We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, I'll Have The Extra Shot Please!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Dogs

Surf Dogs
Frente Mandarina y Budget Renta Car o 200M Norte Pops Pasto Diaz - Jaco Beach | In front of Mandarina and Budget Rental Car or 200M North of Pops on the main Road in Jaco Ave Pastor Diaz. Jaco Beach, Jaco, Costa Rica
506 2643-3230
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #24 of 90 restaurants in Jaco
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are located 20M off of the road in front of Budget Rental Car. We have inside and outside dinning. Check out our Surf Board Dinner Tables.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yes, I'll Have The Extra Shot Please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Daiquiri Bar....yummy. Your choice of flavors....and a great 2 for 1 happy hour. I think it is 4-8 daily. Extra shot just $1 more. Food is good too. Chicken Wings muy bueno. Lots of sauce choices. Try it...you will be hooked like we are.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    47
    19
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEST Frozen drinks in Jaco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

You cannot beat the lunch special from 11-2 daily! Our group spent entirely too much time at Surf Dogs during our week stay in Jaco. The staff are very friendly and the service is EXCELLENT, which we found to be a rarity in Jaco. The Manager was very informative and really made us feel at home. The free WiFi was super fast and a major plus. This place is conveniently located towards the middle of the main strip, so it's a great place to stop and cool off on a hot sunny day. Surf Dogs was easily our favorite happy hour spot! Pina Colda with an extra shot of Guarro!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome drinks and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My sister and I visited this place a couple of times because we liked it so much. The staff was nice and spoke English and Spanish. They had great food and drinks for a decent price. There were some Costa Rican food options as well as some more American food options. They also have free WiFi!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman W, Owner at Surf Dogs, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for coming and the nice review. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

2x1 Daiquiris, lots of flavors to choose from.
It was a nice spot, nice atmosphere to relax and just chill with your friends.
The staff was super friendly.
Check out their specials and promotions.
Don't miss this place if you visit Jacó!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food and drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Loved the fried plantains and bean dip with their own special homemade hot sauce. The beer was always cold and they had a good selection of mixed drinks. Great place to connect to wifi and check your email.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Dogs also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Surf Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Dogs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Surf Dogs to your Saves list