We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend Tuanis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tuanis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Tuanis to your Saves list
Hotel Tuanis
Calle Girasol just 50 meters from the deep blue Pacific Ocean in Jaco Beach Costa Rica, Jaco 1-1000, Costa Rica   |  
Ranked #7 of 19 Jaco B&B and Inns
1 review
“Highly recommend Tuanis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We had such an enjoyable stay! We originally planned to stay one night but ended up staying three because we did not want to leave! The staff was very accommodating and the hotel was very comfortable! As someone that travels frequently I have never felt so comfortable,I highly recommend this hotel!

If you are an overly cautious traveller this hotel offers a security guard at night and is in a peaceful area. If you are a traveller on a budget this hotel is definitely worth the nightly rate and the has extra perks. You will definitely enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked one night at Tuanis, but because of unforeseen circumstances were unable to stay at the hotel proper. Rick and the rest of the Tuanis staff were great and made sure that we were comfortable in an alternate location owned by the management only steps from the hotel. So I can't review Tuanis per se, but I can tell you that the hospitality is top-notch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

lovely place, nice quiet part of town, friendly owner and staff. Clean and comfortable. Rick is really a great guy. Always made sure we had anything i needed, real helpful with providing information on sights and places i should see. I definitely will stay here if ever in the area again..safe and secure thats for sure.

Room Tip: stayed in 2 different rooms in the back , both were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Nice spot "apparthotel", nicely decorated, spacious, it had ac, tv, a full kitchen, living room, private pool.. It was very close to the beach.. Anything we could ask for! Ricky was the best! Will come back next year for sure!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from staying at Tuani's. it was an absolutely amazing stay. Rooms were very clean and spacious. Hotel owner Ricki did above and beyond what any guest could ask for enhancing our overall experience of Jaco! Already looking forward to my next stay there!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Got back a week ago...spent 2 weeks in Dominical (Pacific side)..1 week on the Carribbean side
.and a couple days in San Jose. But the 3 days we spent in Jaco at Rick's place were absolutely the best. Tuanis is sooooo clean and safe and friendly. Rick is an incredible host and so helpful with any questions or problems you may have. So great to be able to
park our rental cars inside the hotel grounds and not worry about them. The beach was
visible from our balcony and we enjoyed watching everyone coming and going up and down
the street. The Italian restaurant across from Tuanis was one of the best meals we had in
Costa Rica and the ambiance there and at Tuanis was wonderful. The rooms are decorated
so interesting...along the lines of "designer" hotels now popular in big American cities. Loved
everything about Tuanis ... especially our hosts Ricky and Laura. We were a group of
2 mothers, 3 adult daughters and one extra friend.

Room Tip: All the rooms at Tuanis were different and all good. Some had kitchens and some didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I have stayed at Tuanis several times , each time better then the last . Rick and Laura have a way of making everyone feel special and will go above and beyond to insure their guests have a pleasant and relaxing stay . From the security to the cleaning staff you are made to feel welcome. The hotel is always so clean and inviting , the pool crystal clean. The beach is less then a minute walk away,the center of town is only a 7 minute walk . With a fast WiFi and has great cable television. I enjoy the Italian restaurant across the street the gym and surf shop on the corner. Rick has connections all over Jaco and beyond to set you up with any activity the area has to offer. The hotel is designed eco friendly ( which i personally like ) and it shows. Every time i come the hotel looks and feels better then when i last stayed. From time to time you find people who enjoy what they do , i get that same feeling from Laura and Rick they truly take pride in what they do .Iv'e stayed in other hotels in Jaco and know what I'm talking about , Tuanis is my favorite . I will always return to Tuanis . Pura Vida / Pure Life !

Room Tip: Iv'e stayed in almost all the rooms at one time or another , they each have there own separate c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tuanis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tuanis

Address: Calle Girasol just 50 meters from the deep blue Pacific Ocean in Jaco Beach Costa Rica, Jaco 1-1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuanis Aparthotel, a unique family owned and operated residence hotel that caters to all your every need while traveling in Jaco Beach. Cleansiness and personal service are the top priorities here at Tuanis because we want you coming back to us every time you pass through Costa Rica. Tuanis provides accommodations for the single traveler, couples, families , large groups in even bachelor parties. Tuanis is an earth and environmentally friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tuanis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tuanis Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tuanis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.