We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Costa Rican Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe del Mar

Cafe del Mar
Avenida Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 106 Restaurants in Jaco
Cuisines: American, Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Decent Costa Rican Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Breakfast at Cafe del Mar was good and at a good price. The cafe con leche was made on an espresso machine with excellent Costa Rican coffee. We ate there twice, one waitress was sharp and understood the concept of sunny side up (eggs are usually served scrambled or over easy), the other relied more on cuteness which did not make up for dumbness.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaco, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Coffee and desserts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nice place for a afternoon coffee and dessert. They have a daily special which is also very good. I recomended it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice friendly place to stop for after dinner chats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Owner Rossie always there to welcome and chat. Great hamburger and good local style meal selections. Cafe con leche is the best in town. Good for breakfast also. Very reasonable prices for Jaco

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“get the typical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

went here 2 times in a week got the typical and shared a continental w a friend great coffee and service with a smile hope to be back next time in jaco for sure again get the coffee u will be amazed its almost like a latte so so good

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast wasn't great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at a hotel just a couple blocks away and had tried a couple different places for breakfast and thought we would try this one out. We sat for a bit and i had to grab my own menu, and once the wait staff did come they did not seem very friendly. Food did come quick and the coffee was great, but food was OK. BUT it did seem cheaper than other places that we had gone to. I wont go back, but it wasn't terrible, I never did have supper so i have no comment on that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe del Mar also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cafe del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.