We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sweeeeeeeeet! early Jan 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perico Azul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Perico Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Perico Azul
Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“sweeeeeeeeet! early Jan 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've been traveling for years using TA as an indispensable tool and felt it was the time to give back!!
First off, we were supposed to stay for 2 nights .. ended up staying 10! The place is wonderfully kept , very clean and close to the quieter south part of the beach but still only a 10 min walk to the center of Jaco. What can i say ?! getting up in the morning, a short walk from the surf.. parrots flying overhead, iguanas chilling on the side of the road.... You can surf, hike , atv, motor bike , fish ...all within walking distance! There is also a great restaurant about 30 seconds away (open noon and diner).The hosts are perfect and really tend to your needs! Celine takes care of the hotel and Micheal takes care of the surf camp (awesome teachers, they can put ANYONE on a surfboard....). Great team! Never felt more at home away from home. They helped us with ALL of our reservations ! very kind and useful! We will be back !

Room Tip: we had a small kitchen and a small fridge in our room (2) but there is also a big kitchen with a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
42
27
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siblingen, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

first i booked for four day...but after the first day it was already clear...i wanna stay longer..the rooms are super clean they have AC ,cable, ventilators...and for me most important..shower with pressure ;) celine the owner and michael are super friendly and helpful and made feel very confutable during my stay.when iam going back to jaco this hotel is my first choose..
muchos gracias de nuevo..y nos vemos...
Daniel Kubler Suiza

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have been staying at the Perico Azul for 2 nights and it was fantastic. The owner is a very nice French woman, who is always available to help for whatever question we could have. She gave us a map of Jaco and explained us everything we had to know about the place. The hotel has a surf school with super cool teachers who will really take the time to show you how be a good surfer and not get hurt. Finally, a beach chair is included in the price room so you can enjoy every second on the beach. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for just the 1 night but really loved staying here. It is only a small hotel but has a nice pool in the middle with the rooms surrounding it. The people who run it are super nice and very helpful in explaining everything about the area and the surf camp on the beach. Our room was very clean and looked like it had been recently renovated. Only a short 10 minute walk into the centre of Jaco but there is a restaurant right next door which is meant to be nice although I never tried it myself. Our room had a kitchen and fridge although I dont think all rooms do so might be worth booking if you plan on cooking but there is also access to the large and well equipped communal kitchen.
Recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ours had a kitchen so check which room you book if that is what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I arrived in Costa Rica not really knowing where I was going or what was to be done/seen. The only thing I had was my week reservation at the hôtel. I was supposer to stay there for a week but I ended up staying for three weeks because the hôtel was very cleań, very Nice rooms, with all the confort needed, a pool, etc.
Céline and Mike have been very kind to me all the time, showing me all the things to do, where to eat, where to go out, best walks to have a very Nice view of Jaco, best waves.
I then left for a two weeks tour around Costa Rica and they helped me planning it and guiding me.

It really is a nice place to stay in Jaco, calm, confort, security (which was very important to me),big rooms with everything needed, very nice team in the hotel and met loads of people there! It was a very good choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I was supposed to stay at the Perico Azul for three nights and ended up staying for three weeks. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the same goes for the common areas. Its just a 5 minute walk to the beach where their in-house surf school has a set up where you can rent boards, get lessons or just hang out. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the hotel has a very open and friendly vibe. Mike and Celine who run the place are really great and will help you with any questions you might have!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I just came back from Jaco a few days ago. This hotel is neat, simple and clean, it has a kitchen with a good stove and fridge. Owners and employees are really nice and so is the pool. I definitely will came back if they have space next time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Perico Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perico Azul

Address: Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#5 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Perico Azul is a small cozy apt-hotel on the south end of Jaco Beach, with its boutique like looks and private location close to the mountains, El Perico Azul is surrounded by blush nature and many species of birds that will allow you to wake up to the sounds of Costa Rica's best tropical sounds. This awesome slice of heaven will transport you trough the life style and decorative architecture of this colorful country, it will allow you to live the culture, the warmth and the reason for this to be the happiest country in the world. Just 5 min walk from the beach, and 15mn from the town, our hotel is the best choice if what you are looking for is a quiet room with daily cleaning and a variety of amenities available to you. Our professional hotel & surf camp staff will walk you trough this experience to make you visit to Costa Rica one you will never forget, and most of all one you will want to resume many times for many years to come. Our facilities count with room with one double or two double beds per room, each and every room with their own bathroom and access to the guest's kitchenette.So if you are into adventure & extreme sports such as surfing the most popular sport on the country, or just looking for a spot to hang you towel and forget about the crazy city lifestyle, Hotel Perico Azul is your place to be...Look no further and get ready to discover places and sensations you never though possible, let us be your guide trough this amazing paradise, let us guide you trough the smile of its people and their everlasting " PURA VIDA" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Perico Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Perico Azul Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Perico Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.