We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service lacking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Daystar Center Jaco

Daystar Center Jaco
Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
1-888-760-9898
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 12 Attractions in Jaco
Type: Convention Centers
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: OCEANS Center in Jaco Beach, Costa Rica has opened its doors as the premier Private Event and Performance space centrally located on the central Pacific coast, one hour from the capital city of San Jose.The Event Center features a flexible, multi- purpose interior floor plan on 2 levels, with a removable main stage. Maximum capacity is approximately 200 inside with adjacent outdoor areas for larger events.Oceans Center’s amenities include state of the art technology, fiber optic cable and high speed wireless internet, off street parking and a wide range of affordable catering options.Oceans Center also serves as a Cultural and Community Center and home to Teatro Jaco with a 135 seat theatre space. Under the direction of Darren Lee Cole, a NYC and Jaco based producer with over 30 years of producing experience in New York and London, Teatro Jaco will “Bring the world of entertainment to Jaco”.
Zanesville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service lacking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had to go back several times to address problems in our unit. Answer was they are independently owned...well, my belief is if they are renting it, it should be up to par..We have stayed at vacation homes in the Bahamas and Cabo and they were always well kept. The girls were surly and unattentive, not sure if it was a language barrier, but just not very hospitable..yet were eager to sell us tours.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Center Jaco, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi Donald. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you might have had while staying with us. The condos are owed by individual and if you rent directly from the owner we are not able to move you and don't always have control of the quality of the unit. At the end of the day there is no excuse that you left our property not being satisfied and that our front desk didn't provide the service that you expected. If you make it back to Jaco I would like to offer you to stay with us again so we can make it up to you. Thank you for the comments as this only helps us to get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
World
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Went to a live show at Oceans Center. The center is nicely decorated and well air conditioned. The show I saw was alright, but nothing too exciting. I can't quite remember the name: "17 Border Crossings" maybe? Check it out if you like live theater productions. Hopefully they will soon realize that their prices are a bit too expensive and they will make it more afforadable.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Theatre in Jaco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Amazing little theatre in the center of Jaco, Teatro Jaco was playing shows in English. I thought it was excellent quality.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“New York theater came to Jaco, Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We saw a wonderful play called "Canterbury Tales with a Hip Hop Fusion". Understandably we didn't know what to expect but ended up being totally impressed. It was a wonderful performance and we were able to meet and talk to the performers after the show at the Poseidon Restaurant. It is a beautiful building and the director has a lot of exciting projects coming up that will combine local actors along with actors from the US. Performances are available in both English and Spanish. Add a little culture to your Costa Rica vacation!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco Beach
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very cool venue for entertainment in Jaco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Beautifully detailed, this little gem of a theater space also hosted a VIP party last weekend with music and dancing on two levels.
Private, contemporary and a great sound system.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daystar Center Jaco also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Daystar Center Jaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daystar Center Jaco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.