We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful as ever! and always!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pura Vida Gardens and Waterfalls

Pura Vida Gardens and Waterfalls
1000 Bijagual Road, Jaco 00423, Costa Rica
506-2645-1001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Attractions in Jaco
Type: Gardens, Waterfalls, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pura Vida Gardens and Waterfalls is unique in Costa Rica. It is truly a "Visual Masterpiece". The gardens begin with the natural beauty of Costa Rica and four waterfalls in the property with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. To this millions of plants, flowers and orchids from all over the world have been added. Manicured walkways meander long a river and at the crest of the mountain which make the entire 50 acre gardens accessible to all. Have lunch in our restaurant and browse the gift shop that offers authentic Costa Rica gifts.
singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“beautiful as ever! and always!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

every time i come there it turns out there is a torrential rainstorm, but i always roust the owners (dave and/or cindy) out of their house and we converse and catch up on the latest and greatest...there is a restaurant there also to eat your rainy day blues away!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    55
    8
    5
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CLEARWATER
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice botanical gardens, but not the best waterfalls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Although we visited CR in the rainy season, the only waterfall we could see was from the very top of the mountain at the restaurant area, and it was a mile away. There were small falls along what I would call a creek flowing down the mountain, but it was still very beautiful. Some areas looked very planted, others more lush. We thought it was $10 each (saw that online), and after a very long and bumpy ride up gravel roads, were asked to pay $20 each, which wasn't a great start to our visit. Many areas are very steep; couldn't take a wheelchair here. When wet, probably even worse. It's okay, but for the time investment, choose another activity.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I escorted a small group to Pura Vida Gardens in April 2014. We had a great time ! We enjoyed a delicious lunch, and a very nice walk along the paths. The gardens and views are beautiful, and the bird watching was terrific....be sure to bring binoculars if you can. Gift items are available....a small painting by a local artist hangs in my kitchen. The staff and owners are very kind and helpful; our afternoon there was quiet and relaxing, and everyone said they'd love to go back some day. Me too ! By the way, keep an eye out for monkeys in the trees along the road up to Pura Vida. :)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful - but bring bug spray!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

gorgeous flora & fauna ! a bit of a trek but a "feel great" attitude once you've left there. The waterfalls are mesmerizing and the different types greenery and plants are out of this world..... just a word of caution, wear proper shoes, and be careful of snakes and lizards. First-aid kit also wouldn't be a bad idea... if you decide to be adventurous !

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My girlfriend and I visited in June of 2014 while on vacation in Manuel Antonio. It's about an hour and a half ride from Quepos. Beautiful views and tons and tons of interesting plants. Really great for a garden geek like myself.

There is a bit of walking involved up and down hills, and the only disappointment was the lack of waterfalls. They advertise 3 or 4, but the only one we saw was from way way up on the overlook, from that distance it was spectacular but we're talking a mile or so away probably. There was another very tall waterfall on the property but it was man made I believe, and, strangely turned off, since we were visiting in the green season and there weren't many visitors (we were the only ones there that day, a Tuesday.)

Still very beautiful and worth the price.

Also, the dirt road up is 5km from the main road, straight up into the mountains! Some of the degrees of incline were practically 80 degrees at points. Better to have 4 wheel drive because it can get hairy at times. The road is well maintained and wide enough but I kept thinking that a sudden downpour would have stranded us at the top if we hadn't brought a 4x4.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pura Vida Gardens and Waterfalls also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Pura Vida Gardens and Waterfalls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pura Vida Gardens and Waterfalls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.