We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Place!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cocal Casino

Hotel Cocal Casino
Jaco, Costa Rica
011- 506 2643-1201
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 42 things to do in Jaco
Attraction details
CLEARWATER
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible Place!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I wanted to take a night to ourselves and decided to check this place out. I have been to Vegas many times, but have never ever seen so many prostitutes in one place at the same time. It was literally crawling with them. The casino is small and feels dirty and dingy. We stayed for about five minutes to finish the drink we had ordered. Too bad, because the outside pool area is really nice, lighted areas around the pool, a DJ, etc. We were both creeped out by the swarming girls who had very few customers in low season, apparently. UGH!!! Definitely don't get near the place if you have kids with you.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    18
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Casino where? Did I miss it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The casino has 6 table games and maybe 40 slot machines. This place is really the head quarters for employable companions.

Casinos are for entertainment purposes only and this one provides the entertainment just not in the form of gambling.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A joke of a casino”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This place was a joke! It is super small with about 30 slot machines. The guys were disappointed there wasn't blackjack tables and they actually played a game called rummy that they didn't like. If your looking for hookers then this place is for you! We stayed a short time and couldn't wait to leave!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Seaside Dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great seafood and dine al fresco on the beach. Great food and service prepared and presented beautifully.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Hookers galore”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and his cousin love gambling so we thought we would go here — a group of eight total — for dinner then stay to play. Wrong. We sat down for dinner on the beach. So far, so good, that is, until the hookers started showing up in droves. First there were two at the bar, one spread eagle at the bar, showing the goods. Another group of eight (all men from what appeared to be the Jersey Shore) sat diagonal from us, drooling over the ladies of the night. It only got worse as we finished dinner and headed into the casino. The three girls in our party and I started tallying hookers, but quit when we reached about 30. We were the only women there who were not selling sex. So, families and couples steer clear. Dirty, old men, have at it. Eww.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Cocal Casino also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Hotel Cocal Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cocal Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.