We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posada (Mau Mar) during World Cup!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Jaco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Posada Jaco to your Saves list
Posada Jaco
Calle PJ, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
“Posada (Mau Mar) during World Cup!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I happened to be in Jaco when Costa Rica played in the World Cup and that was a fun time to be there. I watched games at the local restaurants and had a merry time watching the ticos celebrate there win. After they won a game, the streets filled up with cars and an impromtu parade broke out....

About the hotel, I stayed at the neighboring hotel, the Mau Mar. It is owned by the same people that own the Posado, Rob and Margaret. I was pleased to find the warmest and nice people there. Rob and Margaret were so nice and helped me find everything I needed in town. Rob was busy around the place keeping it shipshape, and they always had time for a brief chat. Margaret pointed out some local eateries.

I have to say some good things about the manager from The Netherlands, and I feel so stupid, but I forgot his name, and we became good buddies while I was there. He always offered to allow me to use the kitchen at the Mau Mar. He had very good insights about life in Costa Rica, as he is married to a tica. Both Rob and the manager were very knowledgeable about business and world affairs, and I enjoyed our morning talks. It was nice to have someone to converse with, since I was traveling alone, after dropping my daughter off at surf camp in Tamarindo.

Next time I am in Jaco, I am staying there so I can say hello to my new friends. My apologies for forgetting the name of the general manager, he was a really cool guy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. I to enjoyed our chats together and am so pleased you had a great time whilst staying with us. You are welcome back anytime.
Regards
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    12
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We paid about $70 a night so we were a little worried about spending it at first, but if you have some money then it's worth it. There's a bedroom, bathroom, and kitchen/living area with a couch, cooking area, tv and a little table to eat at. Breakfast isn't included but you can make you own on the skillet or microwave! The owners are very nice and helpful and speak English rather well.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your review on our hotel. We try to make everyone's visit with us enjoyable and are really pleased you were not disappointed with your stay with us. We hope if you are ever back in Jaco to come back and visit us.
Regards
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here for over a week during our recent trip. It was truly a home away from home.

Margaret and Rob (and Mau, the friendliest yellow lab) are wonderful hosts. The apartment had everything we needed (fully equipped kitchen, clean bathroom, closet space, tv, a/c, etc.), so when we got tired of eating out all the time, it was nice to get some groceries from nearby stores and dine on fresh fruits and fish. The atmosphere is more family- and couple-oriented, which we appreciated. The place is right where the main strip begins - meaning you're not smack in the middle of the hustle and bustle, yet it's there when you want to be a part of it. It's only 1 minute walk from the beach, and the place has its own clean pool for a quick dip as well. There are several car rental places nearby if you want to take a break from the ocean and visit some national parks.

Overall, we will definitely choose Posada Jaco again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Posada Jaco for 9 days in May 2014, just at the start of the wet season. It was really an ideal spot for many reasons. One: it is centrally located in the town and is a few minutes' walk to most restaurants, shops, and surfing companies. Two: it is about 2000 meters from the beach. You can see the waves from the second floor, in fact. Three: it was relatively inexpensive, clean, had everything we needed, including our own kitchen w/fridge, microwave, toaster, utensils + pots, clean bathroom, and A/C. There is even a pool to dip into to. We also used the grill a few nights for some delicious mahimahi. The owners, Rob and Margaret, are extremely helpful. They are kind and informative without being nosy or intrusive. Their dog Mau also adds to the homey-ness of the place. All around, it is very chill - not a place for partying. But perfect for access to town and beach. We will go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Your comments are greatly appreciated and reinforce the policies we have to make sure guests enjoy there stay with us. Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Regards
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Virgen, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed here on May 20th, 2014 after finding the listing on tripadvisor. I called to confirm availability and price and arrived the next day. The room was spacious with beds for 6 people and included AC, Fridge and TV. Located right in the center of Jaco and 1 minute walk to the beach. The bathroom was snug and not as clean as I hoped but for $50 it was a steal of a deal. Will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robbo2804, Owner at Posada Jaco, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. We try to keep all rooms as clean as possible and have taken notice of your comment regarding bathroom and will endeavor to make sure this is not a problem in the future.
Regards
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I spent 5 days there and the room was large, clean and comfortable. I was able to walk to
everything but still was far enough away from all of the noise and crowds. Perfect location.
So close to the beach that I could easily go for a swim/playtime when I first woke up and at the end of the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Jaco and were made to feel like part of the family from the instant we landed with Margaret and Robert and moe. This is a true family hotel the position is great and Robert and Margaret are always there to help with tours and any other advice.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Jaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Jaco

Address: Calle PJ, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Jaco. Beach and ocean views. Walk to restaurants and bars. Swimming Pool with swim up bar. All rooms come with kitchenettes. 24 hour security. Very quiet and private. Able to offer tours and special packages. Owner operated and run. 60 meters to the beach. Personalized service and friendly advice to make your stay memorable is guaranteed.24 hour reception for convenience of guests in booking in or out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Posada Jaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Jaco Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Jaco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.