We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best expirience Ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perico Azul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Perico Azul to your Saves list
Hotel Perico Azul
Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Best expirience Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Every time I go to this hotel i wish i could stay longer.... its a really nice and super clean and comfortable,. highly recommended. theres some really good restaurants near, and also bars to spend a good time, or you can go and walk in the sand and listen to the waves or surf, its an amazing place and the people in the hotel are always really nice. I love this place...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
41
27
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was my first visit to Costa Rica and thanks to the amazing staff at Hotel Perico Azul & Tortuga Surf School I had an amazing time. They went above and beyond to show me around and to make my trip extremely enjoyable. If you want an amazing experince you won't forget make sure you stay here!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel Perico Azul turned out to be an excellent choice on my part. Mike was an excellent host. Especially when we consider that I showed up bleeding, after stubbing my toe ridiculously badly, in the rain. He quickly got me sorted and showed me to my nice, clean, and comfortable room. The next day he pointed me in the right direction to grab a great breakfast for $4 and even bought me what we are now calling Costa Rican Redbull from a local market.

During my two day stay Mike made the Perico Azul the most inviting environment that I could ever hope to be in. I hung out by the Tortuga Surf Camp, where I plan to take surf lessons with Mike, and was even invited to go to an MMA training session with some locals. If you are in Jaco and not staying at the Perico Azul you're missing out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The place is clean, comfortable and exceptionally well maintained so that everything just works.

The people are friendly, welcoming, and helpful, and they know Jaco very well.

The location is away from the busier night-life part of town, (still only a 3 minute taxi though), so is more tranquil and natural, and best of all is only 5 minutes walk to the best entrance point for all levels of surfer to the waves.

The Tortuga Surf School which operates out of Perico Azul set up their tent on the beach there every day, and if you ask nicely will take care of your keys and shoes while you surf, which is a very valuable service – on my first day I didn’t recognize their tent, and left my shoes on the beach. They of course walked off on their own and I ended up running home barefoot from shadow to shadow. The ground does heat up round there!

I came to Jaco to find a board to take with me elsewhere in Costa Rica, and I have to say that Mike from the surf school was invaluably helpful with this. Not only is he expert on boards, but he knows all the surf shops and local shapers well, and he gave all the boards I came back with a valuation that for me was a total eye-opener. He did this numerous times, until eventually I came back with a board we were both satisfied with!

There is a good big kitchen in the hotel, but I'm a dedicated fan of economical Sodas, and with the help of the manager Celine I found some really good ones here. The top 3 sodas, in my opinion, in Jaco, are : Isago, Rustico, and Garabito. Ask Celine where they are. Isago's menu makes it more of a restaurant than a soda, but their casados are cheap and delicious.

Also, on your stroll in to Jaco to shop, don’t miss the batido lady on the left, just beside Soda Acachete, I planned to try everything on the menu there but got stuck on Watermelon, Strawberry and Lemon, the first thing on the menu. The best smoothies anywhere.

I had a great 10 days here, and am very grateful to Celine and Mike for making it so great. The only downside to staying in Perico Azul is that you may stay longer than you had planned!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My family and I visited Costa Rica and stayed in Jaco for 1 week, Jaco is great but being with my family I wanted to make sure we were in a family friendly environment. I found this comfort at the "Perico Azul" The service was excellent the people were so nice and attentive. We were perfectly located very close to all the restaurants, shopping and the beach. The hotel was decorative, clean and even had a pool!!!!
I will be booking a stay at the Perico Azul for my next visit and I encourage you and your family to do the same!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very nice place with super friendly owners. Clean, calm and close to the beach. Also, excellent choice if you like surfing as the hotel has the same owners as Tortuga Surf School. At Perico Azul you will feel like home!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPericoAzul, Manager at Hotel Perico Azul, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your input! we where honored to have you guys over and we hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Hotel Perico Azul is the best place to stay in Jaco. Celine is the best host, she took care of all of our needs and any problems we had! The hotel is lovely, very quaint and cozy, and very clean!! There is a kitchen for cooking, nice showers, and a pool! The hotel is in a nice walks distance from the main strip but enough off the beaten path to feel safe and homey. The hotel works in conjunction with Tortuga Surf School and Celine helped us set up surf lessons and helped teach us, too! Although we only stayed for one night, it was probably the best hotel we stayed in our whole trip and we wished we could have stayed longer. Thank you Celine!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the dorm room with many girls which was very nice and clean. Lock boxes are provided. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPericoAzul, General Manager at Hotel Perico Azul, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
It was awesome to have you guys with us and i most say! you guys where true warrior during your lesson, conditions where rough and yet you guys stood like champs all the way trough.
We hope you visit us again! Thank you so much for your kind remarks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Perico Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perico Azul

Address: Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Perico Azul is a small cozy apt-hotel on the south end of Jaco Beach, with its boutique like looks and private location close to the mountains, El Perico Azul is surrounded by blush nature and many species of birds that will allow you to wake up to the sounds of Costa Rica's best tropical sounds. This awesome slice of heaven will transport you trough the life style and decorative architecture of this colorful country, it will allow you to live the culture, the warmth and the reason for this to be the happiest country in the world. Just 5 min walk from the beach, and 15mn from the town, our hotel is the best choice if what you are looking for is a quiet room with daily cleaning and a variety of amenities available to you. Our professional hotel & surf camp staff will walk you trough this experience to make you visit to Costa Rica one you will never forget, and most of all one you will want to resume many times for many years to come. Our facilities count with room with one double or two double beds per room, each and every room with their own bathroom and access to the guest's kitchenette.So if you are into adventure & extreme sports such as surfing the most popular sport on the country, or just looking for a spot to hang you towel and forget about the crazy city lifestyle, Hotel Perico Azul is your place to be...Look no further and get ready to discover places and sensations you never though possible, let us be your guide trough this amazing paradise, let us guide you trough the smile of its people and their everlasting " PURA VIDA" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Perico Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Perico Azul Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Perico Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.