We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem! Best Place in Jaco!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perico Azul

Save Saved
You added Hotel Perico Azul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Perico Azul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem! Best Place in Jaco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Me and my boyfriend just got back from a 7 night stay in Jaco. I don’t normally write reviews but I had to once we stayed here! We booked 3 nights with Celine because I had read such great reviews. We ended up extending our trip as soon as we arrived because this place is so amazing and you feel right at home. Not only was the hotel beautiful, clean and safe but Celine and Mike were just as welcoming. They were extremely helpful and 100% accommodating. Impeccable customer service. We borrowed bikes (for free) and took surf lessons at the camp with Mike. He is a great instructor and I highly recommend taking lessons with him when you stay! The prices were already very reasonable but both Celine and Mike did what they could to help us out (ie. Discounted surf lesson if the tide was not good and very cheap board rentals during the day).

The rooms themselves were extremely clean with fresh sheets, towels and flowers daily. The bed and pillows were comfy and the water was warm and had good pressure. The hotel had AC, tvs, and Wi-fi with a fully stocked kitchen that I wish we would have taken better advantage of. We were able to rent bikes for free and if we had any questions Celine and Mike were there to give suggestions and help us in any way. The hotel is a short 5 minute walk to the beach and a 10 min walk to town. Even though you are not right in the heart of the town the area is safe and the beach is quieter and less busy.

I would recommend this place to anyone who is staying in Jaco and I am going to stay here again in the future when I decide to come back! You are very lucky if you are able to stay with Celine and Mike in one of their 6 gorgeous rooms! Thank you very much Celine and Mike for everything and I hope to see you soon!

Room Tip: Email Celine about what you want and she will find the perfect fit for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
39
27
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We came to Perico Azul after spending a few nights in the heart of Jaco, what a welcomed change! The hotel has access (5 minutes) to a much nicer and less crowded beach. The kitchen is fully equipped and we took full advantage as we had gone fishing and brought back 5 mahi mahi! Celine is very accommodating, helpful and friendly.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, AR
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I always think, wow, if I were to run this hotel, I would do this or that and then it would be GREAT, because I would think of all the little things. Well, Celine already thought of them all.

I have traveled all over Costa Rica - and #1 any place with hot water and good water pressure has my vote. Then, normally in this climate, the rooms smell stale. Not these rooms! There are fresh cut, fragrant flowers in your room on arrival, and every morning there after. She has a place to put your stuff, a place to work on your laptop, a place to sit, a full length mirror, comfy beds, great pillows (not the lumpy kind that come from stale humidity) and the whole place is secure with a locked gate out front.

This is a small hotel so consider yourself lucky if you snag one of these 6 meticulous rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Perico Azul Hotel is a small, quiet, nice, and cozy place to stay. The room and the toilet are clean too. The pool is small but it is just nice for the amount of guests who stay in the hotel.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Celine (the owner) again. She'd probably still remember me who broke the toilet tank in the hotel room and GOSH it was really a 'nightmare'! But everything was sorted out in the end and that's very kind of her for not charging me nor asking me to bear the cost for a new toilet tank.

Thank you very much Celine! You're the best!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a cute small 6-room hotel two blocks from the beach and two blocks from the town center. It is located on the south end of town (the quieter end). It is a great place for a peaceful stay.

Every room is simply put together, air-conditioned, TV, internet, and spotlessly clean. Fresh flower blooms were placed each day as a nice touch. There is a small 5-foot deep pool in the nicely appointed courtyard that is perfect for cooling off. For us, after four weeks of traveling and eating out, the ability to use the kitchen here was a treat to make and prepare our own food for a change, though Jaco has lots of great restaurants.

The best thing about Hotel Perico Azul is the owners. Celine and Mike are amazing. So welcoming and so friendly. It is clear from the first moment through the last that they care 100% about each and every guest's well-being and experience. I have been traveling for 30 years, and their approach to customer service ranks among the very top of anywhere I have stayed.

By the way, Mike runs a top-flight surf instruction company called Tortuga Surf, so while you are staying here, be sure to take a lesson or two.

This is not the Hilton or Hyatt style hotel. It is better. The vibe is simple, and kind, and local. You absolutely have to stay here when you are in Jaco.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The best decision I made when booking my trip to Costa Rica was finding Hotel Perico Azul. From the moment I walked in and met The Manager Celine I knew my trip was going to be amazing. She was so friendly and made me feel at home from the moment I got there. The hotel has an amazing vibe, and everything you need. The location is ideal, two blocks from the beach and just a short walk into town. Celine was so knowledgeable about every attraction and anything you needed. I asked her about a zip lining Canopy tour and I was set up that very day. She arranged for them to pick me up at the hotel and bring me back after. She made it so easy for me and the whole thing was just $40. Also you need to check out The Tortuga surf school out of this hotel. If your looking to learn to surf Tortuga had the most knowledgeable instructors and it introduced me to more amazing people. Hands down this is the best place to stay in Jaco. But without Celine's amazing presence and hospitality my trip would not have been the same. Thank you for an amazing stay, and I'm already looking for the next time I can come back. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Perico for 2 nights in June 2013. I was traveling alone and very nervous about staying in safe locations and I could not have felt better once I arrived. The manager Celine was a dream. She took time to explain the ins and outs of the hotel and how to get around Jaco. I was able to rent a bike for $5 a day which was AWESOME. You can walk to town and the beach but the bike made it much easier to get around. My room was right beside the pool and had a queen size bed, beautiful bathroom, TV, AC and a small kitchenette with burner, sink and refrigerator. The hotel itself is very very clean and safe with security precautions. I travelled through out Costa Rica dor 7 days and this was by far my favorite place of them all. BOOK IT!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Perico Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perico Azul

Address: Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perico Azul 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Perico Azul is a small cozy apt-hotel on the south end of Jaco Beach, with its boutique like looks and private location close to the mountains, El Perico Azul is surrounded by blush nature and many species of birds that will allow you to wake up to the sounds of Costa Rica's best tropical sounds. This awesome slice of heaven will transport you trough the life style and decorative architecture of this colorful country, it will allow you to live the culture, the warmth and the reason for this to be the happiest country in the world. Just 5 min walk from the beach, and 15mn from the town, our hotel is the best choice if what you are looking for is a quiet room with daily cleaning and a variety of amenities available to you. Our professional hotel & surf camp staff will walk you trough this experience to make you visit to Costa Rica one you will never forget, and most of all one you will want to resume many times for many years to come. Our facilities count with room with one double or two double beds per room, each and every room with their own bathroom and access to the guest's kitchenette.So if you are into adventure & extreme sports such as surfing the most popular sport on the country, or just looking for a spot to hang you towel and forget about the crazy city lifestyle, Hotel Perico Azul is your place to be...Look no further and get ready to discover places and sensations you never though possible, let us be your guide trough this amazing paradise, let us guide you trough the smile of its people and their everlasting " PURA VIDA" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Perico Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Perico Azul Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Perico Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.