We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perico Azul

Best prices from these 5 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Perico Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Perico Azul
Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I arrived in Costa Rica not really knowing where I was going or what was to be done/seen. The only thing I had was my week reservation at the hôtel. I was supposer to stay there for a week but I ended up staying for three weeks because the hôtel was very cleań, very Nice rooms, with all the confort needed, a pool, etc.
Céline and Mike have been very kind to me all the time, showing me all the things to do, where to eat, where to go out, best walks to have a very Nice view of Jaco, best waves.
I then left for a two weeks tour around Costa Rica and they helped me planning it and guiding me.

It really is a nice place to stay in Jaco, calm, confort, security (which was very important to me),big rooms with everything needed, very nice team in the hotel and met loads of people there! It was a very good choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
41
27
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I was supposed to stay at the Perico Azul for three nights and ended up staying for three weeks. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the same goes for the common areas. Its just a 5 minute walk to the beach where their in-house surf school has a set up where you can rent boards, get lessons or just hang out. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the hotel has a very open and friendly vibe. Mike and Celine who run the place are really great and will help you with any questions you might have!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I just came back from Jaco a few days ago. This hotel is neat, simple and clean, it has a kitchen with a good stove and fridge. Owners and employees are really nice and so is the pool. I definitely will came back if they have space next time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Me and my girlfriend were supposed to stay at Hotel Perico Azul for 3 nights, we ended up staying there for 2 weeks.

The environment is perfect. It is calm and relaxed and you get to meet a lot of nice people that are travelling. The rooms are clean and nice and you can decide by yourself if you want to have a small kitchen in them or not. Outside the rooms, you have a small area with a pool and a sofa where you can hang out during the days when you're not at the beach, which is great. They also have a big kitchen that you can use that is fully equiped.

Perico Azul is located 3 minutes from the beach and 5 minutes from the Jacó town, which is great because you don't hear the noise from the bars at night but you still don't have to take a cab.

They also have a surf school at the hotel, called Tortuga Surf School. I surfed with the school almost everyday, which was one of the best experiences of my life, The school can honestly teach anyone how to surf, it doesn't matter how old you are or in what phisical condition you're in. You can have classes with them or only rent boards. If you want to learn how to surf or improve your surfing skills I strongly recomend the Tortuga Surf school.

Last I just want to say that the staff at Hotel Perico Azul/Tortuga Surf is awesome. There are mainly 3 people working there: Celine, Mike and Doggy. They helped us out with everything and they're wonderful people with big hearts.

If anyone is going to Jacó, Costa Rica you HAVE to stay at the Perico Azul and try out the surf school because it's the best!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I think it is one of the best hotels in Central America - familiar, comfortable and with relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are a bit small but it is definitely worth to stay there. The owners are extremely polite and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently had the great pleasure of staying at Perico Azul. From the beginning to the end everything exceeded our expectations.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. You can get a room with or without a kitchen. The hotel is a ten minute walk from the center of town and a block away from the beach.

The couple that run the hotel, Celine and Mike are extremely accommodating and friendly. The hotel and its staff have a very personal vibe. It has a nice pool and a communal Kitchen that everyone has access to as well as a seating area with a hammock where a lot of guests like to hang out. It has a laid back atmosphere so if you are looking to party all day and night this is probably not your place. But if you are really looking to experience Costa Rica the right way Perico Azul is the way to go.

When we arrived we had only planned on staying at Perico Azul for 3 days and we were only supposed to stay in Costa Rica for 1 week. We ended up staying fin Costa for two weeks and staying at Perico Azul the whole time.

Mike and Celine make it such a special experience for everyone who stays there. They go above and beyond to make everyone's stay unique. They took us on hikes, zip lining, to different surf beaches, on little adventures, they took us to the best places to see sunsets, they had advice on what restaurants to go to and where to go for various activities. They even allowed us to participate in rescuing some turtle eggs and taking them to a shelter. Mike also runs the surf camp there and is an incredible teacher.

We literally had the time of our lives and our experience would not have been the same if it were not for Mike, Celine and Perico Azul. You aren't just a room number and a credit card like you are at a big resort when youre at Perico. It feels like you are staying with family.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone that I could. You will never regret staying there!!! If you really want to experience all that Costa Rica has to offer , without a shadow of a doubt, this is your place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Although a lot of the guests here are attending the surfing camp, Tortuga Surf, this place still works out just fine if you only want a hotel. We stayed one night and it covers all of the basics. Simple but pleasant and sufficient rooms with parking. Small pool and lots of sun space for drying out bathing suits. Owner and staff were very friendly and helpful, even with a short notice reservation. We also took a surfing lesson with Mike who was awesome. I recommend this place for young vacationers who want to be thrifty but still want to stay above the 'hostel' scene. No included breakfast but there was coffee, and the town isn't far and the hotel has a little communal kitchen if you need a fridge or a microwave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Perico Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perico Azul

Address: Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#6 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Perico Azul is a small cozy apt-hotel on the south end of Jaco Beach, with its boutique like looks and private location close to the mountains, El Perico Azul is surrounded by blush nature and many species of birds that will allow you to wake up to the sounds of Costa Rica's best tropical sounds. This awesome slice of heaven will transport you trough the life style and decorative architecture of this colorful country, it will allow you to live the culture, the warmth and the reason for this to be the happiest country in the world. Just 5 min walk from the beach, and 15mn from the town, our hotel is the best choice if what you are looking for is a quiet room with daily cleaning and a variety of amenities available to you. Our professional hotel & surf camp staff will walk you trough this experience to make you visit to Costa Rica one you will never forget, and most of all one you will want to resume many times for many years to come. Our facilities count with room with one double or two double beds per room, each and every room with their own bathroom and access to the guest's kitchenette.So if you are into adventure & extreme sports such as surfing the most popular sport on the country, or just looking for a spot to hang you towel and forget about the crazy city lifestyle, Hotel Perico Azul is your place to be...Look no further and get ready to discover places and sensations you never though possible, let us be your guide trough this amazing paradise, let us guide you trough the smile of its people and their everlasting " PURA VIDA" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Perico Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Perico Azul Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Perico Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.