We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Perico Azul” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perico Azul

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hostelworld.com
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Perico Azul
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 hotels in Jaco
Newington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hotel Perico Azul”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great hotel on the south side of Jaco. Very clean and comfy. AC, hot water, cable tv, secure, full kitchen, coffee every morning, board rentals available. Walking distance from the beach, where they provide free chairs and umbrellas, 10 minutes north of Playa Hermosa by car. Celine is awesome and very helpful. Really happy I stayed there

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
34
24
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Google "Pura Vida" and you will find the meaning as "full life" or "plenty of life" or "this is living." Hotel Perico Azul and Tortuga Surf Camp fully embody "Pura Vida." The rooms are perfect. Simple, clean, comfortable, and everything you need. Location is an ideal starting point for many adventures. Playa Hermosa is 5 minutes away by car but I found myself surfing in front of Tortuga Surf camp often because it was fun and Michael and crew at the camp are the best. Anytime I had a question or needed anything, Celine, Michael or any of the other staff would appear within moments yet I rarely saw them. Their Pura Vida is contagious as all of the guests I met were great people with super attitudes which leads me to believe that all guests are vetted to ensure that they keep the riff raff away. One of my major concerns prior to visiting was being secure as I had many valuables with me (computer, headphones, ipod, ipad, camera, etc, etc). I am happy to report that I felt secure instantly and never once worried about my valuables. This trip was a working holiday for me so having stable Wifi was imperative. I am happy to report that the Wifi here was perfect for my needs and never did I experience down time. Sadly I only stayed 4 nights before I had to move on. No question I will be back but next time much longer. Thank you Celine and Michael (Tortuga Surf Camp) for teaching me and letting me experience first hand, "Pura Vida." Also thank you Michael for sharing Costa Rican culture and for trusting me with one of your surfboards even after I left the hotel. Because of you I was able to surf a decent board for my whole vacation which I really appreciated. I would highly recommend this boutique hotel to any travelers.

Room Tip: I think the only difference in rooms are size. Otherwise you cannot go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Long overdue review but Celine is amazing and runs a great shop. Excellent location, close to the beach and nightlife but far away to be quiet. It was very easy to drive to Manuel Antonio from here and it was stunning. This place is simply the best.

Room Tip: Plan ahead, they only take cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were only have to stay with Celine for two days, but it was perfect. Rooms were large, and ours had a fridge perfect to keep drinks cold for the beach. Bathrooms were clean- and hot water was a nice surprise! The pool and outside area was beautiful and perfect for relaxing.

Staff at the hotel and with their partnering surf school on the beach were so friendly. They were very helpful with the local area too!

Our gps was definitely not working right and we did get a bit lost. If you are on the main strip in Jaco facing the ocean, continue left, keeping the ocean on your right. You need to head just outside of town, making a right at the three story municipal building. The hotel is just down the road- make a left turn when you see the sign.

Great location- close to the beach and town, but far enough from town to avoid the noise.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingolstadt, Bayern, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Every time when i come to that place it's beautiful and i don't want to leave again..celine and mike created a lovely place with a relaxed atmosphere. It's close to the beach and to town..the rooms are clean and whenever you need something every one is really helpfull..

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I see why this place gets great reviews. First of all, Celine was the nicest host I have met in my month in Costa Rica. She was very helpful and kind and she had the cutest cats! Lula the cat came to visit in my room the day I left. The place was clean, secure and had a great friendly atmosphere. My room also had a kitchenette and a fridge. The communal kitchen is a nice feature. There is a pool and the hotel is a short walk to the beach and restaurants. Celine also gives her guests a card for free beach chairs with a local company, which I did not get to take advantage of. Great place and very affordable, I will stay here again next time I am in Jaco!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

During my first trip to Costa Rica I stayed 10 nights at Perico Azul. It's a fantastic place with friendly, helpful staff and a familiar and relaxed atmosphere. It's located close to the beach and Jaco center but situated in a quiet side street. Bright and friendly rooms that are very clean like the whole place. Celine and Mike made my stay simply perfect. Thanks a lot!!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Perico Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perico Azul

Also Known As:
Hotel Perico Azul Costa Rica/Jaco
Address: Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#3 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perico Azul 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Perico Azul is a small cozy apt-hotel on the south end of Jaco Beach, with its boutique like looks and private location close to the mountains, El Perico Azul is surrounded by blush nature and many species of birds that will allow you to wake up to the sounds of Costa Rica's best tropical sounds. This awesome slice of heaven will transport you trough the life style and decorative architecture of this colorful country, it will allow you to live the culture, the warmth and the reason for this to be the happiest country in the world. Just 5 min walk from the beach, and 15mn from the town, our hotel is the best choice if what you are looking for is a quiet room with daily cleaning and a variety of amenities available to you. Our professional hotel & surf camp staff will walk you trough this experience to make you visit to Costa Rica one you will never forget, and most of all one you will want to resume many times for many years to come. Our facilities count with room with one double or two double beds per room, each and every room with their own bathroom and access to the guest's kitchenette.So if you are into adventure & extreme sports such as surfing the most popular sport on the country, or just looking for a spot to hang you towel and forget about the crazy city lifestyle, Hotel Perico Azul is your place to be...Look no further and get ready to discover places and sensations you never though possible, let us be your guide trough this amazing paradise, let us guide you trough the smile of its people and their everlasting " PURA VIDA" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Perico Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Perico Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Perico Azul to your Saves list