We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not My Favorite five” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Graffiti Restro Cafe and Wine Bar

Graffiti Restro Cafe and Wine Bar
Pacific Center #23, Jaco, Costa Rica
+506 2643 1708
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 95 Restaurants in Jaco
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Eclectic, Californian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a 60 seat Funky, Comfortable Bistro style Restaurant with a Blackboard menu that changes daily with the local availability of the freshest products, Fruits, Vegetable, Seafood and Meats. We pride ourselves in the Slow Food movement and maintain by using local fresh, healthy and sustainable products from the region. We have no rules or boundaries when it comes to our food and our ambiance is just as eclectic. We are off the main track and a little difficult to find on purpose. Our concept is to appeal to Anyone with a fine palete for food and drink in a comfortable, climate controlled, safe and intimate setting.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not My Favorite five”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The restaurant is tiny and crowded on a side street just off main. Drinks were great and server was motivated and current with all dishes on Menu Board. Appetizers were average, Mushrooms were ordinary. Nice variety of Sliders. The Ribs were barely warm. The Coconut shrimp was missing some coconut. Chocolate Cake for dessert was decadent and delicious, the best part of the meal. Not a place to linger, chairs are hard and noise level increases significantly. Restroom is the public washroom back down on main street.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    64
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We recently moved to Playa Hermosa and this was our third trip to Graffiti and we've never been disappointed. I can't imagine why one reviewer said there was a limited menu............it has great variety from appetizers, to salads, to burgers to flatbreads and full entrees. The Cucumber and Basil Martini is yummy, and my husband loves the Riblets. I enjoyed a Mahi special with coconut flavored rice and al dente vegetables. Danny and Katie are always accommodating.......and surprised me with Key Lime Pie for my birthday dinner!

Don't miss this place!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graffitidan, Owner at Graffiti Restro Cafe and Wine Bar, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
More meaningful to us than anything that can be said on this site were the words you spoke to us that evening in person. Thank you very much! We are thrilled to have you both now as regulars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very limited menu. The location is terrible and hard to find and the view is a parking lot. The service was not bad.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graffitidan, Owner at Graffiti Restro Cafe and Wine Bar, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We apologize that you are unable to appreciate our concept here at Graffiti. Our location was specifically chosen because it is located off the hustle and bustle of the main street. It is also one of the only restaurant locations in town that offers parking for our customers. The abstruseness of our restaurant is all part of the allure my friend. We hear often from people- "Love this place- but difficult to find" Was it frustrating that at first it wasn't so easy because everyone had told you to visit?? Were you even a little excited/relieved once you discovered the little spot everyone told you had to try? If we wanted it to be easy to find we would have plastered signs everywhere from San Jose to Jaco but that is not our concept here at Graffiti. We are about killer food, exceptional service, a funky artistic vibe and a relaxed intimate setting.

As for our "limited menu" We offer Gourmet food made with the freshest products that we get THAT DAY from local resources. We offer a regular menu with options ranging from various Bocas and Tapas to more casual items like fish tacos and sliders. Then of course lets not forget the Ghetto Gourmet Entrees like our Infamous Coffee and Cocao Crusted Beef Tenderloin (more recently often imitated never re-created) and our variety of ever changing daily blackboard specials including our Fresh Catch of the day. In the future when we decide to add a Tiki Bar (will never happen) and an Ocean Front View (possibly one day!) we will let you know so you can return and be another one of our happy satisfied customers. We love you TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Everybody was right about the beef tenderloin. Cooked to perfection, which I understand is very hard to find in Costa Rica. Danny and his team have it right. Service was the best. I'll be back

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Graffiti was one of our Favourite restaurants in Costa Rica, Live Music, Helpfull & Knowledgable Staff, Great Wine and incredible Food! This Place is a MUST on your travels! Thanks again to the staff for an unforgettable night!
ps try the the Tuna tower or Bruschetta for entree and The Beef or Pork Ribs for a main!!! Thats what we had and LOVED it! im sure all meals are unbelievable though!!
Egan

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graffiti Restro Cafe and Wine Bar also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Graffiti Restro Cafe and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graffiti Restro Cafe and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.