We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly place to stop for after dinner chats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe del Mar

Cafe del Mar
Avenida Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 100 Restaurants in Jaco
Cuisines: American, Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
White Rock, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice friendly place to stop for after dinner chats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Owner Rossie always there to welcome and chat. Great hamburger and good local style meal selections. Cafe con leche is the best in town. Good for breakfast also. Very reasonable prices for Jaco

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brick, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“get the typical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

went here 2 times in a week got the typical and shared a continental w a friend great coffee and service with a smile hope to be back next time in jaco for sure again get the coffee u will be amazed its almost like a latte so so good

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast wasn't great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at a hotel just a couple blocks away and had tried a couple different places for breakfast and thought we would try this one out. We sat for a bit and i had to grab my own menu, and once the wait staff did come they did not seem very friendly. Food did come quick and the coffee was great, but food was OK. BUT it did seem cheaper than other places that we had gone to. I wont go back, but it wasn't terrible, I never did have supper so i have no comment on that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great place to have coffee while skyping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Didn't eat, so I can't speak for the food, but the coffee's great (REALLY good coffee w/ steamed milk for about 700 colones). We came here several times to use their WIFI connection, which was just fast enough to allow Skyping with our kids back home. Overall I'm happy with the place and if I ever come back to Jaco, will probably visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in Jaco for 8 days and sampled many restaurants. This food was the best, and it was almost the cheapest. Great value.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe del Mar also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cafe del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.