We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of my trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perico Azul

Save Saved
You added Hotel Perico Azul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Perico Azul
Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
“Best part of my trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at Perico Azul because of the good reviews I read on TripAdvisor. This place is a gem and was the highlight of my trip--I stayed for 4 nights and surfed for 3 days. As a solo female traveler I felt very content staying here. I liked having access to a kitchen--it felt like a home rather than a just another hotel. Mike and Celine are awesome and go out of the way to make sure everyone is happy. I look forward to returning and would tell anyone going to Costa Rica to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
40
27
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed in Jaco for three days (2 nights). I came across Hotel Perico Azul via tripadvisor and chose it for its high ratings and affordability. But the place turned out to be more than that!! Mike and Celine - the two most amazing people you will meet, will go out of their way to make your trip a memorable one - which has indeed been the case for me. Everything from canopy tours to surf classes to restaurant recommendation, they will help you arrange it. The hotel is located 5 min (or less) walk from the beach. They have bikes for rentals too!! The hotel has a nice cozy feel to it. The room was comfortable, with good air conditioning and clean linens and towels. You also get access to lounge chairs and umbrellas at the beach courtesy of Tortuga Surf Camp. If you do take lessons (which I highly recommend) you will be amazed in how much you can learn in just 2 hour lesson plus Mike will hook you up with sick video and photos. Will go back there in heartbeat.

Room Tip: Book early in advance because the rooms go fast here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are headed out this morning after spending the weekend here. We are not surfers yet, but stayed here because of the reviews and cost. We will come back because they are all true. We wanted to be close to town without being smack dab in the center or sealed in a western-style hotel chain. The room was cool and clean, with a small kitchenette inside: fridge, hot plate, utinsels and pans. There is a full kitchen for all to use, sort of like a hostel. The pool was a welcome break from the beach and the others guests (mostly surfers) were friendly and communal.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just planned to stay at Perico Azul for one night on the way to our final destination but we loved it so much that we changed our plans and booked another stay at the end of our trip. My husband was ill and the owners Celine and Mike went way above and beyond expectations to help us out. We are back home now and are already planning how we can return to this delightful hotel. Next time we plan to take advantage of the surf camp!

Room Tip: The best rooms seem to all be for couples only although the owners were very welcoming to our son.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

When I travel, I don't spend a lot of time in the hotel room so I am mainly concerned with impeccable beds, quiet rooms, clean bathrooms and helpful staff. Perico Azul has it all and then some. I am a fan!
Perico Azul is relaxed and collegial or familial depending on your stage in life. Celina and Mike work hard and we, the guests, are the beneficiaries. Celine is the absolutely splendid French hostess who goes out of her way to provide recommendations and help with other tours, accommodations etc. Her partner, Mike, who is Costa Rican, runs an excellent surf school-Tortuga Surf Camp. They also have 2 friendly cats and 2 well behaved dogs. Recycling is encouraged.
The simple rooms are spotless, comfortable and have good air conditioning. The linens and towels are good quality. Interestingly, the headboards, doors and drawers are made of solid wood slabs. No cheesy particle board! There is also a hostel style room with bunks. There were "non-smoking environment" signs which I appreciated but when a Finnish couple arrived who smoked, the signs disappeared.
The common areas are immaculate. Fresh flowers decorated the coffee area, the lounge chairs, bbq dining table and the tables outside our rooms each morning. There is a wonderfully outfitted communal kitchen, an indoor and outdoor living area, small refreshing pool and barbeque which increases the opportunities for camaraderie and sharing meals with other guests.
The others surfers in my sons class who were staying there, were friendly people that we fell in with immediately. I think it has to do with the type of people (outgoing, responsible, budget conscious adventure seekers-not party-ers) that are attracted to or looking for this kind of accommodation. The crew of guests was internationally diverse and interesting.
Celine recommended good places to eat. She arranged for 4 of us to take yoga classes at a nearby resort with a terrific yoga instructor for $10 a session which is what I would pay locally for drop-in yoga classes. She also figured out a secure place to park a rented scooter.
They also have bikes that can be rented. Surf boards and boogie boards can be rented at the beach surf camp headquarters and there are lounge chairs and umbrellas there too.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room. It is on a quiet side street but still only about 3 blocks fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and i just returned from 2 weeks in jaco. We only planned on staying a week but, from the moment we arrived at Perico Azul we knew we wanted to stay longer. It was two glorious weeks at this treasure of a hotel. We were so comfortable and happy we just didn´t want to leave. Celine and Michael were wonderful hosts. The hotel is on the south side of Jaco and is very peaceful and quiet no matter how crazy it is in the town center.
This hotel has so much to offer to make ones stay memorable. To begin with it its cozy and clean with a sparkling pool. Every ammenity we could ask for: air conditioner, fan, cable TV, bicycles (gratis), small kitchenette in our room (other rooms are available with more beds and no kitchenette). There is also a full kitchen with all the cooking accesories one needs as well as a couple of setting areas (one inside one outside). The security is great, so one need not worry while out enjoying the ocean. At the beach there are chairs and umbrellas available (gratis), next to their other business run by Michael,The Tortuga Surf School. Michael and his right hand man, Douglas, were so kind. Michael speaks great english and is very helpful. It was fun watching the surf lessons. Besides lessons, one can rent surf or boogie boards there.
Lastly, Celine is a beautiful lady who will make any stay unforgettable. She speaks french, spanish and english.
This place has a great vibe. It is an incredible value. We will spend next January there for sure..You can not go wrong.
Terry bush and Jim Wiseman

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've been traveling for years using TA as an indispensable tool and felt it was the time to give back!!
First off, we were supposed to stay for 2 nights .. ended up staying 10! The place is wonderfully kept , very clean and close to the quieter south part of the beach but still only a 10 min walk to the center of Jaco. What can i say ?! getting up in the morning, a short walk from the surf.. parrots flying overhead, iguanas chilling on the side of the road.... You can surf, hike , atv, motor bike , fish ...all within walking distance! There is also a great restaurant about 30 seconds away (open noon and diner).The hosts are perfect and really tend to your needs! Celine takes care of the hotel and Micheal takes care of the surf camp (awesome teachers, they can put ANYONE on a surfboard....). Great team! Never felt more at home away from home. They helped us with ALL of our reservations ! very kind and useful! We will be back !

Room Tip: we had a small kitchen and a small fridge in our room (2) but there is also a big kitchen with a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Perico Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perico Azul

Address: Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#6 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Perico Azul is a small cozy apt-hotel on the south end of Jaco Beach, with its boutique like looks and private location close to the mountains, El Perico Azul is surrounded by blush nature and many species of birds that will allow you to wake up to the sounds of Costa Rica's best tropical sounds. This awesome slice of heaven will transport you trough the life style and decorative architecture of this colorful country, it will allow you to live the culture, the warmth and the reason for this to be the happiest country in the world. Just 5 min walk from the beach, and 15mn from the town, our hotel is the best choice if what you are looking for is a quiet room with daily cleaning and a variety of amenities available to you. Our professional hotel & surf camp staff will walk you trough this experience to make you visit to Costa Rica one you will never forget, and most of all one you will want to resume many times for many years to come. Our facilities count with room with one double or two double beds per room, each and every room with their own bathroom and access to the guest's kitchenette.So if you are into adventure & extreme sports such as surfing the most popular sport on the country, or just looking for a spot to hang you towel and forget about the crazy city lifestyle, Hotel Perico Azul is your place to be...Look no further and get ready to discover places and sensations you never though possible, let us be your guide trough this amazing paradise, let us guide you trough the smile of its people and their everlasting " PURA VIDA" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Perico Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Perico Azul Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Perico Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.