We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast wasn't great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe del Mar

Cafe del Mar
Avenida Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 100 Restaurants in Jaco
Cuisines: American, Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Red Deer
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast wasn't great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at a hotel just a couple blocks away and had tried a couple different places for breakfast and thought we would try this one out. We sat for a bit and i had to grab my own menu, and once the wait staff did come they did not seem very friendly. Food did come quick and the coffee was great, but food was OK. BUT it did seem cheaper than other places that we had gone to. I wont go back, but it wasn't terrible, I never did have supper so i have no comment on that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great place to have coffee while skyping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Didn't eat, so I can't speak for the food, but the coffee's great (REALLY good coffee w/ steamed milk for about 700 colones). We came here several times to use their WIFI connection, which was just fast enough to allow Skyping with our kids back home. Overall I'm happy with the place and if I ever come back to Jaco, will probably visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in Jaco for 8 days and sampled many restaurants. This food was the best, and it was almost the cheapest. Great value.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Terrible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Came to this cafe based on Tripadvisor reviews but unfortunately this is the first time that Tripadvisor has let me down. Service here was very slow and unfriendly, bordering rude. Food was mediocre at best.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Thank-you Trip Advisor for sending us here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I found ourselves in Jaco on our way to a family vacation in Dominical.
After a day of traveling we woke up and wanted a good cup of coffee.

Thank-you Trip Advisor and other Reviewers for writing about Cafe Del Mar.
We had breakfast there on our way to and from our week-long holiday, and I agree with the other reviewers, and feel the need to say this with All Caps:
THIS IS THE BEST COFFEE WE HAD IN COSTA RICA!

Everything about Cafe Del Mar works for a traveler.
The food is fresh, tasty, and inexpensive.
The location of the restaurant is easy to find, and there is street parking right in front.
We parked across the street and could see our car the entire time during both visits.
There is wi-fi and you can get coffee to go.
The fresh fruit is so good - as others have said, get the fruit plate on the side if you don't go for the Continental breakfast. It is really yummy!

If you are in Jaco, or driving along the Central Pacific Coast and want either breakfast or coffee, you should definitely seek out Cafe del Mar.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe del Mar also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cafe del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.