We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beauiful, well managed and maintained oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Ranchos

Save Saved
You added Hotel Los Ranchos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Los Ranchos
Calle Las Olas, Jaco 22, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Jaco B&B and Inns
Golfito, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A beauiful, well managed and maintained oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Los Ranchos as a 'last resort'. We were traveling in Costa Rica and needed an affordable place to spend 2 weeks where we could have our two dogs with us. Erik and Viktor the desk clerks spoke to us several times on the telephone and were very helpful and cooperative. Their English is excellent which really helps! When we arrived at the hotel we immediately noticed that the place was an oasis of peace in the bustling and sometimes rowdy town of Jaco. It is 40 meters from the beach and 30 from the main street; perfect for both and far enough tucked in to make it out of the way. We stayed for three weeks, and enjoyed every minute. The grounds are perfectly maintained, the daily maid service is quick and efficient and the staff are extremely helpful. If it had a restaurant we may have never left except for the occasional walk on the beach :) The ratings don't allow 'not applicable' for fitness center and room service so this is not an accurate total.

Room Tip: The cabinas are worth the extra money. They are very roomy with a separate bedroom and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel was just steps from the beach and within walking distance of everything! The pool was really fun and relaxing even though an iguana pooped on my friend while he was swimming! The rooms were very spacious and clean even with a small little kitchen that did the job. Loved the friendly staff and the beautiful ocean views nearby!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Just off the Beach, within walking distance to everything, very nice staff, and helpful, quite large rooms. Very private location, and a very tropical setting.b
Value for money the best.
Burn

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

These 'cabinas' were our best find during our stay in Costa Rica. The staff was amazing, friendly and courteous. Our room was large and very clean, our beds were comfortable and the pool surrounded by a beautiful garden was fantastic, even though we spent all of our time in the ocean instead, which was steps away. We called it "home" for our 3-day stay in Jaco. We loved this place so much that we decided to stay there at the end of our trip when we returned to Jaco to surf for our last few days in the country.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Los Ranchos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Ranchos

Address: Calle Las Olas, Jaco 22, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in Jaco Beach on the central pacific coast of Costa Rica, well known as the most popular beach destination. With an excellent location within just a few steps to the beach Hotel Los Ranchos offers the best choice for your accommodations with comfortable rooms at unbeatable rates. Our family hotel embraces the beauty of nature with stunning green areas among exotic local tropical plants, world class surfing in the area and the most exotic native birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Los Ranchos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Ranchos Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Ranchos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.