We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perico Azul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Perico Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Perico Azul
Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great service, good quality rooms, 5 star service. The hosts are very nice, treat you like family and constantly make sure you have everything you need. Super! They couldn't make it any better - will definitely go back

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
51
35
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place is phenomenal! Communication prior to our trip was flawless. Mike and Celine are so friendly and will just hang out and chat with you. They also drove us around town and took us on a nearby hike which was a lot of fun. The pool was a great place to relax in the middle of the day. Would highly recommend the surfing lessons with Tortuga - great one on one instructors and you can tell they are really passionate about surfing. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is awesome. You can't find better hosts in Jaco Beach than Celine and Mike! My friend and I stayed for 3 nights and felt right at home. It was quiet and relaxing at the hotel, but not a far walk from the beach or hustle and bustle of town. We loved relaxing by the pool and using the kitchen to cook some yummy local food. Our room was perfect for the two of us - it was clean and tidy and the AC was a relief in the heat!

We also took a couple surf lessons with Mike during our stay (Tortuga Surf School is definitely the BEST in Jaco). We got one on one instruction both days and not a moment was wasted… Mike and the other instructors are very passionate about surfing and it was awesome to learn so much in a short amount of time. They even have a GoPro attachment on the surf boards and take pictures during the lessons - our pictures turned out awesome. That was a cool surprise! Celine and Mike gave us a lot of recommendations about what to do during our time in Jaco and the best places to eat. Celine took us on a drive around town when we first arrived to orient us to Jaco and make sure we knew our way back to the hotel - this was very helpful. She also gave us a few safety tips as two girls traveling together. We really enjoyed hanging out at the hotel with Celine and Mike and getting to know them and their animals. I sure hope to make it back again!

Thank you again Celine and Mike for welcoming us into your home and for your generosity during our stay. We loved our time in Costa Rica and can't wait to visit again. Pura vida!!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I found this place via trip advisor and within minutes of arriving I understood why it has such great reviews. Celine introduced Jaco to me when I checked in, then drove me around town to orientate me! Mike was an awesome surf instructor and I had a great time hanging out with him. The hotel is clean and cozy, it has everything you need from free WiFi, kitchenette in the room, communal kitchen and chill out area... And the location is perfect, just south of the main street so nice and quiet and a 2min walk to the beach where Tortuga surf camp is located.

All in all: Incredible value for money, I'd go back if not to surf, then just to hang out with Mike and Celine!

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

I can't begin to express how awesome my stay at Hotel Perico Azul was last week! I stayed for a total of 7 nights/8 days. I literally felt like I was living with family (except it was the type of family you never want to leave)! We had a transfers to and from the hotel set up. Mike and Celine took us everywhere! We surfed for 6-7 days, hiked, swam in the jungle, zip-lined, paddle boarded, etc. all with the camp! The owners were beyond gracious, helpful, and kind. I have never had a travel experience like this before. I was used to going away to a hotel and having random people pick me up for excursions, etc. This was totally different...Here, Mike and Celine came with us everywhere. They set up all the activities, and the biggest decision I ever had to make was choosing a bathing suit for the day! I literally relaxed my mind the entire time. Another awesome component of the trip was the video review! After surf lessons, we would get together and watch videos and view pictures of our surfing progress as a team. We asked Mike questions so that we could all improve our surf experience. The owners went above and beyond in every capacity. I can't wait to go back again soon!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We had a wonderful few nights at Hotel Perico Azul in Jaco. The little pool and lounge chairs in the courtyard were perfect to cool off away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Our hosts were gracious and attentive. The coffee and fresh fruit in the morning were lovely. The beach is close and beautiful - especially the sunset.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

This was our third surf trip to Costa Rica. We choose Hotel Perico Azul based on reviews from tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The location is perfect. Just far enough away from Jaco to avoid the hustle and bustle and close enough when you needed to get into town. The hotel is small, quite, clean and very secure. Mike and Celine go out of their way to make you feel relaxed and welcomed. They are very helpful in giving recommendations for restaurants and locations to catch waves. Although busy with the hotel and surf lessons, they found time to take us to a sweet and secluded break in Esterillos. Mike and Celine go above and beyond to make their guest feel appreciated. Thank you Mike and Celine - if we ever surf the Jaco area again, we will definitely be staying at the Perico Azul.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Perico Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perico Azul

Address: Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Perico Azul is a small cozy apt-hotel on the south end of Jaco Beach, with its boutique like looks and private location close to the mountains, El Perico Azul is surrounded by blush nature and many species of birds that will allow you to wake up to the sounds of Costa Rica's best tropical sounds. This awesome slice of heaven will transport you trough the life style and decorative architecture of this colorful country, it will allow you to live the culture, the warmth and the reason for this to be the happiest country in the world. Just 5 min walk from the beach, and 15mn from the town, our hotel is the best choice if what you are looking for is a quiet room with daily cleaning and a variety of amenities available to you. Our professional hotel & surf camp staff will walk you trough this experience to make you visit to Costa Rica one you will never forget, and most of all one you will want to resume many times for many years to come. Our facilities count with room with one double or two double beds per room, each and every room with their own bathroom and access to the guest's kitchenette.So if you are into adventure & extreme sports such as surfing the most popular sport on the country, or just looking for a spot to hang you towel and forget about the crazy city lifestyle, Hotel Perico Azul is your place to be...Look no further and get ready to discover places and sensations you never though possible, let us be your guide trough this amazing paradise, let us guide you trough the smile of its people and their everlasting " PURA VIDA" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Perico Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Perico Azul Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Perico Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.