We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Fish Tacos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tacobar Jaco Beach

Tacobar Jaco Beach
In front of El Lagar | 20 meters east of Pops, Jaco, Costa Rica
506 2643 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 94 Restaurants in Jaco
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Grand Rapids, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Fish Tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The wife and I really enjoyed the Mahi tacos, and the homemade lemonade. Nice place, and the staff was very accommodating.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    197
    51
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Huge portions and tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Bottom line: Probably 1 or 2 tacos are enough as they are huge and come with an open salad bar. Delicious!

We stopped in Jaco on our way to Dominical from San Jose. We are used to Tacos that are hand sized so we ordered 3. Big mistake! They were huge! However really tasty so I can't complain. We also ordered large drinks which were also enormous.

I recommend the snapper with the coconut sauce. Yum!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast and American Style Coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I loved the delicious breakfasts they have here during our anniversary vacation, and almost as good as the food is that you can get American style coffees here, like Espressos and Americanos. I'm glued to the Starbucks at home, so I was a little bit desperate when I couldn't seem to find the kind of coffee I'm used to. Most places serve "iced coffee", which means that they actually blend the coffee with crushed ice in a blender like a watered-down Frappachino. This place was a total blessing, and the cool outdoor seating and delicious food made it one of our favorite restaurants to go to while we were there. Thank you!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Totally original!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I were staying in a hotel in Tarcoles. We decided to go to Tacobar which we have wanted to try for a long time. Everything about the place was original. The menu and combinations were fun. We chose the pargo (sea bass) tacos with the all-you-can-eat salad bar. Everything fresh and very good! We live near one Tacobar in Momentum in Tres Rios.We will be hanging out there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A different way to have a taco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Good freshly made tacos with some new options, their sauces are good, the ingredients were good, and their prices were fair. Service was a nice and attentive except at the cashier, who was very unfriendly and seemed kind of fed up of having to say the same thing over and over again. Despite that, we probably will visit again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacobar Jaco Beach also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tacobar Jaco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacobar Jaco Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.