We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish Tacos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba's & Bohio Beach Bar - CLOSED

Bubba's & Bohio Beach Bar
Calle Bohio, Jaco, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Costa Rican, Central American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Kitchener, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The lovely people at Vista Pacifico recommended this place specifically for the fish tacos and we were not disappointed! Went back a second night they were that good!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    46
    6
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Looking for a "local" bar to grab a beer and a fish taco? Bubba's is perfect. Right on the beach so you can have a drink and watch the sunset then order up an order of fish tacos. Had fish tacos at 3 different places in Jaco during our trip and Bubba's were the best...and the cheapest! Not a fancy place, just your typical beach bar but a great place to experience the local flavor. On the beach at the end of Bohio st.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herradura, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Awesome Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ate here tonight for our last dinner in Jaco before heading home tomorrow. This place is hard to find, but it's right on the beach, down one of the little side streets from the main drag in Jaco.

Anyway, we were seated right away. Ordered a tortilla app, and then we each had fish tacos for dinner. It is Wednesday, and they had a two for one on fish tacos tonight. I had a daiquiri and my husband had margaritas Only negative of the night was I wanted a banana daiquiri (which was on the menu) and they were out of bananas.

Anyway, the service was awesome, food was very tasty. The tacos are huge, one is more than enough or an average eater. My husband only ate one and a quarter of his tacos and I only ate the fillings from mine, not the tortillas, as I was stuffed.

Really nice location, right on the beach. amazing views.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“descent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

very good fish tacos and guacamole, for lunch one of the best views of the beach in Jaco. I would suggest to get the tacos grilled and not fried, very fresh fish here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“excellent fish tacos and mojitos!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a great restaurant situated on the beach and has the best fish tacos in Jaco. The mojitos are also fantastic. The view of the surf and sand and the people watucing is a real treat and the wait staff are very accommodating Highly recommended!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba's & Bohio Beach Bar also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba's & Bohio Beach Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.