We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, well done menu, with vegan options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wok

The Wok
Calle Central | next to Budget Rent A Car, Jaco, Costa Rica
506 2643 6168
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 101 Restaurants in Jaco
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We are a healthy fusion of fine Asian cuisine from various countries of SE Asia.We serve an excellent variety of fresh vegetables,meats ,fish and shellfish,for vegetarians we offer as well tofu, sitake mushrooms and bamboo shoots ,all our sauces are homemade and your meal is prepared in our open outside kitchen.You will be pleasantly surprised by the different flavours that we can offer you in the best true Asian-Fusion restaurant in town; see you at The Wok!!
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Small, well done menu, with vegan options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stopped to eat at The Wok, for the first time, based on the amazing smells. The service was great. Simple menu with a focus on the basics. The owner was interesting to talk with.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    34
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Tortuga, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Healthy Eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I travel to Jaco at a average of once a month for business and have it in my schedule to stop for lunch at The Wok.I find the food and service excellent .After a meal I feel satisfied and with the feeling of just indulging in a very healthy ,fresh ,clean meal ,something that does not happen from your typical fast food place .
On any future trips to Jaco with friends ,our lunch will always be at The Wok.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Simple Chinese inspired food with other Asian elements. Run by a friendly Dutch guy who didnt mind to take time to share a beer and some stories and local information. Good, basic noodles with a lot of choice as to adjust the dishes to get exactly what you want. Ate fish sexond time here and was very fresh and nice, and simply but well prepared.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Jaco, but that's not saying much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Slightly better than the other Chinese restaurants in Jaco, but really not that good. Reasonably priced.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Little Diamond in this Surf town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Passed by this small and cozy restaurant by accident. Me & friend was lured by the impeccable & wonderful smell so we decide to go back and try their food. It was typical Chinese cuisine. Simple menu, Small dining area but very cozy at night with open kitchen and overlooked the Main road in Jaco town. The owner "Sir Lee" (He was joking around and told us that's his Chinese name but he was from Holland originally!) Such a great gentleman & we enjoyed both the food & conversation. Even though the menu is kinda small compared to regular takeout or eat-in Chinese restaurant, but I felt that's what makes the place so special. I like to introduced the chef as well, We believed she is from Jaco town and she wasn't Chinese but she sure cooks like one. We love this little place & will definitely go back in the future. Thanks again for the wonderful night Sir Lee.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wok also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.