We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Coffee & Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coffee Shop

The Coffee Shop
Pastor Diaz Avenue, next to Mango Surf Shop, downtown Jaco Beach, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
+506 2643 3240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 106 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Home made breakfast and lunch.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Coffee & Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were tired of having breakfast at our resort so we decided to go into Jaco and try something in town. I had remembered seeing the name of 'The Coffee Shop' on some of the research I did before we sent to Costa Rica and we decided to go in for breakfast. The service was great and so was the atmosphere. We were seating hear the door so we could people watch, one of our favorite things to do. The coffee, as expected was great as was the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    24
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were in Costa Rica for 10 days and we had the best breakfast here. The breakfast is just standard breakfast stuff - eggs, bread, pancakes that kind of stuff. But it was well done and the service was friendly and coffee was great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Early bird restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

One of the first in the morning to open right on the main strip. Features their $7 "Gallo Pinto" breakfast set with eggs, ham, toast, rice/beans and coffee. Great free wifi. Excellent service run by a Canadian ex-pat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited back in July 2013. The coffee was excellent and the cinnamon roll was delectable! I'd also like to mention while enjoying our coffee and cinnamon roll the music playing was outstanding. Stopping for sure next time I'm in Jaco!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great start to the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had breakfast every morning here during our visit and always left happy and ready to return. Enjoyed the fresh baked bread and fresh cut fruit. Mostly enjoyed getting to know about the area and some of the locals who had decided to make it their home - from Canada or Seattle or wherever.
Hope to return someday

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee Shop also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.