We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Lush Resort with a great breakfast, several on-site things to do, and you will feel safe as very guarded.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Large Lush Resort with a great breakfast, several on-site things to do, and you will feel safe as very guarded.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at the Punta Leona for 3 days the first part of our trip to Costa Rica. I knew about the construction and had requested a quiet room. We stayed in the Selvamar rooms and were very comfortable although we did hear the construction starting around 7:30 a.m.. The room was basic with a roomy shower. Only one chair but did have a mini- refrig which was much used. The grounds were very lush and amazingly well-kept considering the amount of work to keep things clean and tidy in a rain forest setting.
We loved the big included breakfast every morning. There were different choices the 3 days we were there and all food was fresh and tasty. The open air dining presented the usual problem of keeping the bugs off your food and in Punta Leona's case the monkeys and coati from stealing unattended items. We enjoyed watching the antics of the monkey's and coati trying to constantly steal food from guest's plates and made sure to have someone at the table at all times to shoo them away.
We visited both beaches and snorkeled at Playa Blanca which was fun. The rocky surfaces at high tide had an assortment of fish to view and having the lifeguard was an added bonus with the ocasional reports of rip tides. I would not swim at the Playa Manatas beach as the water was muddy from the river and lots of debris on the beach. The Playa Blanca was was much clearer and visibility better. I did not like the towel arrangement as you have to go to one location to pick up your towels. The front desk should give you the towels and all beaches should be able to trade out dry clean towels. The resort is too large to have you going back to one location esp. since it was the beach and pool we did not use. It was an inconvience.
We spent all days outside the resort exploring and did not have a chance to hike the two trails. We saw monkeys up close at breakfast and the trees on the resort grounds were amazing.
We did enjoy the butterfly garden tour. Be aware the map location is wrong and it is open to the public anytime. The signage could be improved and made bilingual to increase it's educational purpose.
We found the process of exiting the resort strange and got the feeling most people don't leave to eat dinner out much. The number of guards everywhere made us feel safe but sad that it was needed. The guards were polite and helpful.
I would say having a car is required if you want to do anything besides the resorts and tours offered by the resorts. Walking that long entrance road at night would be creepy. A flashlight to find your room at night was also helpful as the sidewalks are dark in some areas and LOTS of bugs and critters running around.
The rainy season in May was not too bad. We got rained on every night but managed to do almost everything we wanted before it started. The staff does not speak much English and I used my spanish translation phrase book a lot.

Room Tip: The construction is near the entrance road for the Selvamar rooms. The further back the quieter it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your commentaries and to take the time to describe your experience at the hotel. We will take into account your recommendations since our objective is to satisfy the necessities of our clients and make sure they will continue visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    204
    86
    39
    51
See reviews for
185
160
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Costa Rica is a beautiful country and has extremely proud people who care about it. That said, we do not intend to disrespect our view of this herein. However, we expected what we encountered at other hotels during our visit: peace, quiet, lush vegetation, etc.

The hotel grounds are under construction and has workers and other people running around everywhere. It was extremely dry and dusty, and the landscaping was not kept up and has dead vegetation everywhere. The Selvamar Superior rooms are so small that we were quite taken back for the price. This is also a club for locals, so the pools, beaches, and entire premises are loaded with people. The hotel manager was extremely professional and understanding and refunded our money, so we went elsewhere. It was simply just not what we expected.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you decided no to stay with us. Hotel & Club Punta Leona is a 3 stars Hotel with comfortable rooms but we are not a luxury hotel, nevertheless our property is surrounded by a natural beauty that is just found in few places in the area and our clients enjoy very much our facilities and White Sand Beach Playa Blanca which is one of the most beautiful beaches of the Central Pacific. Our personnel also try to satisfy the guests and make their experience a pleasant one. For these reasons, even though we are a quite extensive property we have a high occupation being this a place preferred by the national and International tourists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and i stayed here the few days before easter this year. The resort is where Costa Rican's vacation. We were pretty much the only travelers there. The beach was very pretty but the room was not very nice -and we paid 100 per person to upgrade to a balcony room. The resort is BIG and you have to take a shuttle to pretty much everywhere. The resort was PACKED when we were there due to holy week in Costa Rica. there were like 5000 teenagers everywhere. its a fine place to stay for 2 days to hang at the beach. Don't expect lluxury or good food or great service. I would not go back but the beach was really pretty.

Room Tip: If you do stay here you MUST upgrade to a room with a balcony. The other rooms were like row housin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Hotel & Club Punta Leona is indeed a large property oriented to families and national and International Tourism.

Our Hotel accommodates a great amount of guest not just from Costa Rica but also from USA, Germany, Canada and South America. We offer different types of lodging from our Standard and Superior Selvamar rooms to our Apartments and Suites to satisfy the tastes of the different guests who visit us. We are not a luxury hotel but we count with all the comforts needed so that our clients can enjoy a nice vacation besides to be surrounded by an exuberant natural beauty and have one of the most beautiful beaches of the Central Pacific Coast. In general our clients are nature lovers which main objective is to enjoy a place that reflects the beauty that Costa Rica has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Punta Leona was recommended to my family by a friend who lives in Costa Rica.

I had fortunately read the reviews on Trip Advisor, so I was ready for the two-mile drive from the front gate to the check-in desk. I didn't realize though how much Spanish that we would need to know once we got to the resort (the staff member at the front gate only spoke Spanish). Fortunately, our children are learning Spanish in school, so it was a good opportunity for them to practice.

The front desk assistance was fine, but this is not a standard "American Chain" resort where the staff is trained in first-class customer service. While the staff members are pleasant, they are not very knowledgable about activities in the area. Also, the main road near the check-in was under renovation, so the property was challenging to navigate while we were there.

We stayed in the condos based on the recommendation of the person who took our reservation over the phone. That was an excellent suggestion because once we found our condo, we had the best location within walking distance to Playa Blanca (White Beach) and a beautiful pool. There was also a kitchen in the condo and two bathrooms.

Playa Blanca was practically our private beach as there weren't many people using that beach during spring break. There is a restaurant right next to the beach where we ate lunch and got snacks. Playa Blanca lived up to its excellent reviews as it has a quiet area with beautiful clear water and little waves to relax, an area to snorkel and see some fish and a higher-waves area to surf. It is one of the most peaceful and beautiful beaches that I have experienced.

We ate at the Punto Leona restaurant for breakfast one time. The food was fine, but we wished that we had seen the monkeys which apparently visit most days. I had read in reviews that they visit at 7:00 a.m., but they were coming at 10:00 a.m. when we there so I suggest asking the front desk on when the monkeys visited the day before.

We drove into Jaco for dinner twice. The windy road is pretty adventurous at night, but Jaco is an enjoyable place to visit. We ate at Jaco Taco and enjoyed the food and atmosphere (and free wi-fi).

Overall, if you want a true feel for how Costa Ricans live on their vacations, then Punta Leona is a good choice.

Room Tip: My family stayed at the Condos next to Playa Blanca and that turned out to be a great decision becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed our property and our services. Hotel & Club Punta Leona is a family oriented resort and here our guests can discover the natural wonders that surround us. Playa Blanca beach is a charming place where our clients can relax in one of the most beautiful beaches of the Central Pacific Coast. People staying with us can learn about the nature, culture and wonders of our country. We hope you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We visited the resort this year as a groupl of six on a all inclusive vacation. The resort was fantastic and our tour guide Alex was AMAZING! His knowledge of the wildlife in Costa Rica and especially in the resort made our holiday extra special. Unfortunately my husband has a pacemaker/difibralator and if you have any lung or heart problems this isn't the place to go. The humidity is extremely high and he spent most of his holiday in the air conditioned room. But as I travelled with friends I was able to enjoy the fabulous resort and learn so much about Costa Rica from Alex. Their is a butterfly conservatory on the resort property and Alex does the daily tour. We learned about the beautiful Blue Morpho and Owl butterflies and many more. We wanted to go back a couple of times as there was so much to learn. He also did the nature walks and the night one too. They have a couple of pools and the young folk go in one and the other tends to be very comfortable during the week. A HUGE dissadvantage is the influx at the weekends. As you are not aware of this it is difficult to get a place to sit at the pool after about 8am. We took a couple of trips with Alex. One was zip lining which was great 4 of our group went on the lines while I enjoyed the journey up into the rain forest and back down again in a very comfortable cable car. Another was the Crocodile Tour which was amazing. I can't stop showing our captain in the water feeding this 18ft croc. We saw so many and learned so much about them. Then on to the Mango groves where we saw so many different species of birds and other wildlife. Again, Alex amazed us with his knowledge. Can you tell...he also took us into town where we shopped. He made our holiday such a fantastic experiance. Food was so so and we were dissapointed that the al le carte was the same as what was being served at the buffet with just one or two additions. The wildlife around the resort is amazing with Capuchin monkeys and Coatimundis entertaining us at breakfast. Around the resort we saw nesting Macaws to the huge lizards are very comfortable around people. A wonderful experience for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
It pleases us to know that you and the group that you traveled with enjoyed our Resort and the exuberant nature of the place. Indeed our guides have much knowledge of the area and want to make sure that our guests can appreciate all the different species during our guided hiking tours that are offered for free daily. Thanks for your commentaries and we hoped to be able to serve to them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 20 yrs ago and had an amazing time at this resort. We fell in love with Costa Rica and decided to come back to Punta Leona in March last year to get married. We are avid birdwatchers and love nature in general so that is really what we focus on when we're on vacation.

If you're looking for a 5 star resort experience this place is not for you, but it is still a great spot if you have the right expectations. Selvamar rooms are clean and comfortable. We found the staff very friendly and they were extremely helpful in planning our small wedding ceremony on the beach (at no extra charge I might add). Big thank you to everyone who helped us (sorry can't remember all the names a year later!) The resort is huge, we had a car so it didn't bother us but some people may find it difficult to get around (there are shuttles). Playa Blanca is absolutely stunning, yes you need a shuttle to get there but it is so worth the wait. Best beach we have been to in CR and we have been to many. Wildlife is still great, although definitely less abundant now as the resort is quite a bit more built up. Saw nesting Scarlet Macaws (awesome!), White Faced Capuchin monkeys, Coatimundis, Toucans, Armadillos, a Fer de Lance snake, Blue Morpho butterlfies, huge Ctenosaur lizards and many other animals. Don't miss the Giants Trail - a fantastic rainforest walk. If I could give one recommendation to the hotel it would be to add more nature trails like it. The resort is in the middle of a beautiful reserve - less development and bring back some of the old trails that seem to have disappeared!

Again if you like to be pampered and prefer luxury accomodations this is probably not the best choice. If you're looking for good value, a fantastic beach and easy access to tropical rainforest you won't be disappointed.

Pros: Playa Blanca beach, snorkeling, nice pool, rainforest, wildlife
Cons: Few restaurant options, food can get a bit boring afte a few days. Isolated if you don't have a rental car

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
It fills us of satisfaction to know that you choose Hotel & Club Punta Leona to celebrate such a special event as is it your wedding. We are very glad that everything was of your satisfaction during the event and hope we helped to make it a memorable moment.

Indeed our property is not resort of 5 stars but we tried to give a service of excellence to our guests with all the necessary services so that they can enjoy a relaxing vacation surrounded by the impressive nature that is in this place. We will continue working to be better every day adding new services for our clients. We hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I will be back. I was only able to stay 2 nights and one day, but I made the most of it. The rooms were big, clean and very attractive. I used the spa and had a body scrub done with coffee (well I was in Costa Rica) and a massage. Wonderful. I snorkeled at the white beach. We were joined by cappuccino monkeys and a coatimundi at breakfast. The meals were pretty good for resort food. I enjoyed the outdoor dining. It was a bit crowded because it was spring break.

I had a chance to see multiple scarlet macaws (very rare).

I hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missddNorthCarolina, Public Relations Manager at Hotel & Club Punta Leona, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
We are very please to know that you had a great time during your stay with us, and made the most out of your vacation. You had the opportunity to enjoy the exuberant nature, the food and the relaxation atmosphere that Hotel & Club Punta Leona offers, after all that is what a vacation in Costa Rica is all about. We hoped to be able to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.