We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Sidewalk Cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe del Mar

Cafe del Mar
Avenida Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Costa Rica
26431250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 121 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Seating, Waitstaff
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint Sidewalk Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Small sidewalk café with good food. A favorite with tourists as you can dine while watching the many sites on the main drag.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasFilly811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“dishonest, cheater. Owner is a liar and will take advantage of you.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went fishing and caught 13 large fish. After filleting and cleaning the fish ourselves, we brought over 30lbs of fish to this restaurant and they agreed to cook some of it for us if we gave them the rest of the leftover fish. We ate less than 5lbs of it and left the rest for the owner, and at the end of the meal, she still gave us a check for over $100. She said it was a service charge, even though we had an agreement that she would be able to keep the leftover fish. We watched her serve our fish to other customers and charge them for money, we saw her serve our fish to her friends and neighbors who all gathered for a meal, and then she still charged us more than if we had come to her restaurant empty handed. The owners name is Rosi. We were hoping to build a good relationship with a local store owner, but in the end, unfortunately she is a liar and a cheat, and would steal from anyone at any given chance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossyjaco, Propietario at Cafe del Mar, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Google Translation
el cliente trae el pescado y quiere que le regalen las guarniciones , hasta trajeron sus propias bebidas, vinos, tequila ,siempre en mi negocio se le cocina la pesca del dia a los clientes se le cobra las guarniciones , vegetales, pure de papa, ensaladas, hielo para sus bebidas mantequilla con ajo el pescado cocinado en 3 formas diferentes , y el no queria pagar por nada, mi negocio la especialidad es el mahi mahi los clientes vienen a comer aqui este plato y el decia que yo le estaba regalando su pescado a mis amigos y vendiendolo a mis clientes , me senti insultada, pueden ver mis criticas de los demas clientes y veran que solo el habla mal de mi restaurant sera que era un cliente muy joven y no sabe el trabajo que hay detras de cocinar y atender una mesa para 8 personas jovenes y alegres por el licor que estaban tomando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The food was fantastic although the bartender didn't now how to make a margarita. The service and atmosphere was awesome.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“open atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

good menu choices and good service. Drinks were made like- to order- they should be. Food was okay but not original.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharon36605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

On a daily basis, I take my little man Harley for a cup of the best coffee in Costa Rica. Fire up the IPad, surf the web and enjoy

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe del Mar also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cafe del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing