We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba's & Bohio Beach Bar - CLOSED

Bubba's & Bohio Beach Bar
Calle Bohio, Jaco, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Costa Rican, Central American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Herradura, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Awesome Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Ate here tonight for our last dinner in Jaco before heading home tomorrow. This place is hard to find, but it's right on the beach, down one of the little side streets from the main drag in Jaco.

Anyway, we were seated right away. Ordered a tortilla app, and then we each had fish tacos for dinner. It is Wednesday, and they had a two for one on fish tacos tonight. I had a daiquiri and my husband had margaritas Only negative of the night was I wanted a banana daiquiri (which was on the menu) and they were out of bananas.

Anyway, the service was awesome, food was very tasty. The tacos are huge, one is more than enough or an average eater. My husband only ate one and a quarter of his tacos and I only ate the fillings from mine, not the tortillas, as I was stuffed.

Really nice location, right on the beach. amazing views.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    46
    6
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“descent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

very good fish tacos and guacamole, for lunch one of the best views of the beach in Jaco. I would suggest to get the tacos grilled and not fried, very fresh fish here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“excellent fish tacos and mojitos!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a great restaurant situated on the beach and has the best fish tacos in Jaco. The mojitos are also fantastic. The view of the surf and sand and the people watucing is a real treat and the wait staff are very accommodating Highly recommended!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Bubba's was the first place we ate in Jaco and it was our favourite by far! Their fish tacos are amazing and the sauce was like crack. The ingredients were so fresh and the atmosphere and staff were great. We made sure to go back for our last meal there as well. Definitely worth going at least once!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Bubba's is right at the edge of the beach at Jaco. It's clean, relaxed and friendly. Plus, they have the best fish tacos ever. Try it. It is truly a family place not just a bar.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba's & Bohio Beach Bar also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba's & Bohio Beach Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.