We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Perico Azul

Save Saved
You added Hotel Perico Azul to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Perico Azul
Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
South of Jaco Beach, Costa,Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I would have liked to keep this place secret, but that wouldn't be fare. and i wish that my vacation wasn't so short cause i would have stayed. Quaint ,Cozy, Romantic,Clean, not at all like home because if i wanted home i would have stayed home. I wanted a place close to the beach, I wanted Tropical, I wanted to learn how to Surf in a short time, and most of all i wanted to RELAX. The Perico Azul small boutique hotel gave me all that and more. Mike and Celine really care about how you pass your time. Their recommendations were spot on, from dinning to their Tours knowledge i had no worries. Pet friendly good people. Mike is the most excellent and professional SURF Instructor out there. We seen many other surf instructors on the beaches. But none of them really take care of you while on the beach or in the waters. I stood up on the board on my first try. Cant say more. I highley recommend This beautiful Place. Thanks Mike and Celine I OWE you big TIME.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPericoAzul, General Manager at Hotel Perico Azul, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you SO much!
We are so happy to see how much you enjoyed your time over with us, and truly hope you come back and enjoy this tropical paradise and all it has to offer!
Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
40
27
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

A bit out of the town of Jaco, but for those who like to escape the bussy bubbling town, it's the best option you can get.

With 6 private rooms and a dorm, it's not that big, and feel cosy and relaxed. The dogs and cats gave it a a feeling like being home.
There's a big kitchen so if you want you can prepare your own food, and the pool is great to jump in or you can just chill in the hamocks.

I love the people working here, as they help you out with questions you might have, and made our stay great.

As a surfer I love the fact that there's an inhouse surfschool, so if you would like to rent boards sign up for surfing lessons, you are at the right place, Tortuga surf school is the best in town, with certified instructors, that makes sure you'll be standing on your board and at the same time care for safety ( which not all schools do in Jaco )

For us it was the best choice, and we stayed here form over 1 month although at first we were not planning to stay that long!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPericoAzul, General Manager at Hotel Perico Azul, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
From all of us at Hotel Perico Azul, we would like to thank you for your input!, it was our pleasure to have you over and like you said we do love surfing and hosting for our guest!
Our main aim is to allow the guest to get a home like feeling with a classic Costa Rica touch to it! we are glad to see people respond to what we do and they way we do it.
Hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is the best place to stay if you like a little quieter place and the greatest staff. This was such a clean and comfortable place to stay. Walking to the beach only blocks away and the pool was perfect. I wish I had more time to be there. It was truly a treat and I just loved hanging out with the other people who stayed there. There were people who were there to also take in the Surf school. We even had a barbeque one night with everyone. Great!

Room Tip: They all seem great to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPericoAzul, General Manager at Hotel Perico Azul, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We are real happy you found humble hotel clean & conformable! we take real good care of our units and making sure everything is spotless is a big deal to us as it should be..
Its a great thing you had one of our surf camp BB Q's, its a huge tradition and a great way to bond with surfers and customers alike.
Thank you for your awesome input and we wish to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

A hotel with a lot of character, the owner and staff create a fantastic atmosphere you feel right at home, a great kitchen and lounge to use with cable tv if you don't feel like being in the room and always so clean, really nice pool and outdoor area, bikes to rent, and just excellent value. They also have a surf school with awesome instructors who have a tent on the beach just two mins from the hotel in a great location and they'll ensure you will just have the best time. Terrific.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPericoAzul, General Manager at Hotel Perico Azul, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you very much!
Our TV lounge and outdoors area have become the hang out highlight for many our our visitors, its on our best interest that this amenities (Pool, Bikes, Kitchen-TV lounge & Surf) are always in the best presentation possible and available for you guys to enjoy.
We appreciate your comments on them; and we are happy to see you enjoy them, please visit us sometime again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My husband and I along with my parents stayed here from Feb. 13 - 28th. We walked the beach in the mornings, cooked our breakfasts and lunches in the shared kitchen, hung out at the pool or garden, and in late afternoons we walked into town for shopping and dinners. Small grocery store handy. Fridge in the room & air conditioning was appreciated. Bus route close by. Owner very informative & accommodating!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPericoAzul, General Manager at Hotel Perico Azul, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you Very much for your excellent review!, and the pictures!
Taking the time to send us your input is highly appreciate it by us, and we hope you do visit us someday again!
Ps, thank you for all the good books too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel about 8 years ago when it was owned by Larry & Kathy. This is not your traditional best western or hilton. If your looking for something a little smaller, quiet and off the beaten path then this is perfect for you. It was clean,quiet, and had a nice pool! The beach and town are with-in walking/biking distance. We loved Jaco and everything it had to offer. The food in the area is the best I've ever had and I've been on a lot of vacations. The ceviche was delicious! There is so much to do here - we went surfing, horseback riding up the mountain, on a zip line tour, rented scooters, and so much more. We couldn't have asked for a more adventurous vacation!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPericoAzul, General Manager at Hotel Perico Azul, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank You for your great comment!
Its great see over and over people talking about their great experiences in our town, from the food, to the adventure sports and outdoor activities, we are glad to fill those necessities and get some good feedback from it, thanks again!
And please Do come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruxelles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We've been on that hidden place a bit outside of the noisy city and spent great time in Jaco thanks to them!!The hotel is cosy and clean with a lot of tropical lush around and a nice barbecue place and we surfed with Céline & Michael such great teachers for both beginners like us, thank you again!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPericoAzul, General Manager at Hotel Perico Azul, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you So much for your review! To us is really important to get some feedback from our customers and have them share some of the experiences they get during their time in our country! We hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Perico Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perico Azul

Address: Ave Pastor Diaz(main Strip's south end) | Calle (St) Santana, Jaco 506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jaco
#6 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Perico Azul is a small cozy apt-hotel on the south end of Jaco Beach, with its boutique like looks and private location close to the mountains, El Perico Azul is surrounded by blush nature and many species of birds that will allow you to wake up to the sounds of Costa Rica's best tropical sounds. This awesome slice of heaven will transport you trough the life style and decorative architecture of this colorful country, it will allow you to live the culture, the warmth and the reason for this to be the happiest country in the world. Just 5 min walk from the beach, and 15mn from the town, our hotel is the best choice if what you are looking for is a quiet room with daily cleaning and a variety of amenities available to you. Our professional hotel & surf camp staff will walk you trough this experience to make you visit to Costa Rica one you will never forget, and most of all one you will want to resume many times for many years to come. Our facilities count with room with one double or two double beds per room, each and every room with their own bathroom and access to the guest's kitchenette.So if you are into adventure & extreme sports such as surfing the most popular sport on the country, or just looking for a spot to hang you towel and forget about the crazy city lifestyle, Hotel Perico Azul is your place to be...Look no further and get ready to discover places and sensations you never though possible, let us be your guide trough this amazing paradise, let us guide you trough the smile of its people and their everlasting " PURA VIDA" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Perico Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Perico Azul Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Perico Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;