We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, amazing people. They make you feel like you're at home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Hills Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Forest Hills Suites to your Saves list
Forest Hills Suites
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Herradura, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Jaco B&B and Inns
Magnolia, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, amazing people. They make you feel like you're at home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at Forest Hills Suites for four nights in March 2012. We were the only people staying there at the time, so it was like we had an entire mansion to ourselves. They even upgraded us to a larger room for free because we were the only guests booked at the time.

The grounds of the hotel are secluded, but it isn't too far out of the way from the main attractions in the Jaco area. Jaco beach is less than a five minute drive from the hotel. We had rented a car, but if you don't have one they can tell you how to get around.

Erika the concierge was very kind and welcoming, and she made sure to show us all the places to see in the area. She showed us some tours we could take and we chose to go to the Island of Tortuga on our last day staying with her. She made all of the arrangements and even paid the company for us. (The tour never happened because Jaco 360 failed to pick us up, but that was through no fault of Erika. You can read my review of Jaco 360 to see what happened there.) Each day when we returned she was always there to see how our day was and make sure we had everything we needed.

Aside from offering us tours, Erika also told us all about the area and the best places to go to see the sunset, the best and least expensive place to get authentic Costa Rican food in Jaco, the location of secluded beaches, how to see animals in the nature reserves without paying tour guides. She wasn't just interested in getting us to spend out money - she wanted to make sure that we had a good time and enjoyed our stay in her country. I really appreciated that.

Breakfast of fresh fruit, juice, coffee and toast was provided each morning - Erika even made sure breakfast was ready early the day we were supposed to go on the tour. At night when Erika was not on site, there was a security guard patrolling the property though it hardly seemed necessary. We were safe as could be in the home, but I appreciated that they went through the trouble to have someone there at all times.

The hotel is beautiful, the grounds are lush, Erika is a perfect hostess. I am so glad we stayed at Forest Hills Suites and I would enthusiastically recommend Forest Hills Suites to anyone. I want to go back myself.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestHillsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Hills Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Come on back! We’d love to have you stay with us again. Thank you for the thoughtful review and for passing along your kind words about Erika. We are glad you found the location to be convenient and close to the local attractions while providing you with a secluded and safe environment. You’re welcome back anytime. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

You know how when you return from a vacation and you feel desperate for the good vibes to stay with you as you sit in your office and daydream about it? That's how I feel right now as I write this review.

I just returned from a stay at the Forest Hills Suites and must say I left my heart back there. It is the most tranquil and beautiful place I’ve ever stayed in. The ceilings and closets are all constructed of a gorgeous dark wood (which our friend, who is an expert on types of wood, said were really good quality… I wish I’d asked what kind of wood it was!), while the arched windows throughout the house give it an airy and open feeling. The tiled floors throughout the mansion and on the patio in the lush backyard were immaculate, and the maid did an excellent job of making the beds and cleaning up each day.

My favorites parts about staying at FHS were waking up early, sitting on the balcony of our master suite, listening to the tropical birds float around me, admiring the gorgeous flowers all over the back yard, and watching the sun slowly rise above the lush hill facing the house while I ate fresh papaya. I also loved sharing dinner and tropical drinks with friends on the patio by the refreshing pool.

I brought a couple bottles of deet bug spray…. But of course I didn’t use a single drop on this vacation! The bugs didn’t come near us at all when we were at the house, which is amazing because its surroundings are so lush.

The master suite has an incredible brick vaulted and domed brick ceiling—it was like nothing I’d ever seen before, and my husband and I loved to gaze at it (and the dozens of local paintings in the room) as we drifted off to sleep each night. It also has an attached private bathroom with a huge bathtub and overhead shower with perfect water pressure--a rarity in Costa Rica.

Erika, the house manager, did an incredible job with organizing day tours and excursions for us—and she was very fast to respond to any emails we sent her with our millions of pre-trip questions! She is so animated and kind, and she convinced us to take an excursion to Manual Antonio National park—a trip we weren’t planning to make, but that turned out to be our favorite day in Costa Rica. She also organized the following for us, all of which I very highly highly recommend:

1) Villa Caletas for the gorgeous sunset. The grounds of the hotel are amazing and you watch the sunset into the Pacific—just incredible. The interior of the hotel didn’t impress me, and we were all glad we’d booked at FHS instead of spending a lot more money to stay there.
2) Isla Tortuga—an awesome day-long trip to a secluded island, complete with endless drinks and water bottles and lunch served to us by the attentive boat staff.
3) Dinner at the Lemon Zest restaurant—I had excellent ahi tuna there.

Overall, I had an amazing time in Costa Rica and am now considering cancelling our trip to Hawaii next year just so we can return to this amazing home in such a lush and peaceful country. I've traveled to 23 countries and must say Costa Rica now tops my list.

Room Tip: Stay in the master suite!!!! It is an incredible deal and sitting on the balcony in the morning is h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestHillsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Hills Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you have left your heart at Forest Hills Suites. We will watch over it until you return! We’re so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the landscape and architecture of our unique, boutique Hotel. We are glad you noticed the water pressure! We spent a lot of time with our plumbers to be certain that our guests received the best bathroom amenities experienced in the best hotels of the world, so we’re pleased you noticed.

We want to thank you for passing along your praise for Erika. We think she’s pretty special too, and we are glad that you enjoyed her recommendations.

Go ahead and cancel your trip to Hawaii! Erika, the tropical birds, the huge bathtub with great shower pressure, the gorgeous sunsets and your heart are all waiting here for you! We’ll keep the lantern lit for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Forest Hills Suites. We were a group of 11 and the house was perfect for us. There was enough room for everyone to have their own space, and at the same time large areas for everyone to hang out in together. We especially loved the daily visits from a tucan, the bbq for grilling fresh fish, and the ease of getting to so many beautiful beaches!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestHillsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Hills Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
We are glad that your group enjoyed Forest Hills Suites and the BBQ and that you took the time to write a review to share it with us. Thank you for pointing out that Forest Hills Suites works well with groups but still allows space for you to have privacy when you need it. Bet the fish was great! Come back soon, the toucan misses you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathroy, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We booked this hotel the night before arriving to Costa Rica. It is the most beautiful hotel I have ever seen. They upgraded our room because we were getting married and we had the whole hotel to ourselves. If going to Jaco and looking to relax this is the nicest place to stay. It is peaceful and the host is amazing. She looked after us with no hidden agenda. Stay here!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestHillsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Hills Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
We are so glad that you picked our boutique Hotel to stay during your wedding! Thank you for your review and for saying it’s the most beautiful hotel you’ve ever seen! We love weddings and feel honored to have shared in your special time. We hope to see you for more rest and relaxation on your first anniversary. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I had a wonderful stay a few years ago with friends and look forward to my next visit--in two weeks! :) The house is situated just outside of very touristy areas--for quick access to Jaco and Herradura--so the surroundings of the property allow for maximum privacy and relaxation. Perfect for large groups as there are several bedrooms that are each furnished beautifully, and a large common area for people to congregate and watch TV or just relax. The pool area is also a nice place to hang out and chill during the day but also well-lit at night for late night dipping or relaxing. I had a lovely time in Costa Rica and look forward to more pura vida at FHS.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestHillsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Hills Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you! On behalf of Forest Hills Suites, we would like to thank you for your review. It was truly our pleasure to serve you and look forward to your return trip. We are glad that you enjoyed the location and quick access to the touristy areas. Please come back and see us soon for some more pura vida. We’ll keep the lantern and the pool lit for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

It's a lovely latin america style former private country house with 6 bedrooms and large living area. Place where you would like to escape with your friends, stay there and just relax surrounded by most enjoyable forest landscapes.
Also, greeting to Erika! She is wonderful and very helpful host. She also upgraded us to bigger room which was really great. It was a pity just to stay for one night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForestHillsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Forest Hills Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased you enjoyed our hotel design and landscape. Erika is a great concierge and we are glad you found her to be helpful. Come on back and stay for a while this time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

This place is awesome! Erika is the best and not only answered any and all questions, but went out of her way to guide us to the best sights of Costa Rica. The house is beautiful and very relaxing. The rooms are very comfortable and the housekeeping staff is excellent. I plan on returning to Costa Rica and I will definitely stay at Forest Hills again.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Hills Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hills Suites

Address: Herradura, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forest Hills Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME to Forest Hills Suites. Want to stay in a luxury suite in a real mansion when you're visiting the Jaco area of Costa Rica? Want to pay no more than you would for a normal room at an upscale hotel? Then welcome to Forest Hills Suites! You'll be very pleased that you discovered this hidden jewel. It's tucked away in a private seven acre landscaped garden. We are surrounded by lush, green mountains nestled in the middle of a forest. We are just a stone's throw from the Herradura Shopping Center and Los Suenos Marina Resort. You'll feel amazed at this little jewel when you enter our front gate. Once inside our gate, you'll drive toward your very own boutique suite hotel on its palm-lined and serpentine driveway. Right at that moment, as you get your first live glimpse of Forest Hills Suites, you'll know you made the correct decision. Forest Hills Suites invites you to step into paradise and relax in luxury. Enjoy the hospitality of your own private concierge hosted adventures while hiding out in this opulent estate. You will find this five-suite, one-of-a kind boutique hotel equipped with all the first class amenities that will make your visit one that will create delightful memories. Each suite is equipped with a large-screen TV and Wi-Fi access, so that guests can always be in touch with the world they left behind. After a day of adventure or doing nothing at all, perhaps you'd like to unwind with a soothing massage by the pool? Your private concierge is there to arrange your dream trip, and all you need to do is ask. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Forest Hills Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Hills Suites Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Hills Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.