends that leave very pleased with their stay. We do not have much in common with the city of Jaco as people who choose to go there goes mostly to enjoy the nightlife and other adult activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This property is very large and has 2 beaches, 3 pools and 2 restaurants on site. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean. Keep in mind that this is not a luxury hotel. It is very basic, but the location is awesome if you like nature and wildlife. There are tours available through the hotel and some tours given on the hotel property. There is nothing in walking distance so if you want to leave the property, you will need to get a taxi. There were monkeys at breakfast and other various creatures to watch while you are eating. It was quite entertaining. There is also a store on site and the hotel allows free international calls for up to 10 minutes per day. They also have free local calls, which is useful if you need to call a tour company or taxi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to upload the beautiful photos you took of our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and of the natural beauty that the place offers. It was a pleasure to serve you and hope you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My best friend and I booked an 8-night stay through Groupon, so we didn't really know what to expect. This place totally exceeded our expectations! The drive from the front gate to reception is quite beautiful - probably a 2-mile drive! It definitely makes you feel safe and secluded. We stayed in the Selvamar rooms, which were awesome! Not luxurious by any means, but they were single-story bungalows (for lack of a better word) with all the amenities could could possibly need! Our room was impeccably clean every day. We requested a balcony, which got plenty of use. The included breakfast was fresh, delicious, and filling. We also had an amazing time zip-lining, as the canopy guides were so fun! The grounds are beautiful and very well-kept. Both beaches are lovely, but Playa Blanca is definitely the more beautiful of the two. Luckily, we read reviews before coming and knew to rent a car. Do yourself a favor and do the same! We were able to easily get to Playa Blanca, but more importantly, explore areas outside of the resort, like Jaco and Playa Hermosa. Also, the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. Aside from the bilingual receptionists and on-site guide, some staff members speak little to no English, but I had a lot of fun trying to put some of my high-school Spanish to use. Overall, we had a wonderful experience - especially for the price! Definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive commentaries and we are very glad to know that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with. As you indicated we are not a luxury hotel but we are surrounded by a natural beauty that many other places do not have, especially Playa Blanca Beach which is one of the most beautiful beaches of the Central Pacific Coast. It was a pleasure to serve you and we hope that you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco
Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.