We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neo Fauna

Neo Fauna
Jaco, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 46 things to do in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The tour guide, Randall, is very knowledgeable and personable. We learned a great deal and the time was well spent. Good value for the experience. Randall even taught me how to take better pictures with my camera!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    26
    3
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Neo Fauna Canopy Tour and Butterfly farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We drove down a dirt road following the signs which were directing us to the Neo Fauna Tour.
The signs were brightly decorated with butterflies, and easy to follow.

Arriving at the reception site we met our guide Randall Valverde. Randall was very knowledgeable, and made us feel as though we were actually part of a television documentary.

The trail through the canopy, was rough in places, though well worth the effort. As we walked along our guide pointed out several types of trees, and discussed unique qualities of each one.
For example, there was a type of tree I kept seeing around the countryside which was used as a fence row, and seemed to be deliberately planted as such. Turns out this tree keeps away certain pests.
Next, a plant growing close to the ground which looked like a fern, was pointed out. We were advised that we may want to video at this point. When the plant was touched, the leaves closed
instantly.
We took the trail to a waterfall which was running a little slow due to the time of year. None the less it was very interesting.

All along the trail there were so many interesting things to see, insects, birds, spiders, termite nests, and more.

When returning to the reception area, we went into the butterfly enclosure, and saw several examples. Randall discussed the life cycle, and mating habits of the creatures.
He also held a beautiful blue butterfly in his hand and different to differente the sex.
As we moved through, we came to what I call the nursery. There several cocoons were pinned to a wooden rack.The color, and look of the cacoon, denoted the type of butterfly which was growing inside. One was carefully brought down for us to touch. We could feel the butterfly moving inside, what a wonderful and educational experience.

When we left the butterfly area, we went to a viewing area where we saw small red frogs who had skin which was toxic and deadly to humans. We saw both dangerous vipers like the Ferdelance snake, and more harmless Boas. There was a great explanation and discussion on the type of head that a snake has, and how to tell if they were dangerous.
There was a bright yellow snake which looked like a bananna, and a thin black snake which looked like a whip.

This was a wonderful learning experience for both young and old alike, which I would highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very Informative and a great guide, Randall! A great educational experience for kids as well as adults.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cool creatures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Neo Fauna was very interesting. We saw many different snakes and frogs that we would not have seen if we did not visit this great place. I love that they help rescue the creatures. Randal was a wealth of information you could tell he really loved his job. It is more of a passion. He helped us get some amazing pictures, and had a great sense of humor. He kept things entertaining. It was pretty layed back atmosphere and it was only the 5 of our group on the tour. He did however have to leave a couple times because someone else drove up and the other guide was busy as well. It is a small place, but it has many great things to see. The butterflies were so beautiful. Worth the visit for sure.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
1 review
“Reptiles, Butterflies and Frogs ohhhh my!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Neo Fauna outside of Jaco, Costa Rica was a curiosity stop for us initially. Two km outside of Jaco following the brightly hand painted signs we were not sure if the attraction was going to be worth it. As you pull up it looks a little run down, but I'm REALLY glad we stuck in there. It's $20 for adults, and $15 for children. Randall was our guide, very funny, good with the kids and even speaks 3 languages (English, Spanish, and French) and is learning German. At the least, he is VERY PASSIONATE about his job! His depth of knowledge was a huge education. Allows close contact of the species and even handling of the non-venomous snakes. On top of that he loves photography and even threw in the free photography lesson with our new camera. The close up shots he got us are incredible (see below). It took about 1.5 hours and I have to say it was one of the favorites for our 7 year olds. Highly recommend!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neo Fauna also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Neo Fauna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neo Fauna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.