We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Condo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daystar at The Palms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Daystar at The Palms to your Saves list
Daystar at The Palms
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   El Frente Pochote Grande, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans at The Palms)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Condo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed in Condo 603 at Daystar the Palms for 3 nights in April 2014. The condo is VERY nice – clean, spacious, nicely decorated, and has a huge balcony with a beautiful view of the beach. The condo has a washer/dryer and a dishwasher, and the kitchen is stocked with all the necessary dishes, utensils, Tupperware, etc. I also like that the condominium is gated with a security guard. There were a couple different guards on duty during our stay and both of them were very friendly and helpful. Overall I enjoyed our stay and experience in Jaco; however, if you’re looking to spend some time at the beach you might want to find a place where the water is calmer and not so dirty. I highly recommend Condo 603 to anyone traveling to Jaco, Costa Rica!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo de Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed two nights in the middle of the week and it was great because we had both pools just for ourselves, the apartment is in front of the beach, there was very few people at the beach and the building was just for us. The apartment is very clean and nice, the building has two elevators. It has a beautiful pool in front of Croc's new building so our stay was fantastic! The only bad thing is that they just have 5 parking places, for us it was no problem but I don't know on weekends or holydays... and if you have a car you can go anywhere but walking is a little far from downtown.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed in room 701 at the Palms for 4 weeks. The view from the terrace was exquisite. However, the outdoor chairs were uncomfortable which limited the amount of time we could sit out and enjoy the view. The swimming pool was very nice.

The apartments are individually owned, so some must be nicer than others.

Our apartment was in need of new furniture. The bar stools were a faux leather that was peeling so much, little pieces stuck to our skin. We complained about this and they gave us extra towels to place on the stools. We pointed out that the chair in the living room was dirty so they washed the cushion covers. The sofa was uncomfortable but we could deal with that. The bathrooms were nice (even though the shower did not drain completely due to poor construction), and the kitchen was nice. The bed was not comfortable but we got used to it. The living room decor was bland and the furniture too small for the size of the room so that room felt very sterile and void. A few changes to this apartment would bring it up to a 3.5 - 4.0/5 rating.

I have to compliment Ingrid, from Daystar. She went out of her way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Eric was our favorite security guard. He went out of his way as well.

Note: There is construction next door from 6 am to 8 pm (or later!) until mid December 2014.

One personal regret: I wish I brought our old laptop to give away (to Eric). I inquired about mailing it to him but the postal service in CR has about a 20% success rate of getting to its destination. We North Americans forget our discards may be valued by others....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The property is modern, clean and nicely decorated. The pool was small but access to next door pool was a bonus since it was much bigger/ nicer. Closeness to beach was excellent. The surrounding neighborhood very sketchy so not an area to walk safely at night. Security on duty helps. Parking VERY limited which was a problem. The biggest downside was the construction noise which was present from 6am to midnight. Once the 17 story casino next door is built, it will change the atmosphere at the palms.

Room Tip: rooms facing ocean help block out construction noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENELLE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just spent 2 weeks at the Palms in jaco beach and had a great time. The Daystar people are awesome and the condos were fabulous. We were on the 7th floor and had a wonderful view that we are really missing right now. The room was well equipped to cook and so spacious. We had a few minor things wrong but the daystar people were always on it right away. Short of facecloths, door locked us out twice, and our washing machine had the hot and cold lines mixed up which were all minor and the daystar fixed it all asap. We were initially upset about the construction but decided not to let it ruin our holiday. All in all we had a great time and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this property for two weeks in early February. The condo as described my others is first class with a spectacular view of Jaco bay from the terrace. Of minor annoyance was the sliding glass door between the living quarters and terrace that is difficult to open and close, and the condo could use a decent set of nonstick frying pans. There is heavy construction of an 18 story Casino/Hotel/Apartment in back of the condo but it is not an annoyance once inside the condo. The construction is actually good entertainment watching from the pool on the north end of the Oceans at The Palms tower.
Jaco beach was disappointing to us because that the ocean is not swimmable. A six foot high wave develops close to shore in waist deep water. The sand on the beach is not typical beach sand, the sand is very fine of the consistency like that of mud. Also,it is a long way between the condo and the water in unsheltered sand. Most people use the beach for walking in the early morning or late afternoon when the sun is not so strong. The beach is nearly deserted during most of the day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband & I recently spent a month at The Palms in Penthouse 1001. We enjoyed every minute of it! Each beautiful sunset was better than the next! We would especially like to thank Lupe at Daystar for organizing all our airport shuttles & day trips, Eric, the security guard, who greeted us with a smile every day, and Ingrid, the property manager, who took care of some minor problems & made sure the grounds & pools were all very well-kept. We had various friends and family coming & going throughout the month and everything happened without a hitch. There is some construction going on behind the Palms, but after awhile, we didn't even notice the noise & actually enjoyed watching their progress. We are very happy with our experience & hope to return again someday!

Room Tip: Choose a room above the 5th floor for best views of the ocean and the sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daystar at The Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar at The Palms

Address: El Frente Pochote Grande, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans at The Palms)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daystar at The Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms is a 34 unit tower that sits at the north end of Jaco Beach Costa Rica. Facing vast panoramas of the Central Pacific, this beachfront condominium project with spacious 2-bedroom, 3-bedroom units will make you feel like you are at home.The Palms modern architecture its sweeping ocean views promises the perfect setting for your vacation home. Enjoy the views from your terrace or while lounging in the beachfront pool. The Palms offers privacy in a luxurious environment so you may enjoy your Costa Rican vacation however you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Daystar at The Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar At The Palms Hotel Jaco
Daystar At The Palms Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daystar at The Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.