We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just waterfalls.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Waterfall Tours

Costa Rica Waterfall Tours
Edificio Crystal | Main street Jaco, Jaco 506, Costa Rica
+506 2643 1834
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 66 Activities in Jaco
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Awarded "Certificate of Excellence" in the 2013 Tripadvisor Awards. Costa Rica Waterfall Tours are the waterfall experts! We have several waterfall tours available to match just about all ability levels. If it's a nice rain forest trek to a 600' waterfall or cliff jumping into a beautiful natural pool in the jungle or Rappelling down the face of a 300' waterfall we will get you there. Venture into the rain forest with a naturalist guide to help you spot monkeys, scarlet macaws, toucans. frogs and learn about the plants, trees and history of Costa Rica. The Land Rover ride, the rain forest, the naturalist guide and the pristine waterfalls make this an amazing adventure you will never forget!Go to our website for more details and photos.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“More than just waterfalls.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Mike and Will were awesome guides, picked us up from our hotel right on time and took us out for an awesome day. Of all the activities that we did on our trip to Costa Rica, the waterfall tour was probably the most well rounded of them all. It wasn't just rappelling and zip lining, but also a great nature lesson. We were stopping every five minutes to learn about different types of trees, check out leaf cutter ants, observe toucans in the wild, and so much more. The rappelling was amazing. I had to stop about halfway down each waterfall and just soak up the beauty of the place. At the end of the hike, we took a couple of really long relaxing zip lines back down to where we started. Once there, Will cut up some pineapple and mangoes for us and made some fresh lemonade as well. Definitely recommend going on this excursion if you find yourself in Jaco for a day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    28
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Third time and it keeps getting better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have used Mike and Costa Rica Waterfall tours the last 3 times we visited Jaco. Definitely a must if your looking for an outdoor Costa Rica experience. This time we did the Explorer tour and it was awesome. We had 4 people (55, 54, 27 and 17) in our group, one person had knee problems. Mike picked us promptly on time and the fun began. He is so knowledgeable about Costa Rica and really a fun guy. Safety is always first with Mike. Once on the tour a couple of us took it easy due to knee problems while the others enjoyed the time of their lives hiking up waterfalls and jumping into pools of clear water. Something for everyone. Cant wait for the next time to try the Extreme Adventure.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Cloud, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best tour guides ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We experienced the Rapelling and Zipline tour yesterday in Jaco. Our tour guides were prompt on picking us up on time and were a true delight. Mike, Will and Vincent (who is Mike's 14 year old son) were so knowledgeable about the country and were genuinely nice. We rappelled off of 4 waterfalls and then zip lined out of the jungle on 2 separate lines. Vincent took pictures along the way and was such a nice young man. He will definitely go far in life. Mike and Will were so patient with my 12 year old daughter who at first was nervous about rappelling but they walked her through it step by step and really boosted her self confidence along the way. Of all the countries we've visited and of all the tours that we have gone on, Mike, Will and
Vincent are on the top of that list! Good job!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Costa Rica Waterfall Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Wil is a fun, amazing, and very knowledgeable guide as he is literally born in these very same jungles of Costa Rica! He spotted toucans easily and even a very rare poisonous frog that was a delight to see. He can also cut a pineapple like never seen before. I recommend this tour as seeing and swimming in this fresh water falls and pools really cured my massive hangover!

good job

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Refreshing waterfalls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Wil picked us up at 7 a.m. for the Explorer Waterfall Tour. He picked up 4 more on the way to the jungle. We were offered bananas and stopped along the route to see toucans. We were fortunate to see both the smaller and larger toucans. We actually stopped at the top pool and walked down to start our climb back up the waterfalls. You need shoes that won't slip on the rocks and can get wet in the pools and climbing up the waterfalls. The water was cool and refreshing, some deep and others shallow. There were opportunities to jump in from above or from a platform. I wasn't brave enough to jump from the platform. Along the way we saw a termite nest and Wil offered us some to try. Apparently, they are delicious with a minty taste. No one, other than Wil, was adventurous enough to eat them. Once we arrived back at the top, Wil offered us some juicy sweet pineapple. the whole morning was wonderful and memorable. We were back by lunchtime.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Rica Waterfall Tours also viewed

 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Costa Rica Waterfall Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Waterfall Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.