We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Small Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Club Punta Leona to your Saves list
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
barrie, ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Small Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Barcelo Langosta Beach from March 7-14, 2011. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. We had 2 lightbulbs burned out when we arrived, but they were replaced immediately after we notified the front desk. The service was excellent.
The food was delicious with a good variety. You could always find something to eat even if you are a picky eater. The beach is rocky, but perfect for us as we brought our boogie boards with us. You can also rent them at the resort, but it didn't cost us anything to fly down with our own.
The buffet is not as large as some larger resorts, but the food is all flavoured well and delicious. There is a grill station at one end of the buffet where they grill fish, chicken, beef, etc.
The nightly entertainment was pretty good. There is only one large pool, but we had no difficulty finding lounge chairs each day. This is definitely a surfers beach area. It is fun to watch the boogie boards and surfers each day in the ocean.
We did a mega combo tour offered with Sunwing that included zip lining, horse back riding and a mud bath and volcanic springs. This cost $125.00 per person and we found it to be great value for the money. Lunch was also included. We left our hotel at 6:30am and were back by 6:30pm. We would highly recommend this tour. People that took the 16-18 hour tour to the Arenal Volcano had mixed reviews and some said that they couldn't see much when they got there due to ?fog. All in all, I would highly recommend this resort. Because it is a smaller resort, everything is nearby. Howler monkeys visit the resort periodically, but not while we were there. We did see a couple of iguanas that were amazing.
The grounds are immaculate and are kept in excellent condition. The staff were friendly and were always making sure that the hotel and grounds were kept clean. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    173
    77
    35
    48
See reviews for
170
132
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Okay but nothng special. The property is very large and it can be hard to get around. The best beach (Playa Blaca) is some distance away although the hotel does provide a shuttle every 30 minutes. Rooms are small but reasonably well appointed. Basic in-room amenities. The food is best described as mediocre. Grounds are well maintained. Several "hot spots" for free internet access.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

we are currently here at the Punta Leona resort and we're loving it. This is a family resort, clean, good food, quiet and beautiful. the property is set within a lush tropical forest with lots of wildlife and flora. we've been here a week already and will be staying another week and we are already dreading the anticipated departure. the rooms are small though but the service is great and everyone is very friendly and helpful. would certainly recommend this place and would consider returning although I would want to discover othe areas in CR

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lubbock,
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Stayed at hotel one night. This is a family type hotel. The apartment room was clean. The service is poor. We could not find our room and not one security guard could help us. We drove around looking, returning to the hotel reception area twice and still without any help on exactly where the room was. We finally found the room as the building is unnamed and unmarked. The security guard just outside the area apparently did not know where the room was.

We checked out. Thought we were leaving the property but no, the woman we checked out with did not check charge the additional charges on the room. We were stopped at the exit and forced to return to the reception area after finding this out (this is at least a five minute drive, mind you). I said run it over the phone. They said they attempted to run the credit card on file over the phone but it did not work. Attempted another one over the phone. Both these credit cards had worked the night before. Amazingly, they worked at the reception area. Just ridiculous. No apologies from the manager.

On the plus side, the beach is nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Firstly, a note about the tour company: I travelled with Air Transat/ Nolitours out of Toronto for the first time. I wasn't sure what to expect. I thought the air and hotel package was a great deal, so I wondered what "compromises" I might have to endure as a result of the price. (I am a frequent international business traveller, so I think I've experienced the full range of possibilities.) I was so surprised to find the travel to be comfortable and well-organized (from check-in, to courtesy sparkling wine on take-off, to good food, entertainment, and service on the flight, to efficient ground transfers on arrival). All representatives of the company were courteous, professional, and competent as well. Congratulations on the excellent service. I hope Air Canada is paying attention!

As far as the resort is concerned, it felt like an authentic insight into Costa Rican culture to me. (The resort is obviously a destination for Costa Ricans, since on the weekend, it was full of families we guessed had come to the coast from San Jose.) If you're looking for a 4-5 star hotel or gourmet food, this is not the place for you. You should be planning a trip to Europe. If you're looking for an unique experience in the thick of the rainforest; teeming with wildlife, with lots of options for outdoor activities, and basic, clean, and affordable accommodations, you will be very pleased with this resort.

We stayed in one of the stand-alone chalets, as we weren't on the all-inclusive package. These are basic and a little worn, but they include full kitchens and sitting areas, so we were able to cook for ourselves and relax in our rooms at the end of a full day.

The beaches and amenities at the resort are great and offer something for everyone, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and overall the resort feels safe and well-maintained. The beaches are about a 20-minute walk from most of the rooms. We enjoyed the opportunity to experience the outdoors in this part of the world and didn't use the shuttles once over the course of a week.

All in all, if you're interested in exploring Costa Rican landscape and culture, you will enjoy Punta Leona. We will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed as this hotel for its convenient location on the highway. The property is sprawling, but there are two beaches within walking distance.
The rooms were very expensive, but small. The check-in desk was understaffed and slow. When we arrived there was no parking space for our car. Perhaps this is a good place to stay for families with young children, but we were not impressed. Every other hotel we stayed in during our month-long trip gave better value than this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibolga, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Playa Blanca is incredible and makes you forgive all else about the "resort". Arrive early for a chair (free!). Beach disappears at high tide. Bring your own food/drink and stay in a condo with a kitchen. Arenas apartments were well located, but rooms back up to parking lot so it can be noisy if you don't use the room air conditioner. Played "musical cars" each night as front desk hands out multiple parking slips per unit, but there is only one (assigned) spot per unit. Family of loud (at night) lizards live in unit 3 (behind lower cabinets and banana picture) so request a different unit. You need a pass ("letters of transit" for Casablanca fans) to exit the facility at any time so stop at the desk before dining in Jaco or Hermosa.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Club Punta Leona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Club Punta Leona

Address: Playa Blanca | Punta Leona, Jaco 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Jaco
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Club Punta Leona 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel & Club Punta Leona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Club Punta Leona
Punta Leona Costa Rica
Punta Leona Jaco
Punta Leona Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel & Club Punta Leona Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Club Punta Leona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.