We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more then just fish tacos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tacobar Jaco Beach

Tacobar Jaco Beach
Jaco, Puntarenas | 20 Mts Este de la Heladeria Pops, Frente a la Ferreteria El Lagar, Jaco, Costa Rica
+506 2643 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 106 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Cafe, Mediterranean, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Takeout
bainbridge island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“more then just fish tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Go across the street and grab a few beers at the market because they dont' sell it at the resturaunt. This place was great, you pick out what kind of taco you want and the add ons, salad bar included with most and go sit in a swing chair and enjoy! They had something for everyone, including picky teenage eaters.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    280
    60
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
807 reviews
544 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Stop in Jaco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were driving from San Jose to Manual Antonio and we realized that Jaco would be a great lunch stop for our car ride. Approaching Jaco we noticed a lot of signs for Taco Bar and a fish skeleton. You can't miss these signs - they are everywhere!
So we decided we would find Taco Bar and have lunch here.
The place is tiny. It's a walk up ordering window. They have an extensive menu of tacos. However we all picked fish tacos on this outing. They also sell smoothies, unfortunately the day we went the smoothie machine did not have power.
We got to wait at our spot at the counter which was fun as they were rope swings. You can eat and swing at the same time!
When the order comes you then can make a trip to the taco bar and add all the sides that you want. There are a number of hot sauces from mild to extra hot. The pickings at the taco bar were all fresh and well stocked and clean. They serve a lot of local product here.
Our meal was tasty, cheap and the vibe here was just fun. It was a great stop for lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cool Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I really like the fish tacos. I like the simple idea of being served fish on a tortilla then heading over to the taco bar and picking from a wide variety of ingredients to add to your taco. They also have a selection of salads to choose from. Great smoothies - Mango and banana is my favorite. They have a surprisingly wide selection of other items on the menu. The swings are a fun touch.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
95 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Really good food, try the tuna steak! If you order to a value of 6 dollars or more, you can help yourself to the salad buffet unlimited times. You can even ask for a box and take some home. It is a really nice setting off the main road in Jaco, so not too noisy. Open space with lot's of plants, nice chilled people. Breakfast offer for 3 dollars only!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun dining experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Where else can you sit in a swing while you eat your meal?!?! Fun place to eat in Jaco. Serves primarily fish tacos, fish burritos, fish enchiladas, etc. Has an all you can eat salad bar that you can use to spice up the rather ordinary fish tacos. Not my favorite place to eat in Jaco but a fun experience nonetheless.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacobar Jaco Beach also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tacobar Jaco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacobar Jaco Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.