We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more then just fish tacos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tacobar Jaco Beach

Tacobar Jaco Beach
In front of El Lagar | 20 meters east of Pops, Jaco, Costa Rica
506 2643 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 93 restaurants in Jaco
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
bainbridge island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“more then just fish tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Go across the street and grab a few beers at the market because they dont' sell it at the resturaunt. This place was great, you pick out what kind of taco you want and the add ons, salad bar included with most and go sit in a swing chair and enjoy! They had something for everyone, including picky teenage eaters.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    365
    186
    48
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
435 reviews 435 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Stop in Jaco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were driving from San Jose to Manual Antonio and we realized that Jaco would be a great lunch stop for our car ride. Approaching Jaco we noticed a lot of signs for Taco Bar and a fish skeleton. You can't miss these signs - they are everywhere!
So we decided we would find Taco Bar and have lunch here.
The place is tiny. It's a walk up ordering window. They have an extensive menu of tacos. However we all picked fish tacos on this outing. They also sell smoothies, unfortunately the day we went the smoothie machine did not have power.
We got to wait at our spot at the counter which was fun as they were rope swings. You can eat and swing at the same time!
When the order comes you then can make a trip to the taco bar and add all the sides that you want. There are a number of hot sauces from mild to extra hot. The pickings at the taco bar were all fresh and well stocked and clean. They serve a lot of local product here.
Our meal was tasty, cheap and the vibe here was just fun. It was a great stop for lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cool Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I really like the fish tacos. I like the simple idea of being served fish on a tortilla then heading over to the taco bar and picking from a wide variety of ingredients to add to your taco. They also have a selection of salads to choose from. Great smoothies - Mango and banana is my favorite. They have a surprisingly wide selection of other items on the menu. The swings are a fun touch.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Really good food, try the tuna steak! If you order to a value of 6 dollars or more, you can help yourself to the salad buffet unlimited times. You can even ask for a box and take some home. It is a really nice setting off the main road in Jaco, so not too noisy. Open space with lot's of plants, nice chilled people. Breakfast offer for 3 dollars only!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fun dining experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Where else can you sit in a swing while you eat your meal?!?! Fun place to eat in Jaco. Serves primarily fish tacos, fish burritos, fish enchiladas, etc. Has an all you can eat salad bar that you can use to spice up the rather ordinary fish tacos. Not my favorite place to eat in Jaco but a fun experience nonetheless.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacobar Jaco Beach also viewed

 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tacobar Jaco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacobar Jaco Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.