We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tuanis

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tuanis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tuanis
Calle Girasol just 50 meters from the deep blue Pacific Ocean in Jaco Beach Costa Rica, Jaco 1-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Jaco B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT STAY HERE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Not even sure to begin.....first off I wouldnt waste your money to stay here.
The room itself was so small..the bed was hard, very uncomfortable, and small. The photos on their website are very decieving. We had a chair in our room...a round one that would be suitable for a 7yr old.
If you enjoy having cold showers...then this is your place! Took about 15mins to get hot water...and when it finally did, it was scorching boiling hot. Absolutely no temperature control. the bathroom is so small that the door needed to be closed if you wanted to use the sink..and would need to move to open the door.
The room is DIRECTLY off the street...literally opens to the side walk. and windows covered in bars. the wood door did not seal therefore you could see light around every side of the door. I could hear what everyone was saying all day...and hear all the road noise and party people ALL night long. it was horrible. and if we can hear them..they can clearly hear us. We had the pleasure of listening to the owner and son fighting outside our door because he didnt clean as much as he was asked to. Very professional.
We had a extremely hard time asking the desk lady anything..which would explain the troubles and confusion we had from day one trying to book it. I understand we are going to a country that speaks spanish..but mostly every place you go they speak some english.
They advertise free calling to Canada and US...that would be great..if there was a phone in the rooms.
DONT STAY HERE! Save your money. Yes it is close to beach, buy overall not worth the headache

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

The owners of the hotel and the receptionist are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice and clean. It's a quiet place in the center of Jaco. We would go there for a second time.
The price is good, compared with other hotels in Costa Rica. The city of Jaco is nice, people there are friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just an all around fantastic experience. Ricky was extremely personable and accommodating. We couldn't have enjoyed Jaco as much as we did without Tuanis as our home base. He helped plan our interests with ease, even guided us with the public buses and stayed at the bus stop to make sure we got the right one. Clean room, awesome staff, great location! A few steps from the beach, and perfect spot for walking the streets of Jaco. As our first time in Costa Rica, we couldn't of asked for a better experience. We will definitely be returning and bringing more there with us!!! Thanks Ricky for everything you did to make our vacation a lifetime to remember! Pura Vida

Room Tip: Depends on your needs. There are rooms available with or without a kitchen. Any of them are worth ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Clean, nice and comfortable. Was what we need, in Jaco downtown.
The breakfast was great, it's at Taco Bar. Close to everything and not in the right middle of Jaco.
There is parking for only one car per room, but the rest of the cars stay in front of the hotel with a security guard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We had such an enjoyable stay! We originally planned to stay one night but ended up staying three because we did not want to leave! The staff was very accommodating and the hotel was very comfortable! As someone that travels frequently I have never felt so comfortable,I highly recommend this hotel!

If you are an overly cautious traveller this hotel offers a security guard at night and is in a peaceful area. If you are a traveller on a budget this hotel is definitely worth the nightly rate and the has extra perks. You will definitely enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked one night at Tuanis, but because of unforeseen circumstances were unable to stay at the hotel proper. Rick and the rest of the Tuanis staff were great and made sure that we were comfortable in an alternate location owned by the management only steps from the hotel. So I can't review Tuanis per se, but I can tell you that the hospitality is top-notch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

lovely place, nice quiet part of town, friendly owner and staff. Clean and comfortable. Rick is really a great guy. Always made sure we had anything i needed, real helpful with providing information on sights and places i should see. I definitely will stay here if ever in the area again..safe and secure thats for sure.

Room Tip: stayed in 2 different rooms in the back , both were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tuanis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tuanis

Address: Calle Girasol just 50 meters from the deep blue Pacific Ocean in Jaco Beach Costa Rica, Jaco 1-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuanis Aparthotel, a unique family owned and operated residence hotel that caters to all your every need while traveling in Jaco Beach. Cleansiness and personal service are the top priorities here at Tuanis because we want you coming back to us every time you pass through Costa Rica. Tuanis provides accommodations for the single traveler, couples, families , large groups in even bachelor parties. Tuanis is an earth and environmentally friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tuanis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tuanis Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tuanis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.