We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, amazing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beds on Bohio

Save Saved
You added Beds on Bohio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beds on Bohio
Calle Bohio, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 48 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
1 review
“Great staff, amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

3rd time in costa rica and backpacking with my friend from england. We stayed in jaco for a few nights at Beds on Bohio during October and we loved it! It had great location, was only 50 metres from the beach and was 2 seconds from the main street where all the bars are! The owners were so helpful in giving us information about the place and where to surf and they took us surfing! the rooms were really clean, had A/C and was a great price. Look forward to returning to jaco and more importantly Beds on Bohio!!

Room Tip: go for air conditioning, only 1 dollar extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
8
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

What a perfect place to stay! We wandered into town, hot and sticky with heavy backpacks to be greeted by Claudio asking if we needed a room. We were accommodated to with such ease and really felt at home here, so much we decided to stay 3 nights instead of the 1 we had booked. A friendly dog named Roxy hangs out at the hostel, and is happy to tag along with guests as they stroll around town. The location of Beds on Bohio cant be beat and the company of the long-term guests cant be rivaled. The rooms were comfortable and clean with a spacious shared kitchen complete with anything you need. The price is just right, and the burgers at the cafe out front are the best in Jaco.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Upon first entering Beds On Bohio, I felt uncomfortable. I'm not a surfer and this is definitely a surfer/beach hostel. I didn't think I would relate to anyone, but I was wrong -- people of all types stay here! I opted for the room with A/C and it can get pretty cold. They only have flat sheets, so if your roommates prefer to have a freezing room, then I suggest bringing your own blanket (like I did) or moving to one of the other rooms with fans. Kitchen and communal areas are friendly and clean. LOVE THE HAMMOCKS! The only downfall is the bathroom situation...since it's a beach town, the bathroom gets pretty abused towards end of day. I suggest showering in the outside shower and using the bathroom up front by the restaurant. Also, this hostel has the best dog -- Roxy! She is so sweet and apparently everyone in Jaco knows her. Chris, the owner/manager, is very cool. He'll help you with just about anything and is very approachable. Lockers are not in the rooms, but outside in the kitchen area. Just bring a sturdy lock. Even though Chris tells guests to always lock their rooms, not everyone listens, so best to lock up anything valuable ... or there is a safe up front if you are really worried. WIFI is great, but only works up front and not back in the rooms/common areas.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernigerode, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the hostel and I really loved it. The personnel is awesome. There are 4 different dorm rooms for 3,4,6 or 8 people. The hostel in general is very clean and you get a great value for your money. Besides that it is very close to the beach and in the middle of Jaco, so that you need 2min to the next bar and 5 to the bigger supermarket. The only thing is that we had some trouble to find it first. Therefore if you arrive with the bus go to the heart of the city. Follow the street and cross the little bridge. From there turn right into the 2nd street and than after 50m, the house before the one with the VW bus. I really recommend the hostel and enjoy your time there!

Room Tip: ask for the dorm for 3 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

i stayed at this hostel for several days - nonconsecutive - and met a great group of people while there. the owner is a truly nice guy who is very helpful and knowledgeable about transportation and recreational activities in the area.

the rooms were inexpensive, the beds were clean, and the staff were great - what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

Rooms and bathroom were super clean, great friendly service by owner- Claudio. Will definately go back as I felt like family at beds on bohio!!! Great burgers and best fish and chips ever!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I spent a week there and i know hostels sometiems get bad rap but let me tell you this place is special. Theres no way to explain how cool the owners are and how cool the setuip is and its extremely inexpensive and safe. I went for room and made friends for life with owner and several of the people who stayed there. When I go back i will stay there again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beds on Bohio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beds on Bohio

Address: Calle Bohio, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beds on Bohio is certainly one of the best hostels in Jaco with a perfect location in the center of Jaco and only 50 meters from the beach! It's a happening scene that also includes a restaurant with the best burgers in Costa Rica: Papas & Burgers. There are four dorm-style rooms, a beautiful garden and it's just a cool place to chill out and meet cool people from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Beds on Bohio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beds On Bohio Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beds on Bohio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.