We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Cooking and Freshest ingredients.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poseidon Restaurant

Poseidon Restaurant
Calle Bohio, 30Mtrs Oeste, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
+506 2643 1642
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 121 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open 7am-10pm Daily. Breakfast until 2pm. Lunch until 5pm. Dinner 5pm-10pm. Our open air restaurant provides a casual dining atmosphere. Breakfast/Lunch are a combination of Mexican and American Classics. Dinner brings in the Asian Cusine, including our Famously Gigantic Ahi-Tuna Steak. Our Mahi-Mahi is the freshest you can get. Don't forget about Smoked items like Babyback Ribs, Salmon, Mahi Pork Tenderloin and more.
Jaco Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home Cooking and Freshest ingredients.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

On Calle Bohio . Consistently superior food. Possibly best breakfast in Jaco. This place offers value and an amazing menu.
Look for it!! Great food and upstairs there is a sports bar.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rediscover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best burgers and top quality steak in the country!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I was challenged by the owner, Tim, to stop over and try Posiedon's cheeseburger. He claimed it was the best you could get in Jaco Beach. He was almost correct. It WAS the best cheeseburger I have eaten in Costa Rica! I was served with a thick whole slice of carmelized white onion, lettuce an tomato on a fresh bakery bun. The meal came with fresh cut French fries and American Heinz ketchup. You have to emphasize American ketchup, because of the considerable difference in taste between the two countries. Heinz is just better. Tim also invited me to return sometime to try a Tbone steak, cooked to order. Once again it was deliciously fantastic. I ordered medium-rare, I got medium-rare with a baked potato and salad. I have tried other steaks in Jaco and Herradura, but Posiedon has the best. Great staff and the ladies who cook in an open kitchen are very proud of their skill, and I like that. The hospitality of the entire staff is second to none and I recommend each and every meal at Posiedon to be one to remember. Breakfast is also awesome, real local fruit smoothies! Love the guanabana.

Helpful?
Thank ThomasKH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not great - weird hotel lobby feel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Food was avergae, the hotel lobby is right there. The lobster tasted like propane and the tuna dip with chips was tunafish with nacho chips.Better places in Jaco to eat dinner.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Farfromhome4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food but hasn't that good atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Maybe it was because we didn't eat here during the rush hours but non the less I expect a good service. The waiters are absolutely not rude but I felt as though they didn't really care that we were there. Also I can't give a higher point since I don't quite like the breeziness that comes with a hotel restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California
2 reviews
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I've been to the Poseidon numerous of times, never have I had a ad experience. The food is phenomenal from the owners to the staff. Great place to enjoy food and drinks while watching your favorite sport.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poseidon Restaurant also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Poseidon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing