We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wahoos Bar ^ Restaurant

Wahoos Bar ^ Restaurant
Across street from Beatle Bar jaco main St, Jaco, Costa Rica
26431876
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 93 restaurants in Jaco
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best dish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My family and I went to Wahoos one night. Be careful - there is another place with the same name on a side street. This Wahoos served a dish called Carribean Mahi. Simply the most amazing dish we had eaten in a long time. We went back two more nights - each time thinking we would try something else - and each night ordering the same dish. Simply perfection! We've tried to make it ourselves. We come close - but not close enough. The woman who took care of us (maybe the owner) was an absolute delight and took great care of us. This is a DON'T MISS when in the Jaco area!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    98
    16
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
1 review
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

relaxed place great food &staff chefs attitude makes you feel wlecome very cool todd made our group a very special meal for 12 we were overwhelmed with his enthusiasam

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Todd's the man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Great food, awesome environment, and one of a kind staff. Todd is a great chef and the selection is wonderful. We love this place! Can't wait to be back next year. Ahi to die for. From Viral Sound and friends at jungle jam!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Went to Wahoos after seeing it on Trip Advisor Chef is from a resturant in Virginia Beach and personally explains the specials. The best tuna appetizer I have ever had (two ways tuna) The meal of lobster with prawns and fresh veggie was magnificient. Very nice service as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“BEST HAPPY HOUR FOOD ANYWHERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

With a doubt, the best fish taco and grilled shrimp - mac and cheese you have EVER eaten.

Chef Todd has done an outstanding job.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahoos Bar ^ Restaurant also viewed

 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Wahoos Bar ^ Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wahoos Bar ^ Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.