We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're a reader like me come here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jaco Library and Learning Center

Jaco Library and Learning Center
20 m north of Best Brands (Shoe Store), under the Beatles Hotel, Jaco, Costa Rica
506-8378-9978
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 9 Attractions in Jaco
Type: Libraries, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Jacó Library and Learning Center is a non-profit organization with a mission to promote literacy and education throughout Jacó, Costa Rica. Not only is it a library, but it is also a center where children can participate in reading groups, art and science projects, and various other fun and educational activities intended to supplement the learning they receive at school. In addition to programs targeting children, the Jacó Library and Learning Center also offers adults lessons in English and Spanish.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you're a reader like me come here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great stop for the reader. excellent selection of english books. And a healthy selection of used books for sale if you like me are headed to the beach. The deposit is a deposit but "come on" leave it as donation for a great service!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worthy of a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

So nice to see this well run center helping the local youth. Well worth a donation to keep the place running.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for locals to gain access to lots of learning material”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

locally sponsored and run, it is nice to see publicly accessible establishments that cater to locals and learning at the same time.

The library is conducive to reading, learning, exploring.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We live in Quepos but stop by a every couple weeks to change books. Liana is so accommodating and will come over even after hours because she knows we aren't from the area. it was something I loved to do as a child and now I can share that experience with my own kids. A good selection of both English and Spanish books.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A much needed service comes to life in Jaco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

It is a great opportunity for children and adults to be in a library atmosphere. Very active with children's learning. Special tutoring, story reading, science projects and nature of Costa Rica in general. Completely done by a wonderful lady named Liana and a handful of devoted volunteers. A must see for anyone that comes and wants to help the community!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaco Library and Learning Center also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Jaco Library and Learning Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaco Library and Learning Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.