We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neo Fauna

Neo Fauna
Jaco, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 42 things to do in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Went here with our 2-year old. He had lots of fun. The guide was nice, funny, and knowledgeable. Took lots of time to show us around, photograph some of the animals, etc. $20 felt a bit steep, but as with many tours in this area kids are free so that makes that a bit more acceptable.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    26
    2
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zephyrhills, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Naturalists' Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Perceptive minds in out-of-the-way places are like great jewels in the rough. Senor Jimenez is one very interesting and dedicated young man. I wasn't expecting to share Latin nomenclature for plants and animals, nor was I expecting so much more than a "touristy" look at a butterfly enclosure. Well worth the time if you'd like to meet a young scientist whom I fully anticipate great things of in the future.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Interesting animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Butterflies, frogs, snakes and more to be seen here. Guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Enjoyable stop in the Jaco/ Playa Herradura area.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Our tour guide was amazing. Very knowledgeable about all the snakes, turtles, spiders, butterflies , frogs and toads. We were pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed this. It is nothing fancy, just a walk through a local property where a lot of terraniums have been set up with different wildlife in them. Then, you take a short walk through the 'butterfly' section where hundreds of butterflies fly by. Our kids LOVED this. They got to hold snakes and see the butterfly cocoons. Our guide was a stand in, I think his name was Marisio. He was amazing, great with the kids and obviously felt strongly about preserving the local wildlife. The star attraction was a rescued monkey named cesar who would shake your hand and interacted with the kids a lot. I was very glad we went here.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Came here on a whim, totally worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My girlfriend and I passed the signs for Neo Fauna for 3 days while in Jaco. On our last day we were shopping in the area and decided to check it out.

We arrived the same time another group did and decided to do the $20 tour with them. We were presently surprised. We got to see about 6-7 snakes some of which were poisonous. Even got to hold 1. Then we did the same with frogs. Got to hold a red eye tree frog. The butterfly area was swarming with them. It was really cool see in it all up close. My favorite part was the poison dart frogs.

At the end the guide let me and my girlfriend hold Cesar the monkey they rescued that's in the reception shop. Check it out. $20 for about 2 hours was worth it. This was our last day of our 11 day trip to costa rica and we had only seen 1 of the frogs in Manuel Antonio that they had. Its worth it! Check out our pictures.

Sean-N-Tori

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neo Fauna also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Neo Fauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neo Fauna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.