We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beds on Bohio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Beds on Bohio to your Saves list
Beds on Bohio
Calle Bohio, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Bocas del Toro Province, Panama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overall a good place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I was here for Jungle Jam in January and stayed in one of the private rooms. It was a huge room with a kitchenette and its own bathroom which was awesome. Everything seemed a bit pricey but thats probably because I was coming from Honduras. The staff was helpful most of the time but could have been a bit better at times. Rooms were decently clean but the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The vibe is cool and the location is good, real close to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
9
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Beds on Bohio is not the most luxury, most comfortable, cleanest place where yo've ever been but it's definitely the best deal for your stay in Jaco ! The atmosphere is perfect ; relaxing with hammocks outside, small but useful, more than friendly and helpful staff. Beds on Bohio is made for the guests to be together, maty. Another option is private room, with less fun...

Room Tip: Air conditioning dorm is a good choice during warm seasons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I left Beds on Bohio with a heavy heart, wishing I could have stayed longer. Sure, the mattresses were paper thin, someone stole my dress from my room, and the bathroom was disgusting. But the location was great (I could spit on the beach from the hostel) and the local personalities were friendly and entertaining. I honestly didn't spend any time in the hostel itself, because there was so much to do around town. It was totally worth the price just to a have a surface to crash on after hanging out on the beach or in one of the many restaurants. I really enjoyed getting to know everyone here, Papas and Burgers made great comfort food after an exhausting day of sea kayaking, and the free drinks at the bar next door certainly didn't hurt.

Traveled with a friend, February 2014.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Unless you like 2 inch mattresses, no air conditioning, tiny cramped bathrooms, barely any lighting, no towels for showering, and just overall dirty rooms. I am so glad we only stayed one night. It was a transitional night for us as we were on our way to a friends home in Punta Leona. The reception area was nice and the folks that checked us in were friendly and nice and called us a taxi the next morning. I was really disappointed in this place considering we had been backpacking it and hosteling it for 7 days prior all over CR and had cheaper and WAY better hostels than this one. The only perk was that ladies received a wristband to drink for free next door at Swell (a bar). This was something new as the bar had only been open for a few weeks. Other than that, I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Everything about beds on Bohio is great except the rooms and bathroom. The people who worked were really nice, they have a great little restaurant, you can rent boards from them for 10 bucks, and they have a nice hangout area. Although they cram the dorm rooms. We stayed in a tiny room with 6 people in it, and it was very hot. The bathroom was really gross and I didn't even use the shower because it looked bad. It is really close to the beach and it was a good place to stay for a couple nights even thought it was tight.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed one night in a six bed dorm, and without a doubt the night was the worst one during my eight months trip. The hostel was full, and when we arrived in the evening the bathroom was very dirty. The guys who stayed in our room kept coming in and out for more booze throughout the night, and played some hide and seek switching on and off the lights after midnight without caring other people were already sleeping. The dorm room was very small, and the fan was on the floor and did not help the top beds where we slept. I´d say the only positive things about the hostel were its location and the restaurant at the front, which offered very good meals. We regretted not having booked a private room, which could have been a better option.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Just stayed here for the night. The dorms were alright, kind of dark and cramped but it worked for one night. Three or four dorm rooms shared one bathroom that was only stocked with four small rolls of toilet paper once a day. At nighttime there was no toilet paper, so bring some to be prepared. The kitchen was okay. Kind of dirty but it was being used by a lot of people so that's to be expected. There weren't a lot of seating areas. There was one area with hammocks that was used by the same people the entire time we were there. There are a couple of other tables but not located near any outlets, so trying to find somewhere to work on the computer was a bit harder.

Definitely a party hostel to go to. If you're into the scene, you'll probably like this place. Otherwise I suggest ear plugs!

Good location, just steps from the beach and close to many local restaurants, shops and coffee places.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beds on Bohio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beds on Bohio

Address: Calle Bohio, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beds on Bohio is certainly one of the best hostels in Jaco with a perfect location in the center of Jaco and only 50 meters from the beach! It's a happening scene that also includes a restaurant with the best burgers in Costa Rica: Papas & Burgers. There are four dorm-style rooms, a beautiful garden and it's just a cool place to chill out and meet cool people from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Beds on Bohio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beds On Bohio Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beds on Bohio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.